Reviews For Into The Night
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Enterprise1981 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2015 14:02 Title: Chapter 1

Seems like a good time for remembering a ghost story with this circle of friends about to separate and venture out into the unknown. And a vivid description of how Scotty remembers Scotland.



Author's Response: Thank you, Enterprise. What is it about people getting ready to separate that lends itself to telling scary stories around a campfire? And I think Scotty's love of Scotland was one of the key facets of his personality, and part of what made him the remarkable engineer he was.

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2015 02:44 Title: Chapter 1

I really like the atmosphere you created with this. Scotty's love of his homeland is obvious in TOS and I think you captured not only his fondness for Scotland, but you paint some quite evocative pictures of the place itself. I could almost hear the bagpipes! A really lovely Scotty character piece.



Author's Response: Thank you for reading, Zilley, and for the lovely review.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2015 05:40 Title: Chapter 1

A nice glimpse into Scotty's past and a good character you've created here with Connor. The campfire setting and ghost story is definitely reminiscent of the Original Series, which worked well. I wonder what they will get up to next!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Connor. He's a character I created for a Monthly challenge last year, and this is the first chance I've gotten to flesh him out. And what's not to like about a ghost story. Here's hoping I get the chance to finish this series and that it lives up to it's first entry.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 21:07 Title: Chapter 1

Ah, Scotty is always good for a story and an appropriate on, too. There's a lot of wisdom in what he said at the end. "We'll just have to make sure we do." But, that's never guaranteed in Starfleet.

A campfire story that, I feel, is going to be a bit of foreshadowing. Looking forward to more.



Author's Response: Unfortunately, that's never guaranteed anywhere. Many of my Peace Corps friends are scattered all over the country, and even though I talk to some of them regularly, I've resigned myself to it being quite awhile before I see any of them again. Thanks for reading and for the review.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 18:25 Title: Chapter 1

Oooh! A chilling first chapter of what will doubtless be a fascinating adventure. But is it foreshadowing for more?

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. I think it's safe to say there's some foreshadowing, and if I ever get the chance to finish these stories, we'll see what form that takes.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 18:02 Title: Chapter 1

Interesting piece.  It's hard for me to imagine Scotty as a storyteller.  This piece is very atmospheric, though; you can really feel the chilly fog creeping up your skin ... gave me goosebumps.  Great description.



Author's Response: Thank you, kes. If I'm remembering correctly, he was telling a story on one of the episodes in the Rec Room, and that's what made me think of him that way. I could be having a memory lapse though. Thanks for reading and for the review.

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 17:20 Title: Chapter 1

Ah, graduation. It's a pivotal time for anyone. Will their fellowship survive? Or will they just be half-remembered faces in a yearbook that's rarely opened up anymore?

I know, I know, stay tuned! :)



Author's Response: It does make one wonder, doesn't it? Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 May 2015 14:31 Title: Chapter 1

Very atmospheric. Very interesting. Very expectant and almost melancholic. I do wonder what/where/when this is happening. But it serves to hook me in. A brooding piece that I fear may end badly for some (if not all). Really well done as it creates/evokes a wonderfully rich atmosphere.



Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm finally getting back to Scotty and his friends. You'll find out what/where/when it's all happening, and why, in future installments. Thanks for reading, and for the lovely review.

You must login (register) to review.