You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 Apr 2021 20:08 Title: Episode 23.8 - JAG Wars: Mercenaries

Starfleet seems to have some serious issues if it can't even rely on its own intelligence service anymore. Good thing Dolphin has reliable sources of his own.

Author's Response:

You are not wrong... Those cardassian ships had to be in Federation space for weekes to get from the cardassian border to Weythan...

I should note that I made a few changes to this story thread and the next episode in response to the way you handle Federation ethics in STEA. I changed some of the tactics, justifications and even some of the outcomes to keep my characters more in character. 

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 13 Apr 2021 20:20 Title: Episode 23.7 - JAG Wars: The Hudson River Massacre

This read very much like a chapter out of a moody contemporary novel, right down to the overt racism. How sad this is still such a hot button topic in the far future. The floating corpses of children is an especially dark turn. *Shudder*

Author's Response:

According to Bashir, the vulcans insisted on Section 31 primarily to protect the Federation against its greatest threat - humanity. He told Irons he was withdrawing that protection...

Alas, of any of my predictins for the future of our species, I fear this one is the most accurate. If no more than 0.01% of humans are violent racists, and there are about 45 billion humans, that would make about 4.5 million violent racists...

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2021 20:35 Title: Episode 23.6 - JAG Wars: Minerva

Always entertaining to rejoin the Doctor and Old Man Wesley. An now it appears the duo may have become a trio with the addition of the mysterious "Bob". I do think I may be recognizing their form of transportation.

Author's Response:

Glad you're enjoying the Wesley/Doctor beats. Dr. Carrera's team is gradually forming - sort of a 25th Century League of Extraordinary Gentlemen... Alien Bob is Wesley's friend and mentor, the Traveler. He had forgotten his actual name, so Wes started calling him Bob.

And you are not wrong about the Lavardorn, the sort of space whale introduced in the previous episode. The name Lavardorn is one of many easter eggs (along with pretty much all my admirals except Chekov and a number of walk-on captains.)

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 11 Apr 2021 07:23 Title: Episode 23.5 - JAG Wars: The Shadow of Death

I always thought Irons had a dark side to her but this is quite a transformation indeed. She a stone cold killer now.

I think I recall the Romulan and the Cardassian from earlier. Hadn't realized she was Section 31. Wasn't she responsible for busting out Ivanovic and killing an entire ship?

Author's Response:

Irons has been ruthlessly hacking and burning her way through this story, leaving a mountain of bodies. Her son is just as ruthless - the Irons family is part dynasty, part tong. Fiercly loyal to the Federation, but they have a distinctly Chinese way of doing business.

Remma was the top IIC field agent when she attacked the Hunter (Ep 4), destroyed the Challenger and captured Ivonovic (Ep 5, 6). Ivonovic mentions her influence over him to Dolphin, which leads to Dolphin putting Ivonovic out of her reach by getting him onto the Federation Council (Ep 10). Later scenes (Ep 11, 16) show first LeMark, then Remma being telepathically dominated and tortured by Chief Justice Scrivax while Bashir and Vice Admiral Senvol watch. This is a moment in her being conditioned and transformed from Imperial Intelligence Control agent into a tool of Section 31.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 08 Apr 2021 20:32 Title: Episode 23.4 - JAG Wars: Second Officer

I'm glad Gamor laughed this off but Sage's reaction to her was borderline creepy and potentially disrespectful in a professional setting.

I can't exactly claim a moral high ground here, since I pulled this kinda stuff with DeMara Deen as well, I'm sure, but at least in her case there extenuating circumstances.

Captain Hunter needs to learn some tact, methinks.

Author's Response:

Farm boy from West Virginia - a bit rough around the edges. Gamor can handle him easily.

It's that Rhode Island aristocrat who gets her goat.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Apr 2021 20:43 Title: Episode 23.3 - JAG Wars: Coins and Marks

Glad Hopper made it out in one piece, able to tell the story of the surreal trial.

And she hooked up with a governor? Methinks the young lady isn't quiet that innocent.

Author's Response:

And Dolphin is not above using that kind of connection in pretty much the same way that the sea is not above the clouds...

i'm gratified that Hopper comes across as a character you can care about.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2021 20:38 Title: Episode 23.2 - JAG Wars: The Prowler Class

A ship full of lawyers? I'm sure there a joke there somewhere. As we have seen and Dolphin reminds everyone with his all so subtle humility, Hunter is far more dangerous than slapping somebody with a lawsuit.

Author's Response:

Worse - a whole fleet of lawyers. Fleet street in space...

Dolphin can only pretend to be humble. And now he's coordinating a group of sister ships to Hunter...

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Apr 2021 20:28 Title: Episode 23 - JAG Wars

That's quite insightful commentary on how JAG functions in your Starfleet. Considering the ominous title of this story I'm sure this is going to be valuable background info.

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed this intro - I kind of needed to answer the question "Why is JAG doing this stuff?" But we've never seen any reference to Star Fleet MP.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2021 10:40 Title: Episode 23.1 - JAG Wars: The Prodigal Sum Returns

So it was all a show. Ha, didn't expect that. Shiva, it seems though, was quite real. Quite an interesting development. And it looks as if this isn't the end of the road for Irons after all, or maybe it is, except that Shiva will go on. But instead of Death, she may be a savior.

Author's Response:

It was a show trial after all... Just not Sela's show... Glad that one came out of left field for you.

Minerva has given up everything - even her name - to become a dedicated Section 31 field agent. 

While STH definitely gets weird, I try to keep it grounded in established astrophysics and ST tech (with the additions of the Dream Weaver and the Recursive Warp/Zip Drive.)

Thanks!! rbs

You must login (register) to review.