You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2013 20:57 Title: Chapter 3

Oh, Astrid. A plotting, scheming, little spy. She's already got Colin under her spell and goodness knows what that might mean for the future. Is she here to sabotage the negotiations? It seems that way. It seems she plays a part in the bad things that happen in the future.

And poor Dax. Haebron is abad, bad, bad, man and seems to have finally gotten enough control to operate freely. What is he planning to do? Some sort of purge? A removal of the symbiot? Eagerly anticipating more.

Other observations: Really liked the way you described Spy Astrid and the way she operates. She seems to know what she's doing and her senses are fine tuned. The way the scene in her quarters went was conveyed quite well, the action and emotion blending in seemlessly.



Author's Response: Astrid's plan is slightly more complex than sabotaging the negotiations, and the people who are backing her may not be what you expect. And nicely spotted, ie. her role in the future events referenced in the first chapter. Haebron at this point does not really have a definitive plan. He is just reacting, not really thinking. However there is a lot more to him than might appear at first. Thanks for the comment on Astrid, glad it worked for you!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2013 20:24 Title: Chapter 2

So, Mr. Colin Groves arrives and is certainly taken immediately by Prin. One can't blame him. But Colin seems to judge himself way harsh based on just a few exchanges. I worry that this tendency is going to make him jump to some conclusions that aren't true, but it certainly presents an interesting avenue the story can follow.

The pacing was nice and quick this chapter, and I appreciated the way Colin would chime in with his observations of things. Must say, he seems to look at attractive women and decide that he likes them a bit fast ... might come back to bite him later.

 



Author's Response: Groves has some issues, that is certain. And those issues will come to the fore as the story progresses. As to his attraction to beautiful women... What can I say? It is his Achilles heel. :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2013 20:13 Title: Chapter 1

Whiz bang start … what happened to make the Laurentii attack?

 The dream sequence was properly confusing and disturbing. Everyone was messed up in some serious way. Kalara seems to be super freaked out by it and I can’t blame her. As usual, she really comes across as someone I’d genuinely like to hang with. She has her problems and she has her vulnerabilities, but is a very real character to me.

I particularly enjoyed the way you interspersed her thoughts with her actions, giving a nice rounded view of what was going on with her. The way she briefly recoiled to Damian’s touch and then found herself feeling comforted by him was pitch perfect.

And Kane … or Ianto. It was nice to him/them functioning and nicer still to see Voyager referenced. What exactly are they planning that has to do with VOY? I’m not sure. But I’m definitely going to read on to find out.



Author's Response: As I mentioned in my comment to your prologue review, this dream sequence and opening probably would have worked better if used at the beginning of Volume 4. Even though I will probably leave the Prologue where it was, I think that his opening will be moved or at least repeated when I start Volume 4. I'm glad you like Kalara, she is one of my favourites, although I put her through the wringer in this story, as you will see.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2013 19:29 Title: Prologue

Sarine is obviously weighed down by what happened to Earth. Seeing Jem’Hadar go for the scorched Earth policy does not surprise me though to see the number of worlds that fell is shocking. Sarine is possibly living in a form of denial … but I can’t blame him if he is.

The atmosphere aboard the Sisko sounds not super luxurious. The old ship seems to be represent the successor to the Federation … worn, battle weary, and hastily put together. I enjoyed the description of the ship and the way everyone seems to roll with casual Friday all day all long.

The dynamics  between Prin and Sarine are strong. Obviously both care for one another and neither is afraid of telling the other the harsh truth. Sarine and Robau seem to have different ways of doing things and though it looks to be an issue, it seems that the two are okay with one another.

Sarine seems to have been picked out as the savior for the Laurentii. Hmmm … what can that mean?



Author's Response: This is a dark chapter in this alternate timeline, for sure. I thought it important to open with this little flashback, though the way things have worked out both it and the opening to the next chapter will probably have more impact on volume 4. I may rejig things, or find another way of going through the same info. Anyway... I'm glad that the atmosphere aboard the Sisko worked as it should, showing how far this fledgling Federation has to go to be back to its former glory. As to the Prin/Sarine relationship, it is pivotal both to this volume and to the next one. As to what Sarine's being chosen by the Laurentii means... You'll just have to wait for Volume 4 to find out! :)

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 May 2013 22:07 Title: Chapter 23

So are we going to get to find out what kind of carnage crazy old Dax can create while on the loose and armed?  ;-)



Author's Response: Unfortunately, not in this volume. However, we will get to see more of Dax in Volume 4! :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2011 06:52 Title: Chapter 17

Well that's cleared things up enough. As in, we know someone really wants to kill them now. Wowzers.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2011 06:48 Title: Chapter 16

Well things are getting worse by the moment here. This building terrifically to a climax. You do a super job of setting all the pieces in place and then knocking them down. Per chance you like to do so with dominoes? But seriously, nice plot crafting, staging everything and timing it all to such dramatic beats.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2011 06:41 Title: Chapter 15

Yipes! That's a neat cliffhanger you did there. Nice to see the interaction with Turner, funny seeing Ba'el being like a rookie school boy around her. Adds a little humanity to him.


