Reviews For Kira's Prayer
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jul 2013 17:04 Title: Chapter 1

This was absolutely beautiful.  I must admit I've never seen the finale to DS9, but know enough about the characters to follow this piece.  And given what I know, this song was a perfect fit--it's one of my favorites.  The writing was beautiful and fluid and struck just the right chord of tugging at the heartstrings without being overly-dramatic.  I can see why it won - I would have voted for it. :D

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Jul 2013 17:02 Title: Chapter 1

Lovely piece, Kira did lose a lot with Odo going back to the link and it nice to see the character given a bit of time to reflect on that and also acknowledge Jake similar pain.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jul 2013 04:56 Title: Chapter 1

What a lovely interpretation of the DS9 finale. It brought a smile to my face.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2013 18:12 Title: Chapter 1

Awww, lovely and sweet, a measure of forever.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jul 2013 14:47 Title: Chapter 1

The way you handle this is so beautiful. And so heartbreaking. Nerys's strength in the face of what is such a painful loss is touching and wrenching, all at once, and it's particularly realistic to all those who have to grieve and keep breathing. The goodbye, the lingering memories, the nod to Jake Sisko, the loss of Captain Sisko. All of it.

And just as another note, the writing was lean, tight and perfect. It got everything across without ever diving into melodrama, and that is just excellent work. Very, very good.

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Sep 2011 03:11 Title: Chapter 1

I like how the scenes from the show we have seen interwoven with scenes we have no seen and which you have presented. Kira's heart ache is palpable and clear--she misses Odo very much and she sees his everywhere, even in constellations of stars. She prays that he succeeds and she believes that he would return to her some day, for it's the only way for her to go on and deal with her heart ache and half of her pagh missing.

And she realises she isn't the only one who feels like that. Jake also is alone. For a moment they share their ache.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2011 17:04 Title: Chapter 1

Aww, I love this emotional mush, it pulls on all the heart strings. One of the more interesting bits was Kira's conviction that Odo would one day return.

Personally I always felt that Odo was staying in the Great Link for a finite amount of time. Odo stayed to teach his people about the solids, but if his people's attitudes changed for the better, did that mean Odo's job was done?

In What You Leave Behind, it feels like Odo is leaving Kira forever, the last scene (between the two) lures you into thinking that this is the last time the two will ever see each other.

However reading the scripts and watching the episode carefully it seemed that Odo was only leading his people to change them into a more peaceful race. It seemed to me (after some analysis) like his role was more like that of an interim leader, and when he had made things right he could step down. But if he stepped down as leader, would he remain in the Great Link forever more? Somehow I don't think so, not when he loves Kira, it would be logical to deduce that he would come back to DS9.

So perhaps Kira was right in this story, Odo would one day return...

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jan 2010 14:25 Title: Chapter 1

Aw Cheile. That was beautiful. I know everyone tends to rant and rave about THE Sisko, and of course be fascinated by the Cardassians, but for me one of the simpliest joys and greatness of DS9 was Kira Nerys. A tough woman who had endured a lot but was better and stronger for it. And even though she was a strong character and a forceful one at that, she was still able to grow and develop over the years. In many ways, the story of DS9 is the story of Kira Nerys.


So for you to tackle her softer, indeed more 'feminine' side and still render a fierce and determined resilient Kira is just bravo to you. A beautiful picture is painted of Kira's love for Odo, and his in turn for her. I love the idea that he completes her Pagh. Seems so obvious when you say it but still striking when I forst read it. There's a sadness to all of this too of course, which makes it all the more haunting and beautiful. Like a love story should be when you think about it.


Terrific stuff. Stellar. Well done.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Dec 2009 23:45 Title: Chapter 1

This was lovely, and that's one of my favorite songs. The thematic pairing was a stroke of genius. Very well done!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2009 09:33 Title: Chapter 1

Very touching indeed.  You definitely nailed the sense of sadness and loss that you get after watching that episode.

I was particularly touched by seeing Kira praying...for me it's always very moving to see someone who, even in the worst situations, still does keep their faith instead of just giving up.  That, to me, says a lot about Kira and her strength as a character.

The other interesting thing here was that you spread out those final flashback scenes instead of making them happen one right after the other, the way the episode could've made you think they occurred.  I thought it worked very well.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 09 Sep 2009 01:45 Title: Chapter 1

Sweet story. Very romantic.

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2009 10:53 Title: Chapter 1

I'm so glad it ended with the hopeful upswing Che. This is a beautiful little take on Nerys and I'm ever so glad you wrote it. I also like the interspersed verses set amongst the movement of time. Wonderfully done!

Author's Response: thanks, Ter! i can only thank Cristal for suggesting the song on a mix. going back and listening to it with the finale scenes running through my head cinched the whole thing right there. and i couldn't end it on a downing note--because i am firm in my belief that Odo will do whatever it takes to return to her. :)

You must login (register) to review.