You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jan 2013 22:08 Title: Epilogue

wow. Just wow. That was an incredible story guys. Very well done, very engrossing, very depressing to the point of feeling sick...just wow. My heart was wrenching for Pava there at the end...I can see what you guys were talking about in that chat a few months ago.

I'm excited to get into reading the Vanguard stories now, and the FSA series. Amazing work guys...I wish I was half the writer y'all are.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind words, I'm pleased you enjoyed the story so much.

And yes, Pava is a bit of an attention whore, even when he doesn't want to be. ;-)

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Dec 2011 23:31 Title: Chapter Nine

OK, Pava clearly is in a bad place right now. I mean ... worse place. Never knew the guy had a death wish, but seeing what he's been through, here, and generally, I can understand.

And while I was never Ariel's greatest fan, I'm sorry to see her go out like this. The only consolation is that this happens years after her Farragut adventures and therefore, hopefully, we get to see her pop up again.

When are people gonna learn? When you want to live, stay far, far away from Gibraltar and her crew. Unless your name is Pava Lar'ragos. He's pretty much screwed either way.

Author's Response:

Pava's in a bad place, yes, but then again he has been for a while now.  He's at a turning point, but which direction will he choose to go? 

Thaniks for the review!

Reviewer: dnoth Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Apr 2011 21:10 Title: Chapter Eight

I really would like to see the Maquis get their new state. I'm sure it won't be easy (others will make sure of that), but I think it's a long time coming.

I really like not only the action here, but the politics as well.

...and Sandhurst finally made it to the bridge! ;)

Author's Response:

Sandy *did* finally make it to the bridge!  I'm glad the political angle came across here as well as the action...

Reviewer: TheLoneRedshirt Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 14 Apr 2011 09:07 Title: Chapter Eight

To say this chapter was intense would be a gross understatement! Great action sequence aside is the significant meeting between the Cardassians and the League of Sovereign Colonies. At least that seems to be going well.

Not so much for Pava and co. They were badly blind-sided on the Immolator - now they're hurt and bleeding, about to face a very ticked-off Galmesh and the Maquis survivors.

Glad to see T'Ser have a hand in taking revenge for the ambush on Amberjack. I think Captain Akinola would be very pleased.

Awesome!

Author's Response:

T'Ser will definitely get in some licks on behalf of the Border Service.  Lar'ragos, on the other hand, often doesn't know when to quit, even when he should. 

Reviewer: TheLoneRedshirt Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 26 Jan 2011 12:02 Title: Chapter Seven

I tip my hat to you, sir! You are the undisputed master of writing battle sequences. Very taut and fluid with just the right amount of cutting-edge technology mixed with dizzying maneuvers and seat-of-the pants tactics. Sandhurst's meeting with Kincaid, while a key element to the story, seems almost like an aside to the battle-dance between the Maquis and Federation ships. Nice cliff-hanger, too, as more Maquis ships head inbound. I'm pleased that T'Ser isn't finding her new billet boring. ;-)

Author's Response:

Many thanks!  Yeah, Sandhurst may have bit off a bit more than he was prepared to chew, under the circumstances.  He wouldn't be the first person to underestimate the Maquis.  And as for T'Ser, she may rest assured that a posting aboard Gibraltar might be many things... but boring won't be one of them.  ;-)

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Jan 2011 08:09 Title: Prologue

Another great chapter.

Just when it looked like Gibraltar had a handle on things more Maquis show up but it wouldnt be normal if everything went according to plan now would it.

Looking forward to the next installment.

Reviewer: dnoth Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Dec 2010 15:53 Title: Chapter Seven

Very, very nice.

The interaction with the special ops team was fun. I also really enjoy Sandhurst's tact at the negotiation table.

Peace is finally on the horizon for the Maquis. I hope they get it, for everyone's sake.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the comments, dnoth!  I agree with your assessment; there's a lot at stake here.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Dec 2010 08:12 Title: Chapter Seven

About time this gets another chapter.

The battle is afoot and for a brief moment it looked as if Gibraltar & friends would have an easy victory for once. Then the universe remembered the absurdity of such an idea and promptly changed the odds.

And look at Sandhurst flexing his rarely used diplomatic muscles. To everyone's surprise, the sly fox has already hammered out half of a deal to ensure an independent Maquis state. Now the question is, will the Federation play ball, too.

And then there is Pava and the SMT's. They were a bit heavy on the catch phrases and pre-mission rituals here for my tastes but you can't argue with their effectiveness.

Outstanding, as always.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, CeJay!  Yeah, the SMT's are full of machismo swagger, but that comes with the territory in their line of work.  As for Sandhurst, he's playing things pretty close to the vest here, but given that this is him... things could conceivably unravel and go sideways any second. 

