You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2020 20:39 Title: Episode 7.10 - Case Closed

He just pulls the sword out of his chest? This guy is one tough customer. Also, looks like Mlady is done feeding for the week. Also, WTF just happend?

Whatever the cause, I blame the mushroom.

Author's Response:

Lots of reveals at the end of this episode - including why David is so tough and smart and such a good dancer all in one giant body. And why Carrera is off the charts brilliant. And many of the other Hunter's superheroes. With the exceptions of Mlady, Kenny, Gaia, Tauk, T'Lon, Tali Shae, Jazz and the three trills...

And a reveal on TGM that will hopefully make your neo-cortex hurt...

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2020 20:33 Title: Episode 7.9 - A Bad Feeling

Now we've got space mushrooms, too? Great Scott, these things are everywhere.

I'm starting to get a bad feeling about .... never mind.

Author's Response:

Well.. I did feel the episode needed to earn its name.

The bad feeling thing is a bit of a nod to Star Wars.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2020 20:25 Title: Episode 7.8 - Mushroom Dreams

Gotta say, you do surrealism quite well in another creepy nightmare paragraph. In the soundtrack of my mind I was hearing "White Rabbit" through much of this scene.

I wonder what the mushroom, if that's indeed what is attempting to communicate here, is trying to say. My guess is, "get the hell off me, people!"

Author's Response:

Thanks for the kind words! White Rabbit definitely fits the material.

Ah that mysterious mushroom... 

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2020 21:45 Title: Episode 7.7 - They're Playing Our Song

So there's a bit of T'Lok left after all. Nice.

I have to say I appreciate how you juxtapose these somber chapters with the oddity of the mushroom extravaganza.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the intercutting. The best of Trek both in tv and movies involved great intercutting between A and B stories. With a major cast as large as this one, I'm really running C and D stories as well. Something I can do in writing that would be much harder to pull off in a time constrained tv series.

Thanks again for revieing and for the kind words! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2020 21:38 Title: Episode 7.6 - One Mushroom to Rule Them All

Oh look, it's the Lord of the Mushrooms.

All this talk about mushrooms, and now just one mega 'room is starting to freak me out a bit. Could something sinister be going on here?

Author's Response:

There is definitely more going on with our million ton, bioluminescent agaricoid friend than meets the eye. Out of more than 100 characters I created for this series, TGM is easiily the most mysterious. Although Emory Ivonovic and Emperor Sin IV will give it a run for its money..

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 05 Jul 2020 21:32 Title: Episode 7.5 - Temple on Mt. Seleya

Aw, that was nice. Still, somehow I had thought that maybe T'Lok would get resurrected but I suppose that would have been a little too convenient. Sometimes, dead is dead, even in Trek and with superheroes. Although usually not as permanently reliable for the latter.

Author's Response:

There are a few options in between death and life that are fun to explore and more possible with vulcan spirituality. Dead but not gone...

Glad you enjoyed this scene - Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2020 23:54 Title: Episode 7.4 - Trying Their Patents

Okay, something tells me you know exactly how many times the word "mushroom" appeared in this chapter.

I was going go comment on something else but now that's really all I can think of. Mushroom.

Author's Response:

Well, mushroom does kind of dominate Episode 7 - hence the name... I borrowed a writing technique from Douglas Adams and James Thurber - when you have something absurd, really lean into it. Hopefully it didn't overshadow the reveal on Dr. Carrera as that will become an important story point in later episodes.

Thanks again! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2020 13:35 Title: Episode 7.3 - Night Life in Porte Abello

Very nice and vivid world-building in this chapter. Pillo sounds like a fascinating and truly alien world very different to most places we've seen on the screen. Well done.

Author's Response:

These scenes on Pillo were among the first I envisioned when I was just idly day dreaming what eventually became this series. I went on this journey in no small part so I could describe Porte Abello and its inhabitants. So in a way, the entire Star Trek Hunter series started with a mushroom trip...

Thanks again for the kind words! rbs

 

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Jul 2020 12:02 Title: Episode 7.2 - Case Assignment

A court case were people experience premonitions? Well, that certainly sounds like a fascinating setup, particularly since some of the involve parties already think they have "seen" the outcome.

This could get complicated. Looking forward to it.

Author's Response:

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! 

Hopefully the courtroom scenes will be a nice counterpart to Episode 2 - an orderly, completely civil procedure - but every bit as nuts in its own way.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Jul 2020 11:53 Title: Episode 7.1 - Nightmares

One hell of a creepy nightmare. Nicely done.

