You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 31 May 2020 13:36 Title: Episode 2.12 - First Command

I guess my only nitpick here is the fact that you named one of your characters after a Trek actor because it makes it difficult to read this and not immediately think of Neelix which I'm assuming is not the image you have in mind for this character.

Other than that, solid stuff all around. Irons shows that she is just a sharp on the bridge as she is in the courtroom, or fighting off attackers in her chambers.

Also, Dolphin (another curious name choice) is quite the impressive officer considering that he's fairly new at all this. Not sure if he's quite as smooth with the ladies though. His encounter with the Vulcans was a fun, light-hearted scene in what has been a rather action-packed episode so far.

Author's Response:

I really appreciate the kind words - and seeing your response to various tropes that I built into the series. Alas, I never connected the name Ethan Phillips with Neelix until after I had begun posting this stuff and kind of got stuck with it. I must have known there was a reason the name sounded so familiar. 

There is a reason for Dolphin's name connected with WWII, which he explains in a later episode. I'm really glad you enjoyed the scene with the flirtatious vulcan...

 

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 31 May 2020 13:31 Title: Episode 2.11 - The Wounded

Irons is a tough cookie for a judge.

Appreciate the detail that the CMO of a ship may not always be the most suitable person to perform actual surgery.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2020 16:42 Title: Episode 2.10 - Indicted

Even in time of total chaos Irons and her team have time to dispense Federtion law, nice.

Although I'm not quite sure if Pep did his job right, just giving Emory some reading material may not have been enough considering the seriousness of the charges. Not that I feel any sympathy for the governor.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for your reviews - glad you're enjoying STH!  

 

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2020 16:38 Title: Episode 2.9 - Rescue

Well this went pretty well then. These guys are clearly seasoned professionals who know what they're doing. Well, mostly.

Author's Response:

The best laid plans..  I noticed you seem to be responding to each scene as you read it. If so, it seems you might have skipped over Ep 2 Scene 5: Kenneth Dolphin Commanding.

I have read through your most recent story, but I plan to go back a few and catch up with the current Eagle thread.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 27 May 2020 16:36 Title: Episode 2.8 - Fly By

For some reason this reminded me of that scene in Insurrection. Must be that flight stick. Done to better effect here though, since we're talking shuttle not 4 million ton starship.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2020 10:21 Title: Episode 2.7: The Dampening Generator

A lot of fast-paced action here. Felt very cinematic. And another win for the good guys ... that is if they can find and disable that second jamming device in time.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2020 10:01 Title: Episode 2.6 - Pepper Revival

I don't know if I mentioned this already but Hunter's crew seems to be composed out of total bad asses, one tougher than the next.

Clearly, bringing law & order to the galaxy is no easy job. Certainly not if this mission is anything to go by.

Author's Response:

Glad you're enjoying STH - and the Hunter's unique crew... There is a dark secret underlying their abilities... 

 

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2020 13:16 Title: Episode 2.4 - Pinned Down

That was some tight action.

I also really appreciate the fact that we get to see two Vulcans at the same time and of the same gender without it being a big issue.

Too often it feels like that non-human people are only allowed to show up if they come from different species when in reality, you would think that it would be quite common in Starfleet and the Federation to see members of the same non-human species work together.

Although, the fact that you've given them such similar looking and sounding names was perhaps a bit confusing at times.

Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!  

Lt. T'Lok Smith and Ensign T'Lon show up again in Ep.2 Scene 12 and they pretty much rule Episodes 3 and 4 (surf's up) - hoping you enjoy!

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2020 13:01 Title: Episode 2.3 - The Courthouse

Now that's what I call Courtroom Justice. Okay, terrible pun, but boy, this escalated quickly into all out melee combat. Not exactly what I was expecting from the set-up. Law & Order, this isn't.

Author's Response:

I did include some courtroom drama later - particualrly in Episodes 7, 11, 23 and 25. But Episode 2 was already burdened with introducing a very large cast of characters, so I felt a need to keep the action moving. I also had to introduce some of the unique aspects of the U.S.S. Hunter, which I think you aptly compared to a police cutter - precisely what I was going for - small, cramped, and extremely fast.

Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Oct 2019 14:07 Title: Episode 2.2 - Pursuit

Well, they've certainly have found trouble. Kudos for the variety of characters in your story.

This has bit of a buddy action movie feel to it with a hint of a military thriller. Definitely quite a departure from regular Trek. Not in a bad way though.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your comment. For some reason I got locked out of my account and am only now back in. I will submit Episode 3, which will carry this story forward (and includes a Serial Killer mystery and some surfing) as soon as I can figure out how to. Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Oct 2019 14:05 Title: Episode 2.1 - The Colony of New Hope: Charter Worlds

Certainly a collection of very interesting and different characters here.

I'm not entirely clear what the background of this mission is, but it is obvious that the crew is expecting a great amount of trouble.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your comment. For some reason I got locked out of my account and am only now back in. I will submit Episode 3, which will carry this story forward (and includes a Serial Killer mystery and some surfing) as soon as I can figure out how to. Thanks!! rbs

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 Oct 2019 13:00 Title: Episode 1 - Flash Forward

Interesting interpretation of Trek. I particularly like the idea of a mobile JAG ship complete with its own judge, though it seems like this ship almost functions like a police cutter. There certainly is plenty of action to be had early.

The new position names and rank structure though is going to take some getting used to particularly since you are throwing us right into the midst of things.

You must login (register) to review.