Reviews For Forty-Eight
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 May 2013 17:13 Title: Interlude II.

Oh, no.  That is the worst.  I could feel his panic setting in as he realized he was trapped and looking to his mom for help, but knowing she was the one who'd trapped him ... and no doubt his smart mind knew the futility of his escape attempt, but of course he tried anyway ...  Ouch.  Just ouch.  

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jun 2009 11:41 Title: Part VI.

I won't pry (unless there is another story I can refer to, to that injury)...but during what ages, exactly, can that kind of injury occur?



Author's Response: Any time in childhood or adolescence; more common in boys than girls, as girls mature more quickly. In this case, the story 'Now' would be a fairly direct reference to when, though. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jun 2009 22:54 Title: Part VI.

Yeah, Corry's probably right, but he's also correct in the assessment that he can't ever ask that question.

The line about Scotty gaining weight made me chuckle for obvious reasons.

Corry's bottled up a huge amount of angst, and Scotty's not even Earthside yet.  I've a feeling the real trauma here's yet to come...



Author's Response: I figured there was some reason why Scott gained weight like he did between the end of TOS and the beginning of TMP -- when he was younger, even in TOS, he was so high-wired that he seemed ready to move even standing still. In the movies, he lost that. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 18:06 Title: Part V.

Scotty's a mess.  Corry's a mess.  Scotty and Corry's families are messes, too.  So much for the utopian 23rd century, eh?  Well, until they can create a human that doesn't feel pain or emotion, people will keep getting hurt and hurting one another, and by my count, Dr. Soong won't complete that project for another century. ;)



Author's Response: And even that project decides to go the other way. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 16:33 Title: Part IV.

At least Corry's grown enough to handle the stress of Scott's injuries better than he did his father's illness.  The walking zombie routine is achingly familiar though, for those of us who have been through it.

Nicely done.



Author's Response: Thanks. It's hard writing, this story... which is a big part of the reason why it's not done yet.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 16:21 Title: Part III.

One of the Miracle Worker's first miracles... a few seconds of power, but enough to get them away.  And then a wall falls on him.

Tough Day.

I loved how you framed this battle.  The people in the engine room have no idea what's happening, only knowing that the ship is under attack and damaged.  The bridge crew's so busy nobody takes the opportunity to fill them in.  Nevertheless, Scotty gets the job done.



Author's Response: I figured that it's probably pretty rare when the engine room crew actually knows what they're up against. But, perform their miracles anyway. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 04:23 Title: Part II.

That... could have gone better. Scotty's never been one to embrace his grief, but usually Corry was nearby to pull him through.  Now there's a war on, Scotty's got a job to do, and there's way too many ways for Scott to lose himself in his work. 



Author's Response: Indeed there is, and he's an expert on it. Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 04:18 Title: Part I.

Oh, hell.  :(  Overwork and the war notwithstanding... now this gets dropped into his lap?



Author's Response: Yeah, I would venture that 2248, at least this part of it, is probably up there in 'bad years' when it comes to his life.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Jun 2009 03:59 Title: Prologue

Wow.  It appears something may be amiss aboard the good ship Horizon Sun.  Here's hoping Scotty (or whomever this is) can find a way out. 

One thing's for certain... he's not in the Atlantic anymore.



Author's Response: Yes, that's very much true. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2009 06:28 Title: Part V.

::sighs:: I know this is going to sound cruel. But you have to continue. I know you know it. But however hard it may come, don't leave them there. Please.

Author's Response: I won't. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2009 12:34 Title: Part IV.

I've read all the way through what you've posted so far, but I wanted to leave my comment here because this was the section that had one of the most striking I've seen so far--at least, from a cultural standpoint (I'm certainly not dismissing the action or psychological aspects of this story--which are quite impressive).

What I really liked was seeing the beginning of the society-in-denial that I tend to portray so critically in my own work: Utopia on the surface, but almost in a state of enforce naivete when you really get down to it.

Something I was kind of curious about in this section, as well: I was wondering exactly what it was Callie did that was so hideous to provoke a reaction like that from Corry.  I definitely got that she behaved in a way he found offputting, but I just wonder...did Callie end up in that same half-feral sort of upbringing as Scotty?  Or is this a whole different thing going on in her case?

Overall, Scotty's parts are interesting, definitely--but I'm really finding it fascinating to watch Corry's reactions as well.

Now, regarding the last section posted (Part V)--is that the point you've written to so far, or do you have more available?



Author's Response: Callie's... an odd case. She's not feral like her brother; if anything, she's the spoiled child. The problem is, she knows that. And feels guilty about it. But because she really sucks at coping with that serious imbalance (that she lived the privileged life, while her brother didn't) she reacts pretty much how she observed her parents acting. She doesn't know, nor does Scotty, that they're only half-siblings or she would probably understand why there's such a painful imbalance there. Since she doesn't, though, her own guilt and some very poor coping skills lead her to emotional blackmail, mostly. And whooooboy, that's a fast way to turn Andrew Corrigan into a lion.

I've written more; I'll get it up eventually. And hopefully write more in this.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2009 12:38 Title: Part III.

Very intense scene. Drives home the helplessness of the ship and the insanity of scott's plan.

Author's Response: ::nodnods:: It was... hard actually, writing it strictly from a below-decks position. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2009 12:34 Title: Part II.

The pain so severe it numbs...that came across really well.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2009 12:31 Title: Part I.

Oh, that's just awful. Right in the middle of the war. The things you do to poor Scotty...

Author's Response: In all fairness, I woulda saved him from it if I coulda. Thanks for the comment!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 May 2009 16:11 Title: Prologue

Oh now. I had better get on with my reading cos that has grabbed my interest. What has happened? What did he do? Oh that's the way to hook them in Steff...



Author's Response: Hopefully, it all makes sense when the dust settles. Thank you!

You must login (register) to review.