You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: MJMcHardy Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 Dec 2010 12:05 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

Wow! My Reviews all seem to start with that, when I am reading something of yours. This one Made my heartache, For those of us that have seen duty, have been witness failure or loss in service, the need for vengeance burns deeper in the soul of a soldier or warrior as does grief. This was an interested look through the looking glass, full of What If's. I did not enjoy reading this, It hurt too much. I will say it was an excellent piece of work and I wont soon forget it. My Thanks for the work Terry I loved it.

Author's Response: I have to admit, I enjoy playing with my characters in alternate universes. It makes me wonder how I can keep true to the essence of their selves and still how one simple twist of fate, in this case - Beth's expulsion for her insubordination at the Academy - affected her - and the lives of those around her. I might play more with stuff like this, if I ever get the time.

Reviewer: mdgarcia Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 22:17 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

I found that without compromising the core values of Beth Riker from the 'primary' Hertiage thread, you managed to spin this character into a different direction that made her seem just as real, if not more.  The very short distance between her center and the reaction made me feel like she could move mountains with her rage on a level more powerful than before.  I really gravitated toward this story and I can only hope that you'd consider to pick up this thread again and show us a little more of this alternate universe when you have some time to.

I think this is our winner, hands down.

Very well done!

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 09:34 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

This was a nice read. Short but detailed and very moving. Beth has proven once again how determined a woman she is when she sets her mind on something.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 09:26 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

A terrible and horrific twisted path for Beth here. And it goes to show the difference she must have made being a part of Starfleet that her not being a part meant this rather twisted scenario played out. Is this Beth twisted too? Certainly unhinged but driven and determined to see justice and retribution for the deaths of her family.


She was a veritable one woman army and she struck a massive blow to the enemy. But somehow it seems likely that she could indeed pull it off. I think the ending is fitting but a pitytoo as it means there won't be a follow up to this universe. Alas.


Must say, I'm glad you went dark for the challenge. Very effective and a strong entry.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 05:15 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

Short but uncompromisingly powerful.  Beth as she might have been, but for a few twists of fate, a left turn rather than a right one. 

In her own way though, still the same old Beth.  Driven.  Ferocious.  Hell hath no fury, indeed.

Fantastic work.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 01:21 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

Not sure if I liked the end but it was a hell of a tale.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2009 17:49 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

Excellent piece!  I am only vaguely familiar with a few of the characters, but this was engaging, Beth's pain and insanity well-communicated.  I loved the atmosphere you portrayed in the bar - it had a very real and gritty feel to it.  Well done!



Author's Response: Thank you LBD!!! Thank you for reading and especially, commenting!

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2009 14:55 Title: A Vigilante Most Noble

Poor Beth. Somehow, it doesn't shock me that even having cracked up, she's still entirely competent and heroic, despite the horrible costs. Beautiful work, Terilynn!

Author's Response: Thanks Steff...that means a lot coming from you. I thought long and hard about that - whether Beth would still have her "core" so to speak. But I have to admit, this tale was driven by the challenge itself - since I wrote her in her "real universe" as being SO in-tune with Starfleet in the Heritage series, I actually had a very hard time trying to see her in a non-Starfleet role. I have a fluffier piece that I'll end up posting outside the challenge; but I realized that Beth - especially in the worst of circumstances - would have at least tried to live up to her family's sacrfices...if not moreso. Thank you again for reading and commenting.

You must login (register) to review.