Reviews For The Interview
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2014 03:56 Title: Chapter 1

Well if Q is still bored then he needs to read this story, Great work as usual Terry Lynn.
I like your clever and cannon use of naming everything Q when label by either Q or the Continuum.

Q views on other species felt in cannon for the character and I could indeed hear the great John de Lancie delivering those lines.

Did like that Q reason for helping/hindering Starfleet over the years is his quest to be the first Q to find the Symbiotic Ones for the Continuum.

I did enjoy the line about Q first observation thought on Humanity after seeing our interactions with the Vulcans for a short while “Q smirked. Certainly this species would only survive a few more centuries, but they had been terribly amusing to watch” this was a great line as it is Q thoughts process down to a tee.

So when Q realize that Archer is a flashpoint for the coalition, it makes sense for Q to interview Archer to see what makes him so special.

The interaction between the two characters does feel correct to established cannon and Archer over defensive aggression reaction to Q appearance was well handled.

I think both Q and Archers questions of the other were in a believable order and the responses were good.

I did like Q knocking the Volleyball on to Archer head. Unlike some other reviewers I think that Q wiping Archer minds of their meeting was so as not allow the interview having an impact on Archers future actions. i.e. removing the realization and danger that the Q interview might have observer impact upon humanity future choices and thus accidentally stop them from becoming the Symbiotic Ones.

All in all another fine Trek story that gets full marks from me.

Reviewer: Cowgirlcadet1701 Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 May 2013 15:50 Title: Chapter 1

Yup, that's Q alright.

Author's Response: :) And that's a very nice review. I only hope that I could capture the essence of Q! Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: ellenbetty Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Oct 2009 12:03 Title: Chapter 1

Not like the Q I know to leave someone not annoyed by Q by removing their memory.

Author's Response: Sorry I didn't see this until now. I'm a stickler for canon and since there was no mention of Q's existence before TNG - I had to come up with a device to make his appearance beforehand unknown to the Federation - otherwise, I'd agree with you wholeheartedly.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jun 2009 12:56 Title: Chapter 1

Okay,, that was amusing.  Q gets his first taste of humanity, and just happens to harass a captain of the Enterprise.  I liked how Q appeared genuinely intrigued by how Archer had been able to bring such disparate species into the same union. 

And anything that impresses Q must be one hell of an accomplishment.

Great short story!



Author's Response: Thanks Gibraltar! Q holds a special place in my heart (as you already know) and when I was personally challenged to place him in an ENT story, I knew exactly what I wanted to do...it was a ball!

Reviewer: Rocky Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 May 2009 12:06 Title: Chapter 1

It makes sense Q has been popping in on humanity in general and captains of certain-named starships in particular. Cute story.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2009 15:35 Title: Chapter 1

It makes perfect sense that Q's interest with humans and was sparked merely by his being bored. I loved that explanation and how Q viewed the various species within the Milky Way. All too often, the Starfleet angle and indeed the Star Trek franchise can glorify and rave about the humans and how great and unique they were. Q however, is more intrigued by their uncanny ability to mix things up and their predictable yet unpredictable behaviour.


As a study of Q and his motivations, this is a great insight,especially as it appears there's more beyond the Q - these Operators. Very interesting. The speech and attitude and motivations of Q strike me as very spot on.


It's somewhat surprising that the producers of ENT didn't try a Q episode seeing a show they lobbed a great many other later races into the mix. You showed that Archer and Q could have had a combative and fun interchange. Picard made the antagonism between them work, most people felt Q was very flat in DS9 and the usual criticisms are throen at Voyager and Janeway. But all a matter of approach and writing. Your approach and writing made this meeting, these characters work. Well done.



Author's Response: Thanks MF: I do have to be honest though and give credit for the idea of something greater than the Q to KRAD. He brought up the idea in Q&A and I totally bought it. I was rather disheartened that Q was not used in ENT - but it was obvious they were trying to make it a more "serious" show. They missed a lot of opportunities I think. I really do believe Q and Archer would have made for a fine agitated duo!

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 18 Feb 2009 15:10 Title: Chapter 1

This was a very good read, and you definately had Q down pat. I have never been a real fan of Enterprise, but from what I saw of it, you had Archer down very good to.

The banter is what made this sequence so good. Very readable, and very realistic dialog is a hard thing, I think, most writers have a troubles with. You dont....I hope to see more!!!

Rob

Reviewer: Tiberius Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Feb 2009 23:31 Title: Chapter 1

I like this. I think that Q on Enterprise has potential, and I'd like to see more of this.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2009 14:16 Title: Chapter 1

This I like. Very clever and plausible take on Q in this era. Good Job!

Author's Response: Thanks Mistral!!

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2009 02:37 Title: Chapter 1

LMAO! Thank you for that gem, Terilynn, I haven't laughed like that in a while! Both characters are perfectly authentic, Q and Archer. I swear I could hear John de Lancie speaking. ::grins:: Routine a la Abbot and Costello was perfect. A lot of lines in there cracked me up, this was one of them:

“You just appeared in my bed, scared the living daylights out of me, made my dog vanish and you think I’m being defensive? You haven’t seen the beginning of defensive bub…”

Oh, but he could, if I know Archer. LOL. Thank you so much for sharing this!

Author's Response: Anna: Thanks so much and I'm really just thrilled you enjoyed it. I had a ball writing it and Q is just one of those characters I can't seem to shake. Archer has his faults and I used to be very unforgiving of him, but I appreciate that side of him now. It took me awhile to get used to it (being a Picard fan) and I have to admit it's fun to play with his reactionary style...thanks again for reading and reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.