You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jul 2013 13:02 Title: Chapter 1

It is indeed a better way to go than a bridge falling on your head. Poor McCoy always the third man in the main trilogy of K&S&M.

Felt his pain in this story, that last line is the clincher.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jul 2013 15:53 Title: Chapter 1

I really love how McCoy's telling is elliptical. He starts to get to the point, and then he moves back, again and again, just like anyone would when telling something like this. The first person singular is absolutely perfect for this story, as it would lose all of its considerable punch if it were told as third person, e. g. impersonally.

McCoy's voice rings true here, as Kirk and Spock - and also Scotty and Chapel, to lesser extents - are only really seen as shadows. These are memories and, despite the good doctor's probable hopes, they are still fading.

Well done.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jun 2012 01:44 Title: Chapter 1

What a great job getting McCoy's voice just right, even allowing for him to be older and crotchetier! This story is so poignant and sad, but also sort of...right. I understand why McCoy would forgive and unforgive them a hundred times, but still hope they were together when they died. He was always deeply understanding and generous with that relationship. Beautifully done!

Reviewer: Since1966 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 10 Sep 2011 17:55 Title: Chapter 1

Gods, rip my heart out why don't you?!!! Beautifully written, beautifully told.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jul 2009 12:05 Title: Chapter 1

God oh I didn't want to finish this because I knew what had to be coming. Oh my Anna. That was just beautiful and sad and heartbreaking. Bones ... oh my heart aches for him to be left behind so and how it almost feels incredibly selfish of them to not to have taken him with them. The little trio torn asunder and the worst possible scenario is for one to be left behind. So this tale is heart wrenching in different ways.

Haunting and beautiful and a glorious exposition of friendship and love and a window into loss and grief. That just is ...

... whatever words justify it. I can't think of them honestly but I can sure feel them. Wonderful , just wonderful writing Anna. You take my breath away.



Author's Response: Oh, thanks, I'm sure I didn't deserve all that, but it thrilled me anyway. :) You know what's wonderful? You are. You are inspiration, my friend.:) Thank you.

Reviewer: Verenna Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2009 14:25 Title: Chapter 1

So beautiful.Im speechless.
Thanks for sharing.
V.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. :)

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Jul 2009 12:49 Title: Chapter 1

Mushy, sentimental-and absolutely mesmerizing. A lot better than a bridge falling on him. Way better. I couldn't tear myself away-the foreshadowing was excellent. The bit about Chapel was a little confusing-something about her keeping him off-balance? However, it didn't detract from the story at all.

Author's Response: Thank you, Mistral. I should probably consider putting warnings for male readers on all my stories. ;-) I'm glad you found this end more fitting. Thank you for reading. :)

Reviewer: Gumnut Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2009 20:28 Title: Chapter 1

Oh, my god, this is a beautiful piece of work. You had me laughing and crying, grinning and smirking. A wonderful piece of writing...and yes, I nearly said beautfiful again as that is the word that is sticking in my mind.

This is labelled a tragedy, but I'd like to relabel it as a celebration of friendship and a couple of lives that were lived to the fullest.

Your McCoy voice is brilliant. It wandered all over the topic so in character I was grinning. And his turn of phrase is just wonderful. And yes, I'm running out of synonyms for beautiful and wonderful.

I have to run off now as I'm at work, but please know that if I had time right now, I'd blabber at you some more as to how I thoroughly enjoyed this.

You are a fantastic writer. I wanna see more!

Thanks heaps for writing and sharing.

Nutty
(running off to a desk shift without proofreading this post)

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Nutty! I'm very happy it worked for you. :)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2009 08:42 Title: Chapter 1

<!-- /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->

Wow!  ::mouth hanging open in utter stupefaction::  God, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – you can channel McCoy at will! 

 

This was an incredible piece of writing, and a much more fitting end for my beloved command team.  Sad, bittersweet, but oh-so-right.

 

I just wonder, though – maybe it was meant to be more than it was.  A chance for the two of them to slip away and finally find the happiness that eluded both of them for so long.  Their unresolved happiness figures prominently in your work, and perhaps this is a way for the reader to see it finally realized.  I like to think so, anyway.  As I’m sure McCoy did – the thought must have crossed his mind as well.  After all, they never did find them and McCoy saw fit to forgive them…and he’s certainly not the forgiving type unless he has a damn good reason for doing so. ;-)

 

I think that’s the element I love most about your work – you offer and opinion, an explanation for how things are, but it is not so cut and dried that it’s not open to interpretation by the reader.  I believe that’s why your writing touches so many on a number of levels.

 

Thank you for this – it made my day!  Off to read Steff’s companion piece now – I’m sure to be in for another treat. :-D



Author's Response: LOL. Cuppy, it takes a story like this to bring out the romantic in you.:-) I can't say you're right and I won't say you're wrong. I'll leave an open end, or as open as it can be here.
Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. ;-)

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Jul 2009 17:48 Title: Chapter 1

It's beautiful. And haunting. And somehow, it is less of a tragedy than canon, for them, maybe even for the whole crew. I know this might look like a mutual admiration society here, but heck with it. Anyone who can turn out something like this deserves ever bit of admiration in the world.

Author's Response: I think people are used to us, so heck with it, it is. LOL. I can't help it if your final definition of what they are makes me cry and scream for how true it sounds. Thank you.

You must login (register) to review.