You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 04 Jul 2015 12:20 Title: Perseverance

Oh! This is intriguing (and very Multiverse II-ish)! We've got our crack A-Team.

Where to, first?

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Jul 2015 18:48 Title: Generosity

Well, with one day to go, I'm interested to see where you take this.  Will Mystery Man's identity be revealed?

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Jul 2015 11:02 Title: Generosity

Oh! /claps hands/

I LOVE Rayna Kapek. Seriously, I think she was a tragic character, and the way they got rid of her was all wrong. She was very real and had real feelings and to have her almost implode from them was, I felt (and still do) kinda lazy writing.

So, we are beginning to come together - I think - still lots of loose ends. Fascinated to see how you tie them all up!

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 03 Jul 2015 07:49 Title: Distance

Oh - clever almost Einsteinian use of time as distance! Time is scewed up and corkscrewing on itself, it seems ....

Great portraits of both characters!



Author's Response:

Thank you! This was probably my favorite of the bunch to write -- Jadzia's perspective on life, death, and time is one of the reasons she's actually here. She's one of the most well-adjusted characters in Trek history, IMO.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Jul 2015 21:02 Title: Distance

I liked the intro to this a lot -- time, distance ... both measurements of progress.  Jadzia's perspective on this is better than most, having had seven lifetimes to think about it.  Nicely done.

I laughed at her assessment of Julian, though.  The Julian she knew?  Superior in social skills?  I think he'd love to hear that from her lips.  She'd never give him the satisfaction, though ... or maybe she would, if she had the chance now.

"Good luck with One" also made me laugh.  He's a lover, not a fighter, but one does not simply kill a Borg drone made with 29th century tech.

As for Persis, her thoughts on the situation are chilling, as is Jadzia's agreement.  I hope they can fix this.  Well, actually, I hope One can fix this.  Aside from Dax, he's the only one around who seems sane.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I really liked writing Dax here -- despite being only somewhat familiar with DS9, Dax was among my favorite characters from that show, especially Jadzia. Writing her just flowed naturally for me. I'm glad you enjoyed the humor as well, I was trying to channel some of that wit of hers and seemed to do it.

As for sanity, Dax and One pretty much (up to this point) are the sanest of the bunch. Dax has died before, so that's not new for her and One is a Borg drone -- they adapt rather quickly to things. Persis' words were meant to be chilling, as the threat they face isn't small (more on that later). Even Dax has to agree that things aren't looking good.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jul 2015 15:38 Title: Melancholy

Oh, there's trouble there ....

What do you do when your fun times turn serious but you can't go back ...?



Author's Response:

For Castillo, there's definite trouble there. An idea brewing that just needs a bit of luck, a lot of opportunity, and gumption. We'll see if he ever gets to the point of pulling it off.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jul 2015 15:37 Title: Melancholy

Oh ... I know who he wants to find.  

I guess we'll see if the "try hard kid" is smart enough to do it.  He seemed to hit it off with One ... maybe he'll be able to enlist a helper?

In just a few short words, you really made me feel for the guy.  I have a feeling this is a terrible idea on his part, but so is waking the dead, so he's not alone in that.



Author's Response:

Yes, he wants to find her. Yes, he's kinda screwed up by it (who wouldn't be, as you so rightly state). Maybe One might help, but the timeline is a precious thing ... I think Castillo's on his own for now. Perhaps when our last player arrives, he'll get some help.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jul 2015 05:29 Title: Grace

Castillo! Oh, this is just such a lovely little moment. The players are still mysterious, but they seem to have great affection for each other.



Author's Response:

One is a friendly guy and Castillo needs a friend here -- the two have a bit of history by this point (oh, about two years I'd say) and they've shared some experiences.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jun 2015 20:42 Title: Grace

Awwwww.  It's so nice to see One again.  Looks like he's expanded his hobbies and is keeping his exoplating clean.  :)  I like that he still has his enthusiasm, too.  

Really sad, though, to recall Seven's last moments with him.  Interesting how there's a common thread tying together all our favorite drones ... they definitely tend toward the self-sacrificial.

As a total aside, this: 

You have miscalculated. Adjust conversation parameters. 

cracked me up hard, because I can so easily picture Year One-era Icheb thinking it. Ah, Borg social skills.  Leaving much to be desired since ... well, since species 1, I guess.



Author's Response:

One is indeed a bit more of an individual than we last saw him, and he was fun to write (although I think I missed on his characterization a tad). He's a good cook, actually -- Neelix's influence on him carries forward into the far future.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jun 2015 10:18 Title: Fairness

I had to look this one up because, Enterprise.  (If you read this, I'm sorry, jes!)  I actually did see the episode featuring Persis; I just didn't remember her name.  I can't really remember if the ep was well done or not, but I have always liked the concept of the augments.

Persis's situation here echoes Khan's in Space Seed or Into Darkness (AOS), of course, only she's been thrown even further forward in time.  You know I am ... not fond, we shall say, of ST:ID, but I do appreciate the depth they gave to Khan in some ways.  He wasn't just a psychopath convinced of his own superiority.  He had been used, and his brothers and sisters were in terrible danger.  He went a little (and by little I mean WTAF) off the rails in the end, but his early arguments had validity.  And I imagine that when he was awoken by Admiral Marcus/S31, his "choice" was a lot like the one Persis apparently had to make here.  

Given her hostility in this scene, it makes me wonder if we're in for more of the same from Persis.

(By the way, you can tell you've been on an X-Men kick.  The end of this scene would fit seamlessly into any one of those films.  That's a compliment, not a criticism, by the way.  It worked well.)



Author's Response:

Persis here is indeed thrown far into the future and has a lot to deal with; she's not going to go off the rails like Khan, but she definitely feels a sense of singleness that no one else can really sympathize with (yet) as an augment in the 33rd century.

And thank you for the compliment on the X-Men. I do like them so.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jun 2015 05:04 Title: Fairness

The minute you said her name, I knew she was and - eek - this is fascinating. So she was plucked from death, a moment before, perhaps? Intriguing and interesting!



Author's Response:

She is one of my favorite guest stars from ENT and someone I actually missed when she got killed off. Her role here is much different than how she was in her episodes and she's really a fish out of water (as we'll see).

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2015 15:07 Title: Wisdom

Oh, I like this.  I like this a lot.  A fascinating start to a story I'd totally read if you expand it and continue it.  Sci-fi intrigue!



Author's Response:

I have a full idea for this particular story in mind. Consider these ficlets a series of "test the water" stories. I have plans to expand on it fully, but I wanted to take this slowly. But it's really quite cool, if I can pull it off. More will be explained as we go along.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jun 2015 15:05 Title: Wisdom

Oh, this is an intriguing start. Looking forward to seeing how it all unfolds!



Author's Response:

I didn't want to give too much away, but I'm glad you liked it. I really took a few cues from you and the TIC here, so expect some nods coming your way in the future (PUN).

You must login (register) to review.