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2009 20:06 Title: Chapter Six

LOL, I loved that line from T'Ser: "Paybacks are a bitch, and so am I."  After what I've seen of her toughness in CeJay's sory over at TrekBBS, I definitely have a much greater appreciation of what that means than before.

As for Sandhurst--this is interesting.  I am finding myself wondering how much of his behavior under these circumstances is sincere, and how much of it may be an effort to cultivate a false impression with Diaz.  If so, he's playing a very dangerous game, but one that could also pay off in a big way if it succeeds.

One of the things that (to my mind) made me think he was trying to cultivate an image of greater recklessness and amorality than he actually has is that he would claim there was no way a Cardassian representative would come to participate in these negotiations.  If there were the potential of anything that would permanently solve the Maquis problem in their territory, I would think they would take an interest in it.

The other thing that got me thinking is the image Galmesh had in his mind of Sandhurst--exaggerated to a degree off the real thing.  I am beginning to think Sandhurst is really aware of his reputation and the stories, and was playing it up deliberately.

Then again, I could be completely, 100% wrong.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2009 02:16 Title: Chapter Six

I'm tempted to say that Sandhurst might have missed his calling. The guy should have been a diplomat. I had no idea he was such a prudent negotiator. But I guess selling his Maquis-state plan to Kincaid and Diaz was just the easy part. Selling this to Command, the Federation and the Cardassians, now that's going to take some serious lobbying.

In the meantime we learn the full extent of Galmesh's surprisingly cunning plan. Or maybe not so surprisingly cunning considering that he's working hand in hand with a Romulan, of all people. Love the irony that she is his lover and enemy. That's poetic.

I didn't agree with T'Ser's call however to keep the Gallant back when Galmesh attacked. It felt a little bit like tempting fate. We're talking about Gibraltar after all, with this ship you never want to take any chances. I'm sure T'Ser will learn.

Terrific chapter but I do get frustrated that every other installment of yours includes a couple of words I've never heard before. A learning experience, I guess.

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jul 2009 10:15 Title: Prologue

Oh man. The Maquis have finally crossed the line. They blew up a Border Service cutter which Starfleet is out for blood. Sandhurst is hated by the Maquis making him a great choice to lead the task force. He's one of the few people they know won't mess around.

Captain Ebnal is quite the hardass too. Willing to take a Galaxy into the Badlands, risky but would definitely send a message.

As for Galmesh, I see Pava or Solly gutting him like a targ as a way of getting even.

And the Maquis are being relocated. They are lucky they get to take stuff with them. If it had been the Klingons they would of simply bombarded the planet and left no one alive most likely.

Overall, very nice read. Keep it up and want to see more soon.

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jun 2009 10:59 Title: Chapter Five

Very interesting--and man, I LIKED Gul Brelat! :-)  To me, it's very easy to see why his superiors chose him for the task of accompanying Starfleet at the dismantling of the colonies...his personal history makes him much more willing to exercise restraint than I think some guls would have had, and that even had force become necessary, he wouldn't necessarily have been cruel and unusual.  The fact that he was able to feel for the colonists--and yet I think he would also have used force if necessary--makes him just from that tiny snippet come across as a complex character and somebody I'd like to see more from.

Arakaki definitely got a lesson there in not judging people by the scales on their skin, I think...one that I suspect she'll carry with her.

It's also very interesting to see more of T'Ser's take on Sandhurst.  I am very hopeful that will become more substantial respect as she spends more time around him. :-)

As for the Sandhurst-Lar'ragos dynamic...still liking that.  You can definitely see that Sandhurst's resentment hasn't died.  Hard to gauge what Pava thinks, though...if he regrets his actions, or simply regrets being on the outs with Sandhurst.

As for Ariel...God, I hope that comment about getting dirty--and all of the things Pava warned her about...are foreshadowing.  Talk about somebody who has karma headed their way...boy, that makes her and Pava quite the pair.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Jun 2009 13:23 Title: Chapter Five

Ordinarily I would say that it looks like as if the Maquis are finished, their colonies dismantled, their very homes gone, their forces no match for Starfleet's resolve.

Ordinarily I might sit back and enjoy Gibraltar kicking some butt for once without the usual and painful sacrifices.

But this is Gibraltar, we're talking about. So no matter how good things look right now, I know it won’t last. Looks like Galmesh will make sure of that.

Excellent stuff though. I'm totally hooked.

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2009 23:08 Title: Chapter Four

Mwaaahahaha!  I love Ebnal's little rant at the end there!  And to think--the "governor" got it easy!  Just imagine if that had been one Surtak Speros handling the "evacuation" of the colony... ;-)

I still want to see Ariel get her ass kicked, and badly.  Someone seriously needs to wipe that smug grin off her face.

(Oh, and for a previous chapter--I have to say, I REALLY liked the interaction between Sandhurst and Lar'ragos...as someone that disliked Lar'ragos, somehow that coldness felt right.)

