Reviews For Wake
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 May 2015 14:06 Title: Chapter 1

An intriguing look into the MU, a glance through the mirror in the aftermath of the first encounter between the Primeverse and this one. Very well handled, the characterisation was top notch, with some very clever twists on the relationships we know from the Prime universe added along the way.

I really enjoyed the way you portrayed this seminal Star Trek relationship through the mirror. The McCoy/Spock/Kirk triumvirate still exists but very much darkly twisted. You managed to take the difficult friendship that McCoy and Spock enjoy in the Primeverse and turn it into something else, a much colder relationship, based on fear and loathing and calculation. A testament to what the mirror universe does to its people. You did the same with McCoy and Kirk - gone is the warmth and camaraderie. I thought one of the sentences was very telling in this regard, when McCoy says that Kirk was a good companion to have on a pleasure planet. The rest of the time, he was just a dangerous madman, one that McCoy was relieved to see put out of his misery. If it hadn't been for Spock getting his position.

This is a very different Spock to the one we meet in the "canon" continuation of the mirrorverse, through the novels. In those, Spock takes what Kirk reveals to him and uses it for a kind of good, in whatever twisted way people in the Mirrorverse have of doing good. Here, we get the feeling that Spock is much more of a danger, a man willing to go to any lengths to get what he wants. McCoy finds himself forced to make a choice and I thought it was very true to his character that he decides not to go along with it. For now, anyway.

An excellent character study, a good continuation of the TOS mirror episode. All in all, a super little story. Well done!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jun 2014 10:28 Title: Chapter 1

I feel deeply for this alternate McCoy. 

You did a terrific job with this piece of writing.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2013 16:39 Title: Chapter 1

Now that is an interest tale of Mirror Spock and Mirror McCoy relationship in the aftermath of the crossover and Spock assassination of Mirror Kirk. I did like how McCoy and Kirk had a MU version of Friendship and how once Kirk got command that his paranoid turned him into a monster. The sarcastic slain lion note that got the nurse sent to the booth. The way that Spock is interest in giving McCoy a future because of what he discovered in the prime Trek verse McCoy mind. It was also interest to see that Mirror McCoy views of the android like shadow of prime verse Spock.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jul 2012 11:59 Title: Chapter 1

I just watched this episode this morning! I love this mirror view of things. I love how McCoy is still himself, but not, and we can see in Spock all that real Kirk could see in him, but with that ruthless edge. I loved the epitaph "the slain lion" for Kirk...it doesn't matter where Kirk is, he is that lion, whether he acts on that savage inner beast or not. And you leave us with a sense that Spock is planning to act on the vision that real Kirk left him with, though it's only hinted at, and that McCoy's nature is perfectly suited to be his ally in that. So beautifully done, deep and vivid. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Oct 2011 12:37 Title: Chapter 1

Never considered McCoy in the MU. Very interesting take. So he's actually got the potential to be...compassionate.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2011 02:46 Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Simply wow Anna. Wonderful imagery as to be expected from McCoy to you - from slain lion to the pop pop pop of the goose pimples Spock brings out in McCoy. All of it works to make a chilling, surreal moment between the big three [where even a dead Kirk makes an intrusion on the conversation and flow of thoughts]. The dynamics between Spock and McCoy in this universe are subverted or perverted but nevertheless compelling to see unfold and try to decipher the true intentions underneath it all. Bravo again.



Author's Response: I think you make it sound a bit more than it is, and I can't take credit for most of it anyway. Steff created a powerful playground, and I'm just borrowing her toys. It was fun, and I'm just glad I didn't misplace them. ;) Thank you for reading. :)

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2011 11:15 Title: Chapter 1

Umm..wow..I could never hope to write anything like this Anna. Great!!

Author's Response: You flatter me, surely. :D

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2011 16:15 Title: Chapter 1

*low whistle*

Damn, Anna.  Thoroughly engrossing, chilling, engaging and about a dozen other adjectives ... all good ones.  Excellent work.



Author's Response: Thank you! :)

You must login (register) to review.