Reviews For The New Threat
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jul 2014 14:10 Title: Chapter Eleven: The Doctor and the Redshirts

I did enjoy re-visiting this story, as I do love this tenth Doctor and Star Trek tie-up and you do a great job of bring some of the Who-verse characters and re-imagine them as Trek-verse Characters. I do hope you finish it some time and then let your doctor and Coralie explore the Federation history.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jul 2014 01:25 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

Great set up for the first chapter. You've got suspense in place and you've got me hooked. You definitely left us on a cliffhanger. I can't wait to see where you go with the rest of the story and see how it all ends.

 

Thanks for sharing this. I'm really liking where this is going so far. 

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2013 14:28 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

As a fan of both series, I think you've managed to capture and mix the soul of both shows well.

Bold choice to cast Magambo as the C/O but it seems to work. I do wonder if the Admiral will turn out to be either Rose or Sarah-Jane thou.

Each chapter has been an enjoyable read.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2012 10:34 Title: Chapter Eleven: The Doctor and the Redshirts

Oooh.

Love Toshiko Sato (canon name for Sato's daughter, as referenced in In a Mirror Darkly, II)!

But eek, I fearr for her life!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Dec 2010 04:05 Title: Chapter Seven: The Fork in the Road

Magambo was very even-handed with Coralie, given the circumstances.  I did not see her resignation coming, though.  I've got a feeling the young lady is considering becoming one of the Doctor's companions.

I fear the modifications to Bellerophon may not be sufficient to overwhelm the Daleks, but perhaps in conjunction with the Doctor's wily tactics, they'll be able to win the day.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Dec 2010 03:17 Title: Chapter Six: It's Bigger on the Inside

From the emotional high of rescuing the colonists to the agony of watching their fellow Starfleet personnel slaughtered by the Daleks... that was an intense chapter!

Good on Coralie for thinking outside the box (or in this case inside the box) to rescue the colonists.  She's apt to catch hell from her captain later for not alerting the chain-of-command and seeking permission prior to doing it, but those 800+ lives were saved just the same.

Again, your characterization of the 10th Doctor is spot on and enormously enjoyable!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Dec 2010 05:30 Title: Chapter Four: Consternation and the Doctor

Ah, is that how that works again? ;-)  Yes, I was aware of the naval tradition regarding ship commanders, regardless of actual rank... I just didn't remember Magambo's character being introduced originally as a commander.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Dec 2010 05:28 Title: Chapter Five: Open Fire

The Daleks are already proving more than a match for two starships, which doesn’t bode well for future encounters unless the Doctor can come up with additional tactical advantages for Starfleet.


Magambo’s steel is necessary here, given the dire nature of the specific threat to the colony and the larger danger to the whole quadrant should the Daleks gain a foothold in this dimension.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Dec 2010 15:53 Title: Chapter Four: Consternation and the Doctor

Lots to like in this chapter!

Magambo’s computer query hints at the fact that The Doctor may stick around in this reality for a while, since the present scenario appears to be his first encounter with this reality, one could surmise that the previously recorded encounters with him will occur later in his personal timeline.

The Doctor’s conversation with Coralie was revealing, both in what he chose to share with her, as well as what he elected to withhold. 

It appears Toshiko’s proclivity to get herself into trouble with classified information is a common trait in all her incarnations.

And it looks like Bellerophon won’t have sufficient time to implement the future-defense-tech prior to their first encounter with the Daleks.  Come as you are would seem to be the order of the day… have phasers, will travel. ;-)

<FYI - One typo I spotted.  When Magambo is introducing herself to the colony’s chief administrator, she introduces herself as ‘Commander.’  I was under the impression she was a full captain.>

 



Author's Response:

Last things first.  She's ranked as a Commander, but she's called 'Captain' because she is the ship's commanding officer.  That's naval tradition.  A lieutenant in command of a PT boat is skill called 'Captain.'

The Doctor has a few tricks up his sleeves. :)

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

 

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Sep 2010 10:28 Title: Chapter Three: Apologies and Ramifications

The good Doctor is seriously impressed with these Starfleet folks. It may come as a surprise to him but at least in one future dimension human beings have actually turned out to be not so bad after all. Who would have guessed 400 years earlier?

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Sep 2010 01:45 Title: Chapter Three: Apologies and Ramifications

The Doctor seems quite smitten with Starfleet, and I'm positively intrigued by his admission that he might want to stick around awhile in the Trek-verse. 

