Reviews For Kindness
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Mar 2010 22:11 Title: Chapter 1

Wow-somehow I missed this jewel, what a great way for Scotty to settle into retirement.

 

Nice work Steff.



Author's Response: I wish it were the reality. Thank you!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Nov 2009 22:16 Title: Chapter 1

Wow.  I know I commented on this one once before, in private, but on re-reading I caught so much more new detail I felt like it merited a review here. :-)

One notable thing I didn't catch before is how different this version of Scotty looks at this age, from the canon version.  I forget--did he bow out in this universe before the destruction of the Enterprise?

Also another neat detail--the bridge, and that in this universe they're around to protect it.  Did you write this story first, or "The Bridge"?  Either way around, that's a really neat tie-in between the two.

I also love the way you have Star Trek IV happen, with Scotty as a civilian and thus immune to the kind of trouble he got into with the Lady Gray.

And of course I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way you show the transition into the stifling, politically-correct environment of the 24th century.  At least if they're going to get pushed to the side in some ways thanks to that, they can get pushed together, kicking and grousing the entire way.  That definitely takes a lot of the sting off, compared to the way things came out in the canon universe!

And of course, Scotty's quick summary of the headlines rules.

I truly wish this is the way it could've come out--but in my personal view, the way I read fanfic, your writing it means there's a universe...even if a very improbable one...where things did come out this way.  It seems so poetic, so perfect, so full-circle that I personally can't read it any other way. :-)



Author's Response: Shoot, I didn't reply?! Yeah, he bowed out at the end of the first five year mission in this timeline, which is before the Motion Picture. Transitioned out during the Enterprise's refit, and went home. I wrote Bridge way before this, and this, then, is kind of my bandaid wishful thinking that South Bristol (and the swing bridge) would still be there.

I believe that... it should have been. I wish it would have, and maybe in some universe it was. ::laughs:: And those old men got a good ending, I don't doubt. They deserved nothing less in any universe, and here they got it.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Aug 2009 21:10 Title: Chapter 1

This could've been two of my oldest uncles, were they still alive today. You conveyed the contentment and perspective of age that comes from a life well lived extremely well. I greatly enjoyed this.

Author's Response: Thanks much! It probably makes way more sense in the context of the Arc of the Wolf, but I'm glad it stands alone well enough for you to enjoy it.

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 13:58 Title: Chapter 1

And once again everything is said without having to have your characters utter the words. Gorgeous Steff.

Author's Response: Thanks, Terry!

Reviewer: mdgarcia Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jul 2009 22:33 Title: Chapter 1

Beautifully written.  Whenever you write about Scotty, I always get this sense that you're wrapping yourself up in a very comfortable blanket and I think that contentedness flows through your words.



Author's Response: Thank you, Mike. Sometimes it does; sometimes he's much harder to write than any character I've ever had.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 05:32 Title: Chapter 1

Nice.  Very nice.  How it should have been all along.  This was the retirement that Scotty deserved, rather than bumping around in a transporter for seventy years.  To bow out gracefully in the company of friends and family, that is a fate worth fighting for.

Especially well done. 



Author's Response: Thanks so much, Sam.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jul 2009 19:48 Title: Chapter 1

A wistful look at what might have been for the two of them.  Nice job!



Author's Response: Thanks.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jul 2009 15:05 Title: Chapter 1

This ending is a kindness to Scotty. He'd share family and friendship with Corry and the two would grow old happily [but grumpily] togther in Maine. A great reflection on their views of the changing face of the Federation and the advance towards the TNG era of holodecks, et el. Nice too to see the cycnism is not left to behind doors but brave enough to voice opinions to the media spotlight the higher ups would gladly have put on him otherwise, as a Starfleet starlet.


Sad too. The reflection on the loss of Kirk, and the fate of the Jenolan all pull on the emotional cords. Deftly done.



Author's Response: Thanks, Miranda. This ending is a kindness; I wish only it were the truth. Not sure who I wrote it more for, me or him, or both.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jul 2009 00:09 Title: Chapter 1

As it should have been. You're right. Very nice.

Author's Response: Thanks Mistral.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 20 Jul 2009 23:31 Title: Chapter 1

Ah, evil Steff. :D A realistic AU and a happy one. Jenolan... yeah. But endings aside, I doubt you'd prefer this kind of life for him to that other one. You should. But I don't think you would. Am I wrong? ;-)

Author's Response: Oh, I would. In a moment's notice, I would. But reality is reality, and I write reality. This... ::gestures:: ...is just a sad, wistful look at something I wish could have been. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Teddog Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jul 2009 20:47 Title: Chapter 1

I love how you write about Maine. The little details makes me miss the place dearly.

The most interesting things that stood out were Corry and Scotty still being rebels and not really the ideal that the government was looking for (you'd think that they'd look at their files and realize what the men did in their youth) and that Scotty, even in this universe, doesn't end up marrying and having kids. On that second one, that doesn't seem so heartbreaking in this universe as it does in the normal universe. Scotty has a complete family as it stands here.

Also - "They certainly and whole-heartedly loved to make something of a mockery of the so-called enlightened modern day values creeping into society." Is that a little dig at the TNG era I see? I know we've discussed the changes of culture between TOS and TNG and how they're a little baffling. :)

Author's Response: I miss it too. Like crazy sometimes. Actually, in the original draft, he did end up in something of a permanent relationship with a woman he had dated fairly seriously in the Pike era, but I didn't figure that it would fit the narrative, so I didn't dive into it. But regardless, no, he didn't have kids. Which is a bit of a shame, but still.

And yeah, that's a bit of a dig at the TNG era. ;-) And maybe a few others, as well. Thanks for the comment!

You must login (register) to review.