You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 02:13 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

Seems that Cutler isn't too excited about being on a Miranda-class starship. I wonder what kind of adventures and new worlds they'll discover aboard the Kestrel? Another nicely written and engaging chapter. The more I read this fic, the more I’m finding your original characters fascinating. Each has their own distinct way of acting emotionally as well as physically. I like the descriptions of both Cutler and Jex. Jex seems like she appreciates older class starships. She takes in everything as if its new. She likes the idea of exploring things through ‘fresh eyes.’ I think Cutler just needs a chance to settle in on the Kestrel. He probably just feels a little uneasy being on an older class ship. I’m really enjoying reading this fic and I’m going to keep reading to see what kinds of adventures they go on. Thanks for another fine chapter, and now onto chapter 3 to see what happens next.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2013 23:57 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

It's fun noting all the little details. Like Jex, and whether it's Leoini or Jex, and Noah's so utterly understandable confusion at the same. He's described so well here -- average, soft-featured. And man, that's kind of like throwing a piece of bait in front of a bunch of sharks, when it comes to the Kestrel, doesn't it?

I love the initial outside look at the ship. I always picture her in my minds eye as looking weathered, despite all refitting, but badass. I sure wouldn't turn my nose up to serve aboard her, but then again, I do want to live so I might still turn down that assignment. ::grins a bit:: Even so, a lovely bit of writing. Two more players added to the slot.

As an additional note, I like how you convey the busy feeling of the universe. People moving, transferring, doing, acting, all one big chaotic or not pattern of living interactions and living ships. You feel the size of Noah and Leoini here really well; two more little bodies in an ever moving universe.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Jul 2013 00:01 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

I can see why Noah is a bit confused by Jex - who is he talking to, again? That has got to be confusing, and I am not so sure that I had seen that confusion before, either in canon or fan fiction. But it makes utter and complete sense.

This was also a terrific way to get in some badly-needed exposition. The reader gets more than a little bit of the descriptions of the Kestrel, but without just doing some massive data dump. The description of it as the Ford pick up of starships was rather apropos. With less than five words, you get across not only the look and feel and purpose of this kind of a ship, but also how Noah himself thinks about it. He does seem to be a bit dismissive, but at least he feels himself swell with pride a bit (or maybe it's just nerves at the new assignment) when he finally sees the thing.

The elliptical descriptions of McGregor are great, too. The reader does not need to get all of the gory details at once, and it works better to not be doing a data dump here, either. The reader, instead, gets what is almost like a few snatches of conversation. None of them are positive, and the reader begins to form an impression. This is a great way to lead the reader down the primrose path, and make them believe one thing, all while you tell a story that might be leading to a rather different belief.

Well-written.

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 10:32 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

"My granddad told me that the Mirandas are the ford pick up of Starfleet."

Lol! Wow Cutler and Jex have so much life as characters than this Cartwright does, and that's not all attributable to Culter's and Jex's youth. I can also see where you are going with Jex, she's like Jadzia Dax but Jadzia during her first years in Starfleet.

Reviewer: Enterprise1981 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Dec 2010 19:02 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

Mister Cutler doesn’t seem all that excited about serving on one of the older classes of starship. Jex, meanwhile, doesn’t seem to be having a hard time lifting spirits. And boring him with the statistics ain’t helping either. She sure knows her stuff having lived in that earlier time period, which might prove to be of value.

Author's Response:

No, Cutler doesn't seem very excited about serving on an older class of starship nor for that matter particularly enthused about serving with the Border Dogs. He probably wished for something safe and comfy among the regular Fleet. Alas for poor Cutler that is not what life intended and in the great big Dog Lotto he got billeted for Border Patrol duty.

Jex does have an advantage by dent of her lifetimes of experience and it will be of benefit to her. However, I hope to explore the double-edged sword such a long lifetime of experiences might have. As for lifting Noah's spirits, I think at this moment in time Jex is a little too caught up in her own reveries and excitement.

Thank you so much for reading. I hope you continue to enjoy the tale. It gives such a thrill to have new readers on board. Thank you heaps and heaps.

Reviewer: KayCee Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Aug 2010 00:22 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

I am enjoying your story very much.

Author's Response:

Thanks KayCee. i hope you continue to read and enjoy it. There's a bit of the story to go yet and more fun and danger to be had. Thanks again for reading and responding.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jan 2010 04:56 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

Love the speech Mcgregor gives-brilliant in all it's construction. Feel sorry for the new recruits, as they're lives are about to get a little more complicated. Nice chapter.



Author's Response:

Yay thanks trekfan. Yes, the lives of our new recruits are going to get very complicated and very messed up as McGregor takes them under his charge! Thanks for the comments. Much appreciated.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Aug 2009 22:17 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

McGregor is a nut, but he's a canny nut. I feel sorry for the new recruits, yet I imagine they are in for a wild ride.

I really liked how you depict Trill consciousness. It's something I would've liked to see more of in the various shows. Continued excellence!

Author's Response:

Thanks again PSGarak for reading. Yes the ride for the new recruits is only beginning. And McGregor has been called a nut before but he'd be flattered you think he's a canny nut [Mind you he is a little egotisitcal].

As for the Trill consciousness, it is also something I'd also liked to have seen more of. I haven't read too many Trek novels and most of the ones I did were TNG or TOS so I've no knowledge of how Trill consciousness is portrayed in the novels. So it is one of my headaches in approaching this tale as I want to tell part of it from Jex's viewpoint. So working on parts for her and exploring her past. Hopefully, I'll manage to pull it off - at least initial feedback from you is favourable [thus encouraging] about early attempts to convey it. Here's hoping.

Again thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2009 22:24 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

"I know my parents were cruel and I was teased something awful as a child. Thankfully, it didn't affect me in the slightest and I remain a well adjusted, rational being." ::dies:: Can I adopt this phrase for real life? LOL! Oh, I love this guy already. ::wicked grin:: He sounds like fun. ;-)

Author's Response:

Of course adopt it! McGregor is sadly a misjudged buddha, a fountain of wisdom and knowledge, if people but understood, they could all live theri lives better by following his example. :) Thanks again, Anna.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 31 Mar 2009 14:10 Title: 'But It's a Miranda Class!'

Oh, yeah. Okay, I love your border patrol; I think they would get along absurdly well with the shore patrol that gets a mention in my own storylines. A bit rough, foul, specific types who make Picard's crew look... well, weak, honestly. Good stuff, still!

Author's Response: Sure out on the border there's no such thing as diplomacy. Maybe punching a guy instead of shooting him! That's fairly diplomatic. And I have to read your Shore Patrol guys. Where might I find them?

You must login (register) to review.