Reviews For Pedestals On High
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 19:36 Title: Pedestals On High

Rather interesting to find out a little bit about Ashok before Starfleet. He seems like a very deep character who has so much potential in upcoming stories.

Author's Response:

Thank you.  Yes, Ashok is an understated fellow with some significant history.  I hope to explore more with him in the upcoming story Gravity.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 20:25 Title: Pedestals On High

It seems that is one lesson mankind will always struggle with - trying to force your goals and aspirations onto your children.  Don't get me wrong - there's much to be said for parents who encourage their children to succeed, must it must be support for what they choose, not what we see fit for them.

I have often wondered how many great discoveries have been lost, how much breathtaking artwork has not been created, how many inventions never came to be, merely because parents saw fit to force their children into paths they weren't meant to follow...

The prose was touching and poignant and very evocative of the feelings young Ashok must have been experiencing.

A pleasure to read!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much.  You offer a fascinating question as to the impact of parents pushing their own goals and unrealized dreams onto their children... food for thought.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2009 04:15 Title: Pedestals On High

Oh. So poignant, so apt. I have a feeling the boy would have his way eventually, but it would not come easy. Starfleet seems to be a constant irritant to fathers throughout the quadrant. :-)

But jokes aside, this story is so touching, I can barely find words to say. The eternal conflict of fathers and sons, and family history and traditions, and the inevitability of betraying someone -- either your family or yourself, and the unavoidable choice... This story is a testament to true talent. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting.  And yes, there must be a song in the future that goes, 'Fathers, don't let your babbies grow up to be 'Fleeters!'

Reviewer: Rocky Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Jun 2009 07:20 Title: Pedestals On High

Very poignant look into a rather enigmatic character. The burden of expectations is a very heavy one to bear. I'm glad Ashok was able to break free enough to find his own destiny.

Author's Response:

Ashok broke free enough to follow his own destiny, but not enough to sever the strings of guilt and obligation.  There hasn't been a day since that he hasn't looked back without regret. 

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 May 2009 17:55 Title: Pedestals On High

You stab me in heart once again G...Ashok is a character that I found myself confused by. And once again I find no real answers....just awesome work!

Author's Response:

Thanks.  :)  Ashok's like an onion... lots o' layers.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2009 13:12 Title: Pedestals On High

From tiny seeds....

I hope you plan to continue fleshing him out-the Bolians as individuals are rarely addressed in fanfic and his is an interesting story thus far.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the feedback. I hope to explore more of Ashok in the future, and by extension, all of Bolian society.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2009 10:46 Title: Pedestals On High

Wow. An extremely powerful piece about expectations and disappointments, and Ashok! I really like Ashok. But the story itself is just agonizing and lovely -- your writing is consistently top notch, Sam, and you prove it every time you put your fingers on the keyboard. Excellent work.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much (::blushes::)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2009 10:34 Title: Pedestals On High

It's hard to be the son of genius as Ashok has leared first hand.

He clearly followed his own path eventually, but the question remains, has it made him happy?

A great litte backstory to one of your less high-profile characters.

Author's Response:

Ashok's life is an unfortunate story of repeated themes.  'Failed' son of an engineering genius who has become a capable engineer, but definitely no Scotty.  Now, of course, he's chief engineer on a starship whose captain is twice the engineer he is.  Sandhurst doesn't rub it in his face, quite the contrary, but Ashok knows it to be the truth regardless. 

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2009 03:58 Title: Pedestals On High

A fascinating insight into Ashok. Part of the reason I'm looking forward so much to the continuation of Gravity is the promised further exploration of this character, who by his nature tends to fall into the background. He allows others to overbear his opinions and voice and it is not surprising when one considers his childhood growing up with his father. [On subject of childhood it might fit the challenge posted here by Nerys]


As always Gibraltar, your stories are told lovingly, with great skill and execution. We sift through the layers of a character and find nuggets of gold that interest and enthrall us to delve deeper into your stories.


Happy to know that at some point, Ashok defies his father and makes his own stand. Decides to walk his own path and follow his heart's desire. Sadly though, even in this, he feels as though he does not meet the challenge, the gold standard. He obviously sets very high standards, moulded no doubt by his father's over bearing nature, and crucifies himself in not matching them.


In Gravity, I presume we'll discover whether father and son can reconcile matters. From the father's perspective one can only presume he pushed his son to be the best he possibly can and encouraged Ashok to strive to be exemplary in all he does. Sadly, his father had his own beliefs as to where Ashok should devote his talents. Sadder still that he so repulsed by the notion of serving Starfleet. I'd love to know what exactly motivated Ashok to consider Starfleet and Engineering in particular. Was it the fact, there are certain parameters and standards that have to be met on an empirical basis mostly?


Again, I'll just comment on the fact that with your stories, the characters are so well fleshed out. They are not cardboard cut out heroes awaiting their moment of glory. They are flawed, they have their vices, they have their failings and self-doubts, and they have their good points too! It makes them so interesting to read and compelling too to follow the course of their lives. So this flashback to Ashok's childhood is just great then for me. Like the ship they serve on, your characters are not considered cutting edge and best of the best. But the Gibraltar might be 'an outdated and overworked escort ship' but its the toughest of the lot and certainly among the best of the best to read.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, Miranda Fave!  Ashok is definitely one of my underutilized characters, but the guy’s a massive introvert so as a writer I’ve really got to jump through hoops to get him to come out of his shell.  ;-)  He is a complex person with a lot of baggage from his youth, and I’m thinking we’re going to get some terrific new insights into his makeup as Gravity progresses.

You must login (register) to review.