Reviews For Breakable
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2015 16:24 Title: Breakable - part two

Being in a better frame of mind today, I took another stab at your story and finished it. Spock lied to spare Christine's feelings, and seemed to do it so easily. That surprised me. I would think he might stress over that decision.

Now the mental link between him and the captain has been acknowledged...and will possibly even be discussed. I wonder if the conversation will ever really happen. It doesn't sound like something that our favorite captain and halfling would want to explore. They both know that it exists. Isn't that enough?



Author's Response:

Glad you finished it.  I think Spock exhibited no stress over the decision because he felt Christine had suffered enough - what she did, the Platonians made her do.  She was innocent, and he didn't want to punish her further for what he already knew was a traumatic experience for her.

As for the link, this is an AU.  However, I do explore it in my other non-AU stories.  It starts in His Last Breath, with McCoy questioning it in The Ties That Bind and Into the Lion's Den.  Kirk and Spock do finally very reluctantly discuss this link between them in Learning Curve, and it plays a key role in Six Degrees of Separation and Shadows and Dust.  The order in which to read the stories is posted on my profile page in the archive.  I guess I should put them into a series, but I've tried to write them all so that they stand alone, so as not to be intimidating to readers who otherwise may not want to tackle one that falls in the middle somewhere, not to mention I have ideas for other stories that will fall somewhere between HLB and SaD.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2015 16:43 Title: Breakable - part one

I was a bit apprehensive as I decided to give this a read, because I always found that particular episode wrenching. Your alternate version makes it even more so. I couldn't get beyond Spock and Christine. Well done as always, but I wimped out right then and there.  



Author's Response:

I respect that, really I do, but I urge you to continue.  I really don't expound on that scene, and Christine plays an integral role later on in helping Spock return to himself.  There is also a scene between Spock and Christine at the end where they discuss what happened.  And our logical, unemotional Vulcan goes out of his way to reassure her, and protect her from the truth.  I hope that scene would grant some redemption in your eyes, both for me and the episode.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2012 01:29 Title: Breakable - part one

I think McCoy's reasoning is dead-on in this. Spock would take himself out of the equation as much as he could--not only so that he couldn't be forced to kill Jim, but so that he couldn't experience pain, which could be used against Jim. And beautiful job with the Spock/Christine moment...loved the extra details the episode didn't provide!

Author's Response:

Especially post Amok Time, Spock would be terrified of what physical harm he could cause to Jim if his superior strength was once again given free rein.  Not a whole lot different from the episode, but just my convoluted ramblings on how things might have played out under slightly different circumstances.

Spock/Chapel moments are always difficult to capture - there's so much awkwardness and tension on both their parts.  Glad it came off correctly.  :D

Reviewer: Since1966 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2011 23:36 Title: Breakable - part two

This is the third story of yours I have read, they are wonderful. I really appreciate how well you understand the Kirk/Spock friendship.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Since1966.  Is your penname a nod to TOS, or a comment on your age? ;-)  I'm an old-timer, too. ;-)  But seriously, thanks for the feedback - this unorthodox frienship has fascinated me since I was a child; glad to know others think I'm getting it right.

LBD

Reviewer: KayCee Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2011 15:49 Title: Breakable - part two

Your writing style consistently pleases my reading palate. I enjoyed this very much, due as much to the narrative as the dialog.

KayCee

Reviewer: KayCee Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2011 15:25 Title: Breakable - part one

LBD - You certainly have these three men down to a science. I can see and hear them, as if in an expanded episode.

The divergence, although subtle and generally does not affect the outcome of the original episode, gives a greater dimension to the aftermath.

I like this!

KayCee

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Dec 2010 19:37 Title: Breakable - part two

I think only Bones and Spock think that others believed they don't like each other. No one else buys their bickering as the real thing ;)

Here we have a perfect example that the Vulcans can lie...when there is a logical reason to do so.



Author's Response:

*grins* Yeah, they aren't fooling anyone, are they? ;-)

Yes, I think our resident Vulcan saw the necessity of telling a little white one in this case. :D

Thanks for the feedback, Gul!

LBD

Reviewer: Enterprise1981 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Dec 2010 14:33 Title: Breakable - part two

I had a little trouble making sense of it, not really understanding how it was different from the actual episode. He did have a bit of a breakdown after doing the Irish jig around Kirk's head. Come to think of it, the Shatner-verse novels covered this "telepathic bond" between Kirk and Spock (similar to the one between Riker and Troi, not that there's anything with that), first when Spock refused to believe Kirk's death Generations was permanent and then again at the end of The Return." Kirk did the same for Spock in the "prime universe" even willing to throw away his career for Spock in The Search for Spock, as well as "Amok Time."
Very nice read. And nice to see M'Benga having not seen very much in the series. Of course, a 24th century descendant of his was depicted in the Shatner-verse.

Author's Response:

Hi again E1981.  It wasn't all that different, except that during the breakdown Spock had in the episode he was still lucid, talking to Jim and Bones about how what the Platonians did to him affected him, an active participant in the Platonians' final bit of 'entertainment.'  In my story, he chose to completely withdrawal into himself in an effort to protect his shipmates from his superior strength, resulting in a catalepsy so deep, Kirk needs to find a way to bring him out of it.  If I was unable to accurately convey that, it represents my failing as an author, not yours as a reader.  Sorry. :(

Thanks for the kind words, though - they're greatly appreciated. :D  M'Benga was an underutilized character in TOS IMHO, so this gave me a chance to let him shine.

Never read any of the Shatner-verse novels, but glad to know I'm not the only one who sensed this bond between them. ;-) Maybe I'll have to check them out...

LBD

Reviewer: Enterprise1981 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Dec 2010 14:10 Title: Breakable - part one

While I enjoy the premise of the story exploring the friendship between Kirk and Spock through an alternate outcome, I guess I'm a little confused on one issue. Is this the result of Spock doing the Irish jig around Kirk's head as McCoy put it?

Author's Response:

Hi E1981.  Sorry if it wasn't clear.  Kirk does say to McCoy in sickbay that there has been a mental connection between him and Spock for several months now, so this represented a way to get them to explore and discuss that connection.

Most of my work which deals with issues later in the 5-yr mission operates under the premise that there is a link of some sorts between these two.  I even think canon bears this out somewhat - otherwise why would Spock have been so adamant that Jim was still alive during 'The Tholian Web?'  And to watch the two of them interact in 'The Empath,' you can almost feel their silent communication sometimes IMHO.

Maybe it sprang up as a result of their meld in 'Paradise Syndrome'...

Roddenberry actually addressed this very issue in his novelization of TMP, citing Spock hearing Jim ask for his help in his mind as one of the reasons he failed/was not permitted to complete Kolinahr.  It's obvious that V'Ger had a hand in lending some power to that mental link, but it still must have been one helluva connection for Spock to 'hear' Jim all the way from Earth. ;-)

Anyway, this friendship between the three is what fascinates me about Trek, so this was just another chance for me to examine that from a different angle. :D

Now off to read your story, and Mike's, before I vote. ;-)

LBD

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Dec 2010 05:29 Title: Breakable - part one

The situation is serious and dangerous, but I am fascinated by this link between Kirk and Spock. What a wonderful idea to add depth to their relationship!



Author's Response:

Thanks Gul Rejal - glad you enjoyed it and happy it worked.

You must login (register) to review.