Troubling developments here with Kalara locked away and Ba'el 'kidnapped' all the while the negotiations continue and legitimate concerns are raised about Benjamini's willingness to give more away in order to secure the treaty. There's lots in the balance.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Feb 2011 06:35 Title: Chapter 14

This is kicking off the duplicitous acts - maybe it will kick off or kick up whatever the motivations are behind these different chess moves. All I do know, is that this is heading into trouble. And it very well may be the huge mistake Prin thinks it to be.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2011 14:40 Title: Chapter 13

Oh dear all round. The meeting between jasto and Haebron went better than one would have thought. But it was terrifying seeing the sand used to suffocate them! Yikes. That's an image and feeling that is going to stick with me.


And now Prin has explosive evidence and things are going to go south very quickly and badly from here on in I fear [or hope :evil laugh:]



Author's Response: Trust me, this initial meeting may have gone quite well but things are going to go south very fast from now on! As for the sand suffocation... Yeah. Haebron is a bad ass! :) Prin's evidence is going to set off a whole slew of events, in ways neither she nor anyone else expects.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2011 14:34 Title: Chapter 12

Wow! I'm terrified for Q'sar for lots of reasons. Intense.



Author's Response: Thanks! :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2011 14:20 Title: Chapter 11

Oh crap - from the start of the headaches it was clear there was something up - the mystery of Ba'el's missing hours grows more and it could prove discomforting to learn the truth and the concern given the strange technology of the Hegemony is that he could be being interferred with now or from the past. And given the fractured state of the Hegemony he is clearly a possible pawn in whatever games are afoot. Damned interesting.



Author's Response: The mystery of Ba'el's missing hours is key to what is going on here, so I felt it was about time to pay off all of the mysterious clues given so far. The real pay off is a ways off at the moment, though, since we won't see it until the - future - volume 4.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2011 13:58 Title: Chapter 10

Yuck! Politics is supposed to be an ugly business and spitting would be bad enough - but emitting a foul stench to make a point is pretty ... well ugh! Though it is very in keeping with being alien and different. Kudos for continuing to keep it so unique and engaging. Likewise, populating it with characters like Qwert who plays his own games in how he appears and what he actually is at.



Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted to keep the Laurentii very different in their outlook and way of doings things, even down to their reaction to politics. There is a lot going on here, lots of undercurrents that are not yet entirely clear. Glad you like Qwert, he is one of my favourite characters!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Nov 2010 12:39 Title: Chapter 10

A wonderful start indeed! Boys, boys oh boys. You do do politics and alien organic technology so very well. As if there aren't enough complications, cross purposes and hidden agendas among the Redemption we have the Hegemony split as well. Terrificly intricate.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2010 16:14 Title: Chapter 9

Magnificant handling of the situation. The Laurenti remain to be very alien in nature. From their behemoth whale ships, to the 360 degree strip for an eye, to their handling of ambassadors. Keeping things fresh and alien three books in with these people - one imagines and hopes for far more eyepopping moments with them.


Likewise, the technology on the bridge and in the science lab all conveys a real sense of future and modern and wow wee. Again, this is all written and conveyed very well. Helps with the setting of this story, likewise the polypolitic crew of the ship itself, a Romulan ensign here, a Ferengi oversight there, all good.


Then the various developments between and with character situations. We see that Turner's R&R time with Sarine has helped him bounce back and no doubt the Laurenti rebuff of Benjamini has also greatly improved his mood. Ho ho! That was good to see. How silly of her to think that Sarine was to be a mere figurehead in this mission. If he was asked for, and was an actual bargaining chip for this mission to happen then of course he was going to hold more sway. Benjamini does not seem to know how to best handle situations. She should have tried more to win Sarine on her side instead of the way she played the game from the very beginning. Likewise, I don't think it is wise to cross Kalara much either.


A very tense situation developing between both women. Kalara realises she has been used and this can not do her personal honour any good, add the insult of having the ship taken away from her, the Ambassador would do well to tread carefully around Kalara. Though Kalara might have cause to worry about crossing the Ambassador given the tricks and depths Benjamini will go to.


Of course, given that Zoroya has unearthed a certain transmission, Kalara's time looks to be limited before certain schemes begin to fall into place and all manner of trouble descends. Can't wait for it. Terrific again.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 17:43 Title: Chapter 8

Some helpful advice from Turner. Sarine is lucky enough to have Turner and Prin there to help him. I guess not following this on TrekBBS I'm missing out on any shipper wars but there's a lot of chemistry between Bael and Prin, and Bael and Turner. It could all work out in different ways. Yes Benjamini hopes to control and keep Sarine off balance so playing her at her own game will be fun to see.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 17:33 Title: Chapter 7

Uh oh. Poor Dax - vengeance will be mete out. Interesting turns from Astrid. How will her subverting the Klingon's plans affect how things go now? Who knows? This is Restoration - no plans are safe! Glorious mind mucking.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 16:38 Title: Chapter 6

One problem at a time ... huh not aboard the Redemption! Not aboard the Redemption! Problems don't come in ones around here. A terrifc chapter showing Sarine out of sorts, Prin seeing just how much but also mad at herself for not noticing what was up with Dax. And whilst she can see how professional Astrid has gotten she isn't likely to equate that with Astrid's secret personality. Likewise the look of menace at the end. A heck of a lot on her plate - nevermind departing, traversing subspace using the quantum slipstream before the mission in earnest begins. Well done.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 16:31 Title: Chapter 5

Flip me pink!