And now we've got a katra situation? Are we about to get some sort of Vulcan resurrection? That would be a pleasant turn of events for a change considering all the grief these guys have been through recently.

Author's Response:

Thanks again for the kind words... Hopefully the resolution will be emotionally satisfying (although not entirely a resolution...) That was the fun of writing a Pon Farr story - It allowed me to play the sex/romance story from gentle to erotic to comic to pathetic. And now to a denouement.. I was gratified when you observed that T'Lon was taking T'Lok's death well. That was exactly the illusion I wanted to create.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:56 Title: Episode 6.11 - Disclosure

Love. That's the missing ingredient. I think you may have just solved the fears of all those futurists who are concerned about an advanced AI wiping out humanity. Just add love.

Although, on second thought, what happens when an AI gets jealous or even worse ... inconsolably love sick? Nothing good I bet.

Nice ending to this crazy, eventful episode.

Author's Response:

Okay - I wish I had thought of that as a plot device... A love sick starship. That would be an absolute scream.

That said, Malloriah Uhr will definitely return.

Thanks again for the kind words - glad you liked Episode 6! Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:48 Title: Episode 6.10 - The Ghost of T'Lon

I have to admit you have an impressing ability to pivot on a dime.

I certainly didn't expect this chapter to end where it did considering how it started. Let's ignore for a moment my first impression about what was happening in the Medical Bay, now it turns out Mlady is a ... vampire?

Well, you certainly know how to keep a reader on edge.

Author's Response:

Mlady is a little more than a vampire... she's actually quite a bit creepier than that. There's more about her in Episode 7 - The Great Mushroom.

Thanks again for the kind words! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:40 Title: Episode 6.9 - The Naked Truth

OMG, this is the Naked Now. Except, on steroids.

As for the things I feared that could go wrong? Well, I didn't expect exactly this to go wrong.

And now an even greater threat looms. Nice.

Author's Response:

Really glad you got a kick out of this scene - kind of mingled humor and horror.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:35 Title: Episode 6.8 - The Plan to Capture BK2

I remember that rifle from the DS9 episode. That was a pretty nasty weapon.

A lot of elements in play here which means a lot of things that could go wrong, including over 4,000 people suddenly ... uh ... feeling very funny?

Author's Response:

Yep - that's where I got the idea. I changed it a little - the DS9 version was essentially a displacement phaser. Mine was somewhat more primative. I would think that replicators would be coded to make it impossible for someone to use them to obtain any kind of weapon. DS9 created an out for this - Dax had to have a certain security clearance. I thought that was a bit too easy.

I'm gratified that you saw the DS0 debacle coming from the discussion among Shran and Mallory. I really do appreciate your comments - Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:28 Title: Episode 6.7 - Hunter Courting

Fully functioning, eh?

Okay, so this story is going into a direction I didn't quite expect.

Oh, and I was pointing out privacy issues earlier. Considering there are telepaths running around, and AI systems which can be anywhere and see everything, I suppose true privacy is a thing of the past.

Author's Response:

Yeah - privacy is already a thing of the past. Depending on when you got your first cell phone, the U.S. government probably has a complete record of every call you have ever made and every person you have ever texted. Courtesy of the Patriot Act.

Fortunately, the deepest, darkest secrets of the human soul are stultifyingly boring to betazoids and profoundly annoying to vulcans...

Glad you got a kick out of Mallory and Hunter's riff on Data and Picard. Thanks again for your reviews!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:23 Title: Episode 6.6 - The Best Pilots

Shran doesn't take no guff.

Hmm, why does he need a pilot, I wonder.

Author's Response:

I kind of designed Lynhart Shran after the actor Judd Herst - warm, friendly, likeable, kind of a funny old guy.. and a cold-hearted gun for hire.

Judd Herst with antennae and an andorian service revolver...

Thanks again for reading!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:19 Title: Episode 6.5 - Tolon's Ephiphany

One thing a little creepy here is how much information the team seems to have access to about pretty much anyone visiting a Federation starbase. I guess privacy laws work a little different in the future.

I've noticed you keep referring to the planet Raisa. Not sure if this is an alt spelling for Risa or a different planet altogether.

Author's Response:

Well... we kind of already live in that fishbowl.. But the Hunter's crew have this detailed information courtesy of Julain Bashir and Section 31...

