You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2014 01:47 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Well MF, I have to say I’m really enjoying this story and the awesomeness of it so far. I can see the character of Molly Cartwright and how stubborn she is. She seems to be a very strong character. Strong and self-assured. I liked how you set up the scene and beginning of the story here with an engaging cast of characters. I find it interesting how you chose to end this first chapter with Vardros and T-Hos breaking into a secure high security facility of Starbase 49 and that they have some sort of spy working for them aboard the Kestrel. What’s going to happen next I wonder? Again, great way to set up a wonderful read so far. The emotions of all the characters are very clear and it adds to the depth of this complex and engaging fic. The originality of it is amazing. I feel as if I’m watching an episode you created, and it were to be seen on screen. Now, onto the second chapter to see what’s next. I’m really enjoying this so far. Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jul 2013 23:27 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Having read this all a few times now, I shall do so again. With pleasure. It's really fun going through it after you know the characters better. I love how Molly closes ranks around McGregor. No bull, just exasperated loyalty and blunt honesty. Georgetown is hilarious as he tries to parse out the fascinating dynamic there, and then you have his call to Faraday, which is just brilliant.

You learn so much about their various personalities here, nice and neat, and it's a great intro. And then that bit of menace there at the end. I really hate T'Hos. Which I am sure I'm supposed to, but now I really really do.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jul 2013 21:07 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Nice opening to the story, get you family with the key players and McGregor.

As always good prose and very easy to read story.

Plus the crooks at the end sets up a nice cliff-hanger.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jun 2013 23:11 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Uh oh.

Well, being a pain in the ass can do that - get you into situations that spiral far out of your control.

I've only read a little bit on your McGregor character but the idea of a not so likable character as the lead is interesting and very much a kind of thinking out of the box. After all, there is no reason whatsoever to assume that personality conflicts will all go away the minute that the Vulcans land in Bozeman.

So - we have Cartwright, who's tasked with keeping McGregor palatable. But she doesn't, although I get the feeling she may have done it for a while and then gotten tired of running interference. We've got the as yet unseen McGregor, who reputation precedes him. We've got a high-level official who wants McG drummed out of the service, a technician who was humiliated, a hired killer and another guy (is Vardros the unlucky technician, perchance?). Oh, and a diplomatic type running a repair service who is of course hearing complaints from his own people.

It's a lot like a Star Trek version of the kinds of conflicts that, in a corporation, can often spring up between the IT development side and the more touchy-feely BA-type business side of things. I worked as a liaision between these two groups for years, and the liaision role can really stink, as you hear it from everyone (hence I suppose I'm Cartwright in this scenario).

I've got you on my - read more later - list as I'm trying to get through at least one chapter of all of the special review stories. I will be back.



Author's Response:

Ha! Thank you jespah. And please do come back whenever it suits you. Yes, McGregor is a character who is not entirely likeable. If you keep reading and track in the same manner as most readers you will begin to find him a hoot and eccentric and then outright atrocious, mean and rotten and then it depends you might begin to see-saw regards him. I'd love if you did keep reading as it would mean I could see just what reaction you have to him! LOL!

And yes, Molly is the much harassed liasion who has to try and smooth over McGregor's crap and yes she proably now has had her fill of it. And absolutely, I firmly don't believe that once the Vulcans arrived humans got over themselves and their traits. I raher imagine that with the influx of new people and species things as we saw in ENT only got more delicate and complicated re: interpersonnal relations.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jun 2013 02:15 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

LOL!  He's a hawsehole all right, this McGregor.  He's managed to piss off friend and foe alike, but even in the little bit we've seen, his crew seems to stand by him unerringly.  Usually for a crew to do that, it's not because they *fear*, but rather *trust* their captain implicitly.  Curious to see what he's done to earn that trust, considering he's rubbed so many others the wrong way.

Dunno what he's done to make T'Hos Likk so mad; mad enough to risk so bold a plan as infiltrating a Federation starbase and planning to board a ship of the fleet and 'kill all who walk her decks' before doing in her captain.

