Reviews For Treacherous Waters
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Jan 2013 13:59 Title: Epilogue

Very well done guys. Loved this story, and it looks like I'll have to start reading galen4's stories once I finish with Gibraltar. Very sad about the losses; I loved Ramirez and Tark (Tark's death reminded me of a cutscene in Halo Reach...such a senseless, out-of-nowhere death...ugh), and I still say Sandhurst is an idiot for letting Pell go. Looking forward to the next one!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jan 2013 22:48 Title: Chapter 16

No, Sandhurst you idiot! Poor Ojana...

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Nov 2012 00:54 Title: Chapter 3

It always amazes me and...disturbs me, the ease with which you as an author snuff out thousands of lives. I think I got sick to my stomach reading that last paragraph of the superweapon attack. And go figure, The Rock had to drop out of warp right THEN.

I think Ashok knows more than he lets on. :P

Author's Response:

Uh... thank you, I think? ;-) This seems to be a time when Gibraltar's run of bad luck worked out in their favor. Knowing them, I wouldn't expect that to continue...

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 14:55 Title: Chapter 2

The Gambis think of us as a family, he thought wirily.  If so, we’re quickly becoming a dysfunctional one. LOL!

Ain't that the truth! Ok, Galen4, it has to be said it really takes a good writer to team up with Gibraltar. He's a great writer in and of himself but he also has a fantastic cast of characters. However, the Intrepid is a perfect choice to team up with and you a great author able for the feat.

You managed her in this opener to throw us into the middle of a diplomatic SNAFU, give a feel of a TOS episode, abridged with a great trio of Shantok, Adol and Aubrey. Great together as three and as little duos. The ending between Aubrey and Shantok was just brilliant. It threw up lots of facets to their command relationship and some serious concerns about how they are going to be able to continue working together.

It would seem, that change may be coming to the Intrepid in its own way too. I sense, that as this story progresses we will see Shantok sorely tested in whether she can trust her captain and perhaps take the ultimate choice of relieving him of command. She has grave concerns and I'd be inclined to give her judgement a lot of weight. Aubrey has been proven right in the past for his choices but that often was how the cookie crumbled. His gambled can't always pay off.

I'm fascinated to see how this will play out between them but I'm also worried as to how things are going to play out on a larger scale here as learn of the tensions between the Gambis and the Velk. A potentially explosive situation and now the Intrepid, the Gibraltar and Starfleet have walked right out into the middle of the mine field. And given that this is a collaboration we have yet to see how the two crews will work together and given the emotional undercurrents and distrust there seems to now lie between Shantok and Aubrey we are in for interesting times. It seems to a mirror parallel to the Gibraltar where Sandhurst and Rameriz have learned to be comfortable with and trust one another. Great stuff.



Author's Response: Thank you, MirandaFave! Yes, Intrepid's little family sure has its own issues, and Aubrey has eroded some of his XO's trust. Certainly not an ideal situation! I think you'll be pleased with the direction and scope of this tale. And any comparison to Gibraltar is about the highest praise any author can get around here! So thank you. We actually co-wrote many of the chapters. We were lucky to find that our writing styles were compatible. The plot and sub plots were in most cases, a blending of ideas from both of us. Thanks again for taking the time for such a detailed review!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 14:26 Title: Chapter 1

Ok, now that the story is completed I want to get started on it. It is an amazing start. As always, a fluid readable style, that packs lots of details and information about the status quo, some neat backstory and then the delicious little character moments that speak of a Gibraltar tale. I know to expect the same when it comes to reading the Intrepid parts too, and I'm buzzed to be reading this collaboration between two fantastic crews.

The start has some ominous clouds in the horizon. The bog, unknown pirates, an overly confident diplomatic corp., a host of ships pulled together for the sole reason of pagentry. Add to that the end result for a successful outcome is the Federation getting caught up in a situation not dissimilar to what they have had to contend with in Cardassian territory. Rameriz is just right to point it out and her comments were well judged, even if coloured by the Rock's recent long history.

