Reviews For Echoes
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 May 2015 09:21 Title: Echoes

A heck of an exploration into what makes Kirk tick here. I like how he knows that there has to be a line maintained, and that he does really feel these things; I like the exploration of that, because frankly, the show often dropped the ball on it. By the end of the episode, everyone's often laughing, even when there were casualties.

But to see the more vulnerable side of Kirk accidentally calling a new crewman by a dead crewman's name is a lovely piece of realism. You always were good at capturing the feelings and thoughts of living things, Nutty; a rare talent sometimes, but one you definitely have. And all of the little details of these feelings; the tightrope Jim walks between friendly and personal, between expecting competence and allowing for the fallibility of living things is deftly handled here. Well done!

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2012 00:03 Title: Echoes

Wow. This was so lovely and sad...but not entirely sad, because Jim only clings to his lost crew because he loved them like a father and grieved each loss. I like how you seem to fill in something beneath the surface of the character we see in the shows. We know these deaths upset him, but we seldom get to see it on TV, so there have to be moments like this. Thank you for giving us some of them!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2009 14:59 Title: Echoes

Simple but straight at the emotion strings and how Kirk's command style brings him the love and loyalty of so many of his crew but comes at a cost as he sees so himself here. The 'echoes' or the ghosts that plague him afterwards. Do they accuse him? Do they motivate him? Do they drive him to do better / try better? A double edged sword indeed and yet he continues to command in this manner. So he must believe it worth the cost.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2009 12:44 Title: Echoes

Wow, way cool! The losses pile up along with the pain and memories. Well done.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 May 2009 13:42 Title: Echoes

This was stirring.  It makes one realize just how difficult it would be to be responsible for the lives of others, and the fine line one would have to walk between complete detachment and allowing these individuals close, making their loss all the more painful.

It was a very insightful look into Jim Kirk.  We could see on his face how each loss affected him, but it was a privilege to hear his thoughts, and fears, and regrets.

Superb job.  Thanks for sharing

Reviewer: MrsPicard Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 May 2009 13:21 Title: Echoes

Lovely! Very well-written, very sad and very interesting. I liked it a lot.

Reviewer: Verenna Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 May 2009 08:06 Title: Echoes

wow....I was there.
For a moment, you had my heart in your hands.
Now is back, of course. I need it for something...you know, that blood thing.
::::grins:::
Thanks.
V.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 May 2009 06:36 Title: Echoes

Phenomenal. Deep, not sentimental or anything, but very poignant and 100% in character. Thank you.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. I feel much better about it now. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. Nutty (who should have been working, but was writing instead)

You must login (register) to review.