Something tells me there's much more, not less, to McGregor, and that I'm gonna like him immensely. :-)

Reviewer: Ln X Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2013 10:23 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Just starting on your story and one of the first things I noticed was how heavy this chapter was in dialogue and exposition, it kind of reminds me of some of my more heavy-handed moments with writing some of my stories. Right now for me though the only two hooks are commander Molly Cartwright and this T'Hos Likk fellow, so it's a small hook but a hook none the less.

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Mar 2011 03:12 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

What an adorable crew! The chief engineer that is all but a teddy bear, Cartwright that seems to be as unpleasant as she can in front of a superior officer without getting into trouble, not mentioning merely mentioned, and not her met 'eye to eye,' captain. I bet workiung under their command takes all joy from being a Starfleeter, especially one that makes mistakes sometimes...



Author's Response:

Aw thank you Gul Rejal! Firstly, for even starting to read the story and then for saying they are adorable. They aren't typically run of the mill and people's opinions of certain characters [usually McGregor] change as they continue the story. I wonder will it for you. Certainly, working under McGregor or Cartwright can be interesting, they both have exacting standards [exacting to their standards that is!]. Thank you again for reading. I hope you will like it and find it worth following, regardless, I appreciate you taking the time to try it out.

Reviewer: Enterprise1981 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Dec 2010 19:01 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Hmmm, this McGregor guy seems to rubbed a few people the wrong way. Curious as to what T’Hos’s beef with him is. Will read on…

Author's Response:

Please do read on. McGregor does have a way of rubbing people up the wring way that's for sure. As for T'Hos' beef? Well you'll have to keep reading for the trouble it'll bring.

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2010 20:53 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Finally another update on the Kestrel.

Ronak has some major mother issues and Stanley being able to survive in space without an EVA suit, way cool. Keep it up

Author's Response:

Thank you! Glad you're still following it. Sorry about the slowness of updates. Busy life - grrr. And mother issues is one way to put it. Hee hee. Thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Jan 2010 07:02 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Been meaning to read up on this forever now-and what a beginning. McGregor certainly does come off as the man I've gotten to know in the RR, and I look forward to more.

 



Author's Response:

Thanks for starting trekfan. Hope you like it. Yeah McGregor is who he is.

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jan 2010 19:39 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Interesting start! McGregor certainly has made enemies both within and outside of the Federation. I look forward to reading how he deals (or doesn't) with the challenges of having so many - especially those from within Starfleet - people rooting against him. I'm also intrigued by Cartwright and what it is about her that caused her own demotion. Great reading!

Author's Response:

Thanks Terilynn for reading and giving feedback. Yes, McGregor has a way of winning friends - not. And you might be onto something of his nature when you you remark how he might not deal with the challenges, as he sometimes decides not to bother dealing with them and ignore them altogether! Ha! And I'm just delighted that Cartwright intrigues you. I just hope she continues to do so.

Reviewer: Funngunner Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Nov 2009 15:17 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Thank god the Kestrel has returned to duty. I missed the adventures of MacGregor, who might actually be my favorite captain ever!

Seriously, all this man has to do is grow his hair out and paint a pirate flag on a warp nacelle and he'd be Captain Jack Sparrow ... only, well, you know with less pirates and more photon torpedoes... and in space ... and, well actually nothing like Jack Sparrow at all. But, just as entertaining!

I really expect to see an exchange like this someday:
Admiral: "You are without doubt the worst captain I've ever heard of!"
MacGregor: "Ah, but you have heard of me!"

Author's Response:

Oh wow! Thank you Funngunner. Yeah he is definitely a rogue. And Jack Sparrow is a good parallel still and we've yet to get to some of the more swashbuckling adventures. Glad he continues to make an impression. As for the little exchange you describe ...  I think I might have to sneak that in somewhere. It would be a very McGregor thing to do. He is afterall very modest! Hee hee. Thanks again for reading.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Aug 2009 23:13 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

What an intriguing start! We haven't even seen the man in question yet, but I already feel as though I know some important things about him. This is going to make great reading while housebound. I can't wait to see how the plot unfolds.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and responding PSGarak. On top of that, I hope you are feeling better soon and may haps the story so far will help brighten up a bit of your day and you enjoy the rest. As for McGregor, if you read on I wonder what you'll make of him and whether he lives up to expectations. Thanks again for reading and take care of yourself.