My though, how far we have come here to see Rameriz and Sandhurst sharing a common ground and even collaborating on their respective choices of XO. It seems change is in the air for the Rock - but that seems to be the final nail in the coffin in terms of those ominous clouds. Expected changes so rarely turn out to conform to the expectations and life takes its own turn - all too often for the worse. So sad really, considering Sandhurst is in quite a good place given his relationship with Pell, his faith and confidence in his crew (demonstrated with a great retort to Altwell), his getting on with Rameriz and the fact that pulling a diplomatic jaunt like this should really be a blessing but we just know - it ain't going to be. And always, with the Rock it will find itself inbetween a hard place and a ... well a rock - anyway - Sandhurst sums it up brilliantly when he says: "You can fight if need be, and run if you’re forced to ... Our options are more limited.” Great stuff as always.

Now as for the Intrepid? Just what secret mission have they gotten caught up in? There's another ship that can find trouble without even looking. Seems like a bad mix.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2012 08:10 Title: Epilogue

Here's what I said about this over at the TrekBBS:

Great ending. Really. It makes total sense that Shantok would have caught a glimpse of Aubrey's unusual past. I like that she comes clean and I like even more that she puts the man on the spot about it.

Aubrey should be relieved that he doesn't have to hide this anymore amongst the skeletons in his closet. At least not from his first officer.

Of course now he will have to worry about S31 coming after her. But it's not as if she can't protect herself as she has clearly demonstrated. Of course that opens up a whole other can of worms.

This crew has some issues and I'd love to read more about these guys.

Terrific story through and through. Congratulations to both of ya.


Author's Response: And another public "thank you". Your supportive comments and continued attention are always appreciated!

Reviewer: dnoth Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Apr 2011 12:13 Title: Chapter 29

I'm glad to see this story continuing. It's going to be a long time before this situation is resolved for both captains. Here's to hoping the 'Outsiders' don't come calling with the Gambis no longer batting for the Federation.

Author's Response:

I think there's going to be significant fallout from this mission for both crews for a long time to come.  And given the Alpha Quadrant's piss-poor run of luck lately... I wouldn't hold my breath that these Outsiders will remain the stuff of legend for terribly long.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Aug 2010 20:51 Title: Chapter 1

I could swear I reviewed this story before.  Suffice it to say I just reread it and really want to know what happens next!



Author's Response:

Thanks!  I'm hoping Galen4 and I can put the finishing touches on it soon. :-)

Reviewer: Coot Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 18 Oct 2009 00:57 Title: Chapter 25

I'm not really into Star Trek fan fiction - I'm not even a Trekkie. But I'm enjoying the heck out of 'Gibraltar'. If Star Trek was real, I figure it would be much like this. Keep this up, I'll be a fan for life.

Author's Response:

Wow, thanks, that's a terrific endorsement, especially from a non-Trek fan.  : ) I’m pleased you’re enjoying the series.  Thanks again for the review.

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 09:47 Title: Chapter 1

This is such a great story. Mysteries abound and the Gibraltar is stuck in the middle like normal. Hopefully they are up to the challenge this time. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response:

Many thanks!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Jul 2009 13:32 Title: Chapter 3

I'm thinking its not the Dominion-why spring the weapon on this side of the wormhole? Wouldn't it make more sense to unleash it on Utopia Planetia or some other large gathering of Alpha Quadrant ships? Either way, SOMEBODY out there doesn't like Starfleet. That's going to make things ugly for Gibraltar...

Author's Response:

That's the dilemma they face... who did this, and why?  Stay tuned... 

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jun 2009 08:57 Title: Chapter 1

I agree with Mistral; this is promising start. There is much you can do on this landscape. DS9, and Garak, is sadly missed 10 years later.

Reading stories, and good ones like this, really remind me how I miss that show...ya brought a tear to my eye!!!

Keep this story going!!! As Gorkon said "Dont let it end here"

Rob

Author's Response:

Thank you.  DS9 had a lot to do with the shape my series has taken, and many of the themes I've examined through the various characters.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Jun 2009 12:44 Title: Chapter 2

Aubrey suffering from PTSD? It took guts to leap like that-more than I have. A well-thought out chapter.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 25 Jun 2009 12:59 Title: Chapter 1

What a great opening. So much detail about the political/social layout of this era, from Garak's gown to the disposition of the Dominion in the Gamma Quadrant. This is a great read!

Author's Response:

Much appreciated.  Yes, things are very complex and fragile here, not to mention Sandhurst's feeling out of place among all those shiny new starships and notable captains.

You must login (register) to review.