Yeah - I should probably have looked up Risa on Memory Alpha. I misspelled it. I'll have to go back and correct that...

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2020 23:14 Title: Episode 6.4 - Interrogating Ivonovic

So the Romulans are working with the Cardassians. Or rather, using them.

Could this be phase two of the ill-fated Tal Shiar/Obsidian Order alliance? And if so, how does Ivonovic fit into any of this.

A lot of questions in this fascinating mystery.

Author's Response:

Glad you're enjoying the mystery! There is a lot more with Emory Ivonovic to come.. And Remma (the romulan) will reappear along with Lemark.

Thanks again for reading - and for reviewing! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Jun 2020 22:58 Title: Episode 6.3 - Gossip

This entire conversation and theme on hybrids and purity is very much in the best tradition of Trek and reminds me a great deal of the conversations we unfortunately still having to this day about racial purity and interracial relationships.

As for the rampant hormonal outbreak on the Hunter, on the other hand, would probably never make it onto a Trek TV show, at least not quite this blatantly. Maybe HBO. Then again, we did get to see the Enterprise crew fall all over themselves in the Naked Now.

Author's Response:

Considering the Odogasms and Kiragasms DS9 got away with, along with the first passionate female/female kiss on network TV and all the hanky-panky with Warf and Dax in the wings, I think I can defend my T rating... 

I'm kind of stealing a plot device from a DS9 episode... None the worse for wear.


Glad you enjoyed all the talk about hybrids and purity - while I wrote this episode nearly a year ago, it is evidently far too resonent today.

Thanks again for the kind words!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Jun 2020 22:44 Title: Episode 6.2 - Following Leads

Not a lot progress being made at present and understandingly so with everybody beat. I bet I know who ain't beat though. BK2. These guys need to get in gear real quick if they want to avoid more victims.

Also, is it just me or are floral patterns super hot right now?

Author's Response:

Whenever they're worn by anyone but Mallory... I designed her character after the actor Miriam Margolyes (Professor Sprout). If you have ever seen interviews with her, she is totally nuts and unbelieveably naughty. Leaves me crying laughing every time.

And you are not wrong about the time pressure..

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Jun 2020 22:37 Title: Episode 6.1 - Healer Downa

Very nice, warm paragraph here with a family counseling session which for once seems to be worth it's latinum.

Considering what this series is about so far, I'm pretty sure things won't remain this peaceful for long.

Author's Response:

And you would be right - pretty much every episode ends with some sort of chaos and bedlam (except Ep 28). This scene is similar to me showing a gun hanging on the wall at the beginning that will be used to shoot someone later...

Thanks again for reading and reviewing! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2020 22:37 Title: Episode 5.8 - The U.S.S. Challenger

Brutal description of death here.

But yeah, I expected something like this ever since it was clear the governor was MIA.

Whoever is crewing those Cardassian ships is. Or messing around.

Author's Response:

Brutal is what I was going for... Glad to know it connected!

I try to mix humor and horror. My favorite Trek movie is First Contact - going back and forth from a spooky borg hunt on the Enterprise to utter insanity with Zephram Cochran in Montana.

Thanks again for the review! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2020 22:34 Title: Episode 5.7 - Malloriah Uhr

Okay, no idea who that Uhrg, Urrrg, Uhr .... lady is or why she is on board but damn ... is this about to turn into a romp in space story?

Author's Response:

Recruiting Mallory is Shran's idea. If you're hunting a powerful telepath, you'd better bring along a very powerful telepath...

A romp in space... Well, not quite. Or rather, not exacty in space - but that too becomes part of Shran's plan. 

Thanks again!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2020 22:27 Title: Episode 5.6 - Ivonovic Trapped Again

Doesn't sound the good governor is still in Starfleet custody. Orions, maybe? Whoever it is, it's not a good sign for Hunter and company.

Author's Response:

You are very much correct about it not being a good sign  

Emory Ivonovic is a very complex man and he has the biggest story arc of any of my characters. 

Thanks again!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 22 Jun 2020 22:22 Title: Episode 5.5 - St. Petersburg, Russia

Julian Bashir as a Supreme Court judge? Yeah, I can see that.

But what's the deal with that demographics data, I wonder. Wouldn't be surprised if that comes up again.

Author's Response:

And Director of Section 31... Which is why he switched from medicine to law.

Oh yeah, demographics... in a big way...

Thanks again for reading and reviwing!! rbs

You must login (register) to review.