You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Feb 2014 02:51 Title: Scientific apparatus

Hee! Cute. All that cloak-and-dagger for some Romulan Ale. :-)

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2012 00:14 Title: Scientific apparatus

I loved this! The ending was a total reversal--I expected something huge, and we see that Spock went to so much trouble and expense simply to give a gift to a friend. Very touching--thank you!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Aug 2010 14:39 Title: Scientific apparatus

Ha ha! So Spock must appreciate the irascible doctor after all! What a nice and appropriate gift.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 Apr 2009 09:52 Title: Scientific apparatus

Oh, very well done. I didn't know where you were going but I liked where we arrived. I hadn't considered it but they had to have someone who could get it for them, eh?

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2009 15:27 Title: Scientific apparatus

Intriguing. I'm not sure if it fits the challenge, but it was an intriguing story indeed. What has he bought? Why? For whom? Is it legal? LOL. We don't get an answer till the last possible moment, and it keeps the tension very much alive. Well done. ;-)

Reviewer: Samuel Pengraff Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2009 13:30 Title: Scientific apparatus

May contain spoilers, despite my best attempts to prevent them...

It's a lovely story, but there's a parallel drama going on here, and a bittersweet one at that. Spock had no further need of the comb only because the events of Amok Time were in the past, and probably his recent past. Spock's gift to his friend - as thoughtful as it was - has come at a high price, even for this 'emotionless' Vulcan. That price is not the loss of T'Pring herself, as leaving Spock was her decision, but was instead Spock's acceptance of T'Pring's loss. After all, Spock's comb was probably not the only thing of value that he owned.

The story lands with both feet perfectly upon the reveal, but there are two layers to this reveal; a gift to a dear friend and the cost of that gift.

Sam
(Vulcans may be emotionless but who said their actions cannot have deep meaning?)

Reviewer: karracaz Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2009 13:06 Title: Scientific apparatus

I can see this happening. Spock isn't like most full blooded Vulcans after all. We know from Wrath of Khan that he remembers special occasions. I enjoyed the fact that you made it for McCoy and not Kirk. Not sure about the star rating thing on Ad Astra so I won't go there. :)

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2009 10:46 Title: Scientific apparatus

LOL! Very nice. Some of your word choices threw me, but the overall atmosphere was very well handled on both the planet, then back on the ship. Sweet story, Nutty.

You must login (register) to review.