Ok - so this was going to be my opening line of the review: “Ted. You can call me Captain.” I just loved the comedic timing of it all. However, the rest of the chapter just blew that out of the water! One great big revelation after the other. Truly wow. From Bael learning that he is missing two days. Very key in all likelihood to whyever the Lauranti wanted Sarine to be the man in charge of the Restoration mission. It remains mysterious and damned intriguing.

Then we see the fate of Bajor revealled in a personal confrontation of his 'sins'. The destructive energy that wrought devastation to Bajor and DS9 was at Sarine's hand alone - he can't deny that nor does he. Benjamini wants to hurt and scar and maybe unsettle Sarine by having Rhodes as part of the escort. It's a way to undermine him and maybe she even hopes to have an automatic bit of support in the C.O. of the Rhodes. It is also a way of undermining Sarine in front of the other captains by reminding them of his past. Damned cold and calculating. You gotta love to hate her!

Then Haebron taking control of Dax is revealed to the captain. He is rightly outraged. Though there is a dark parallel to his own missing two days and whatever may have happened in that time that Sarine does not want to face up to either. Fascinating to have a peek at the Trill Symbiont fate during the war too as well the fate of Bajor. So much to take onboard in this chapter. Just awesome.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 16:14 Title: Chapter 4

I've already raved about how good a character Kalara is. But you don't duck out and leave her at that. Here we see how she is shaped and defies her family, her mother, her father, the teachings of the cleric, her wayward brothers who have each sought out their honour in their own ways. It all adds to a fuller picture that warrants greater appreciation. In addition to this, we see a glimpse of Klingon society as a whole. The Schism has torn asunder not just society and the culture of the Klingons but Klingon families too. Kalara has then to contend with as her method of attaining honour is deemed unhonourable by her mother and her heirs polluted blood. Smack in the face or what? Continually enthralling and terrific story telling.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Oct 2010 16:01 Title: Chapter 3

A bad, bad case of multiple personalities ALL round! Astrid's spy background is yet ANOTHER thread I must remember to keep in mind. Boys it is hard keeping all of this in the head. How you do it, write it and plan/make it up as you go along is mind-boggling! LOL!


But boys oh boys, Haebron taking such full control of Dax is truly frightening. This cannot end good. Is he about to admit all to the captain?

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Oct 2010 08:16 Title: Chapter 2

Oh ho. Colin is going to mix things up for all concerned. The Commander and the Captain - with an odd spike of possible jealousy from Bael. Throw in the stepping on Ambassador Benjamini's toes we have a character who is like to cause all sorts of combustive moments amid a setting that is already highly volatile.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Oct 2010 08:13 Title: Chapter 1

Can I just say that Kalara is such a fascinating well drawn character. It helps that we are seeing so many different sides to what could easily have been a two-dimesional angry female Klingon. Instead, we get a tapestry of a character as the various factors in life spin around her. The reveal of Ianto's return is shocking, horrifying and a little comforting to her. A whole range of emotional tumult all thrown in at the one time. Just as for Kalara there's a lot to take in as the reader. The opener to this chapter hints at the darker turn the future is going to take for the mission ahead, but what causes it to come about is another series of questions altogether. It is all very ominious and shows just how the intricate web of intriguing plots is all beautifully building towards a calamity [or more]. Just fantastic storytelling.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Oct 2010 06:29 Title: Chapter 18

Both Groves and Benjamani demonstrate some survival skills and instincts as their diplomatic mission quickly devolves into an armed confrontation both on the station and in the surrounding space.

Prin’s holding her own in the battle, at least for the moment. Kane may be busy, but 10 minutes?  Really? I’m thinking this battle will be long over in 10 minutes.

Turner’s as gutsy as they come, especially when leading her people into the combat meat-grinder outside Restoration, where her fighters are grossly outnumbered. I liked her brief thought regarding Sarine, a testament to how close she’s getting to him, despite just having met the man.

Meanwhile, Qwert’s having his own grand time on board the station, but finds some relief in the form of an unexpected ally, Lil’Kim. ;-)

Terrific stuff here, CaptainSarine. You’ve got a lot of balls in play, but you’re keeping them all airborne with a deft hand and a nicely flowing narrative.

Reviewer: Shale Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 30 Aug 2010 20:57 Title: Chapter 17

This story just keeps getting more and more intricate, and like the volumes before it, this one is beautifully action-packed. I'm thoroughly enjoying this series as you know!

And tell you what; it's an interesting feeling reading a story in the same way you'd watch an action movie at its climax. I despair that there's no 'next' button to push right now!

You must login (register) to review.