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 May 2009 13:14 Title: Chapter Four

I kinda like this guy too. Interesting, no shit character. That was a great chapter but I'm looking forward to a little more action. Fortunately, Gibraltar is involved so it won't be long in coming...

Reviewer: David Falkayn Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Apr 2009 05:16 Title: Prologue

A very well done part. The Maquis are going to find that they've stirred up a hornet's nest--this isn't the old Starfleet they're dealing with.

I liked how Berkhalter dealt with the Maquis "Governor". As for Diaz, I have a feeling that Ariel is going to eventually regret the way she treated Diaz--Sabrina is neither an easy forgiver or forgetter.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Apr 2009 16:37 Title: Chapter Four

Heck of a chapter! First of Sandhurst's speech probably had to be made but damn he certainly means business. This is definitely a battle hardened Sandhurst we are dealing with.


Great characters all round. From our leading cast, the pairing of a century in Pava and Ariel, to our antagonists and bit part bad guys. It's all so well crafted and executed.


I'll be damned if I know where you are going with this, but it's gonna be a thrill.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Apr 2009 12:51 Title: Chapter Four

Another fantastic chapter.

You gotta love seeing Starfleet going on the offensive for once. Not something you see every day. And these guys appear to be serious. God help the Maquis.

I really liked Diaz here unable to delude herself about the changed nature of the Maquis any longer. But still, it's hard to believe that she's lost all her loyalties to her former organization. We'll see.

As for Ebnal; he's something else alright.

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Apr 2009 13:40 Title: Prologue

I think Krysta is going to get bitten in the ass down the line for this. Will be interesting to see if the writer touches on this or I'm just reading more into it than I am...good material here!!!

Rob

Reviewer: David Falkayn Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Apr 2009 05:16 Title: Chapter Three

A riveting and painful battle sequences as the [i]Amberjack[/i] and her crew gave it everything they had. And yes, it might well have been a tactical error for Kincaid and Co. to take out that ship. The question arises though: Is Krysta making a tactical error as well by letting her feelings and emotions influence her actions? In some ways, she's Javert to Kincaid's Valjean.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2009 14:54 Title: Chapter Three

A rollicking chapter, with a lot going on.


First off, the Amberjack's fate was terrible with the crew facing horrible odds. her captain probably was over zelous in the first instance but what a way to go!


Sandhurst and Pava's reunion was one of those really awkard moments were a window would have been handy to either jump out or talk about the weather. Sandhurst used a cruel line against Pava, my hands fix things and yours break things. Quite a zinger. Cuts to the bone too in terms of their relationship. It will make things difficult for them to work together though Sandhurst probably deep down knows Pava is still someone to count on in a crunch situation like they are headed into.


Sandhurst's meeting with Kircheis is quite telling of his character and of the experiences he wants to spare the Gallant's captain. It speaks of the depth of his character and the complex history he has had.


Anyway, a fantastic chapter. With a lot of intrigue and motivations going on. Not sure they won't blow up in their face but that only makes for even more compelling reading.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2009 13:43 Title: Chapter Three

Another terrific chapter all around.

The battle between Amberjack and the Maquis was tightly written and exciting to read ... well at least until it was clear that they were all going to die. At that point it just became kinda heartbreaking.

But they will not have died in vain as now the 'gloves are coming off'.

Loved the Sandhurst/Pava encounter. Looks like Donald isn't quite ready to make nice with our favorite El Aurian but hopefully that's going to be a temporary rift.

Sandhurst meeting Kircheis was fascinating also. I'm growing quite fond of the young captain of the Gallant. Sandhurst shows an almost fatherly concern here as he already predicts another emotionally distressing enconter with the enemy. This guy needs a break like Ariel Elannis needs a celibacy pledge

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Apr 2009 12:48 Title: Chapter Three

OK, war is harsh-but the death of the Amberjack was especially vivid. This is coming along, with typically top-notch characterizations pulling the reader deeper and deeper. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 24 Mar 2009 15:12 Title: Prologue

A fantastic story so far and a lot of things to like.

Gibraltar gets to team up with some real muscle for a change. Something tells me it won't be quite enough to keep them out of real trouble.

Kincaid as a Maquis leader was a real surprise. Of all of Farragut's crew, he would have been the last I'd expected to join our favorite terrorist cell. But then again I never saw Eddington coming either.

And it looks like Gibraltar and company are going to get help from an old friend. I'm curious to see how Sandhurst will react to this unexpected reunion.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Mar 2009 11:54 Title: Chapter Two

This cracked me up:


"Denial.  It's not just the name of a runabout anymore."


The intrigue builds and the motivations for all aprties involved is becoming increasingly personal. Not a good thing in the end, despite Leone's opinion.

You must login (register) to review.