As for the Daleks... yeesh, they've got a ship.  This is going to be far more difficult than a handful of Dalek's on their own.

Terrific work!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Sep 2010 05:22 Title: Chapter Two: Intruder Alert

This is clearly a crossover and I have to (ashamedly) admit that I'm not particularly familiar with the characters making surprise appearances here.

I do get the general idea of the Doctor however from what you've told us so far and clearly he is not only already known to Starfleet brass, he is also in a position to help. And from the little we've heard about these inter-dimensional aliens so far, Bellerophon's crew can use all the help they can get.

My lack of familiarity notwithstanding, I like this quite a bit so far and looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

Captain Magambo was originally a UNIT captain based in the UK.  She showed up in two episodes of the new Doctor Who series, in series four, and in the special, 'Planet of the Dead.'

Martha Jones was one of the Doctor's companions, in series three.

Ursula Blake and Ethan Pope guested in one episode in series two.

Gwen Cooper is actually from the Doctor Who spinoff, Torchwood.  She is the second-in-command of Torchwood Three.

And some characters mentioned by the Doctor: Donna Noble was the Doctor's companion from series four.  Jack Harkness was his part-time companion in series one, three, and four, as well as the leader of Torchwood Three in the spinoff.

For more information on the show, head to http://tardis.wikia.com

And thanks for the words of praise. :)  I hope to have some more written this week or next.  I won't post more until I have at least three chapters in the can.

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2010 09:46 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

To Gul Rejal:  This is what happens when you make The Doctor angry.

You wouldn't like him when he's angry.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SC0NuBaliLs

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2010 05:23 Title: Chapter Two: Intruder Alert

A mystery is followed by another mystery, which is followed by a mystery. And I'm as clueless as the crew, as I know little to nothing about "The Doctor".



Author's Response:

It might be a little hard to get into, and I'll try to expose more about the Doctor as I can for non-Whovian readers.  For the most part, this is a flight of fanboy more than anything else as I recently caught up on the five series of the new Doctor Who series on the BBC.  And I'm avidly awaiting series six.

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2010 22:45 Title: Chapter Two: Intruder Alert

Whoa... the Doctor's got juice even with Starfleet!  :-)  Good to know his reputation preceeds him even in this universe.  That should make things... interesting for Captain Magambo and her crew.

I loved the Doctor's being reasonably impressed with the Federation's Temporal Prime Directive, especially coupled with his evident surprise at humans having moved so far outside their own system by the late 24th century in this reality.

Great stuff!  A Doctor Who/Star Trek crossover is not an easy thing to do, and I've seen other attempts end in chaotic franchise-fraying disaster.  I do not foresee any such difficulty in the future for your engaging tale.



Author's Response:

And you'll find out by the end of the story as to why Starfleet is aware of the Doctor and the TARDIS and further, why that knowledge is kept under wraps.

Yeah, I had that scene already written as my entry point.  When I write, I sometimes get locked onto a scene in my head and that's the first thing that gets put down on paper.  That scene about the temporal Prime Directive was that first scene. :)

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2010 22:08 Title: Chapter Two: Intruder Alert

This is so well done and super-entertaining.  It's an awesome mental break for me.  And this is coming from someone who usually hates crossovers and only has a casual familiarity with Doctor Who!  

It's got just the right balance of fun and humor and actual believability.  Starfleet is acting like Starfleet, the Doctor is acting like the Doctor ... and their reactions to each other are priceless.  Really enjoying this.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the very high praise, kes.  I'm hoping that maybe with my take on the Doctor, people will give the new series a try and find how delightful it is. :)

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2010 07:20 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

Ok, so it scared me, and I'm not even in that engineering there listening to it, let alone being on that recording.

Nice to see Taurik. With that attention to details he had to climb high in career ladder :)



Author's Response:

Since Taurik was an ensign in the final season of TNG, which is roughly 2370-2371, I figure by 2387, he's a lieutenant commander, now.  Seventeen year career in engineering. :)

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2010 06:55 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

Oh, this should be good.  :) Popcorn, anyone?

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Sep 2010 00:01 Title: Chapter One: Visual Range

Oh, that can't be good.  The Big D's have made their entry into the Trek universe, a dimension populated by some eerily familiar names! ;-)

I have only one thing to say...

  "Allons-y!"  or, perhaps, "Jelly-baby?"



Author's Response:

Well, you know one of those two phrases will end up in the story, somehow :)

Thanks for reading!

-- MDg

You must login (register) to review.