Reviews For The Watched Pot
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ProudNerd Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Mar 2009 14:51 Title: Chapter 1

Oh that was CUTE! Great story!

Author's Response: Thanks PN!! So glad you enjoyed it! And WELCOME TO AD ASTRA!

Reviewer: Verenna Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Feb 2009 14:55 Title: Chapter 1

Thanks to your explanations to Mistral,I was able to understand more of it. Itīs so little I know about TNG that any help is welcomed. Anyway, the story is enought to grasp the general idea, and thereīs no need to know about it, to understand it. Sweet, funny, and mind literal Data.Thereīs two possibilities, she cheated or she used ten seconds aprox to refill the kettle?
BTW, how old is the girl? I miss the " no little girl was harmed with boiling water in the making of this story".

Author's Response: Molly was 4 when they moved to DS9? I think (I'm not sure) - and since this takes place in a nebulous time between Insurrection and Nemesis - she could have been as old as ten I guess...

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Feb 2009 00:02 Title: Chapter 1

Okay..I just read that there was a 500 word limit. Fine..BUT WHERE IS THE NEXT FRICKING PART?? This was a great little story. THE OFFSPRING is my favorite TNG episode, by far. This, when compared with that, really makes you wish Data could have been a parent!!

Rob

Author's Response: I too enjoyed The Offspring and I think I actually cried when I first saw it...Data as a parent? Now you're making me wonder how Data might have reacted when thinking back upon Lol's existence after he received the emotion chip. :(

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Feb 2009 14:17 Title: Chapter 1

I think this worked so neatly. Succint but concise and had everything it needed. I loved how you referred back to Data's experiment. It was those rather 'silly or mundane' experiments or explorations of his to understand humans that made him such a great character.

In many ways giving Data an emotion chip always seemed like too much of a cheat in his discovery to become more humanlike ala Pinnocio. However, part of that is how we saw it treated by canon onscreen rather than explored more thoughtfully as we get a glimpse here.

Author's Response: Thanks Mirands - While Data may not have been one of my favorite characters, I really ruminated on just how shattering going from being completely emotionless to having them really must have been for him, especially dealing with nuances of emotion - like tedium, agitation, frustration ... patience.

Reviewer: Lady Drace Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 Feb 2009 03:29 Title: Chapter 1

I loved this on LJ (Or found the link there... don't remember now) and I love it here. :o)

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2009 14:09 Title: Chapter 1

paint me dense-I don't get it. Sorry.

Author's Response: You're not dense! In the TNG episode "Timescape" Data undertakes a study of the idiom "A watched pot never boils." When confronted by Riker as to his obviously strange undertakings Data replies : "I have been testing the aphorism 'A watched pot never boils.' I boiled the same amount of water in this kettle 62 times. In some cases I have ignored the kettle, in others I have watched it intently. In every instance the water reached its boiling point in precisely 51.7 seconds. It appears I am not capable of perceiving time any differently than my internal chronometer." Riker tells him to turn off his internal chronometer. I suggest that he did so, but still timed the water on an external one - It's the advent of Data's emotion chip to really understand how "time flies." Thanks for asking!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Feb 2009 13:09 Title: Chapter 1

Very nice to see Data learn about the subjective perception of time that emotional beings have!

I just hope there was some kind of safety on that pot, considering how young Molly is... ;-)



Author's Response: Of course... :) *giggle*

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Feb 2009 03:40 Title: Chapter 1

Lovely! Data must spend more time around kids, definitely! ;-)
Thanks for a wonderful oneshot!

Author's Response: Thanks Anna!

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2009 21:36 Title: Chapter 1

LMAO! All right, that was just a wonderful little tale. Short, but well put together; the ending actually made me laugh out loud. You have a lovely grasp of Data's struggles (and triumphs!) with the emotion chip, and that just made the ending all the sweeter. Top rate work, Terry!

Author's Response: Thanks so much SL! I had a 500 word limit on it which is why it's so succinct, but I think it came off just the way I intended!

You must login (register) to review.