Reviewer: Funngunner Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2009 04:33 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Two things...
One, I loved that opening, and with the Ensign having to deal with not getting his dream posting. After all, not every fresh-freshed Ensign can be posted to Enterprise.

Two... having read the snippet you put on TrekBBS, I have to say, I disagree with it being 'weak.' I think it makes a great segeway from this point, and struck me as a Little House on the Colony feel, like something out of a John Ford western (with John Wayne playing Chief of the Boat).

I strongly believe that piece was, and is, ready to go along side the rest of your story. Keep going, I'm enjoying it.

*Reposted because I screwed up the rating system... sigh.

Author's Response:

Thank you Funngunner. To be honest, I was worried that the segeway from Monroe's backstory was deviating away too much from the story and I worried about including it and having it clog up the story. I'm glad you liked the bit and I laughed at the notion of it being like a Little House on the Colony feel and in particular the image of John Wayne as McGregor! Thanks for the review and hope you continue to enjoy.

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 16:57 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

When i first started reading this story I wasn't sure if I would like it. McGregor just seemed to odd even for a
Border Service captain.

After reading more than a few chapters now I can't get enough of it. A Tzenkethi COB, an insolent Vulcan, plus a disgraced former Starfleet captain. The Kestrel is quite the eccentric ship.

Keep it up and want to see more.

Author's Response:

Cool, thanks much Kraylose. I'm glad you stuck with it. Yes, the captain is a little OTT but within his own context it works - kinda - well in my head anyway! Ha! Eccentric is a good way [and a polite way] to put it. Please keeping reading and don't let McGregor put yu off too much. More coming soon ...

Again, thanks for reading.

Reviewer: Anna Amuse Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2009 21:10 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Ooooh, an ominous bad guy right at the chapter's end! I wonder what McGregor had done to him, though from the looks of it, he's the type to be capable of about anything. ;-)

Is it bad that the exchange between the Commander and the Commodore made me laugh? I can just *see* the scene with the tool kit... LOL.

On to the next chapter...

Author's Response:

Cool. Love that you could imagine it. And I hope it isn't bad that the exchange made you laugh cos it's what I did too.

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Apr 2009 16:03 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

Being in the military as I was, I went up against many of these paper pushing bozos..I wish I could have grabbed them by the lapels and done some shaking of my own!!!...good "episode". cant wait for mor...

Rob

Author's Response:

Thanks Rob. Don't we all just wanna throttle the big wigs pushing around paper whilst others do the real work. Oh and there's plenty more to come.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Mar 2009 16:55 Title: 'He's an Hawsehole!'

I already like your McGregor. ::smirks:: I also like the fact that people still get divorced, some people still crawl up through the hawsepipe and that the Kestrel obviously has its fair share of 'personalities' aboard.

Author's Response: Thanks Steff. I actually figure that with the life styles and choices people would live in the Trekverse marriages and family life ought to be really difficult and challenging. So bringing in a little reality grit without the trauma I thought would add a little texture to the tale.

Yes the Kestrel certainly has its fair share of personalities - deliberately so in that I wanted to create something different to my Accipiter crew alot of whom were squesky clean shoe polishers by comparison. Also I wanted a really different captain from Vaughan (professor type character) so hit upon making McGregor a real rough neck. These guys are a bit more rough and ready and probably a lot more fun too. Certainly to write I find they can lead me in all sorts of directions and sorts of mischief - I try to resist it though.

As for McGregor ... quite a few liked him to begin but as the tale goes on he may drop from from favour. I wonder will that happen to you. Hopefully, by the end if that does happen I can win you back or at least make you understand the actions he takes. Thanks for the comment.

You must login (register) to review.