You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Cowgirlcadet1701 Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Dec 2015 10:54 Title: Four Years Later

This is nice. And so sweet. And... wow. Just... wow.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 May 2015 23:40 Title: There But By the Grace ...

Wow, the sheer happy in these until you get to that haunting ending! I would have reviewed each, but I just completely got absorbed, and I am so ridiculously happy for this universe's version of Icheb and Maren. Really truly. Good on them, and hopefully the other two will find their way there, too.

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:41 Title: There But By the Grace ...

As much as I loved the happiness in this fic, I think it needed the balance of the darkness in this final chapter - so beautifully linked to the Prime 'verse. Lovely fic!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading, even though you were at a tremendous disadvantage not knowing these characters in their prime universe form. Most of my stuff is the opposite of this ... angsty and tragic, although there is humor and love laced in. This is the first time I've ever written anything as unabashedly sweet, and it was a favor of sorts to my regular readers, who probably have tragedy fatigue after six years of reading the prime universe storyline!  Anyway, thanks so much for the comments. I hope you'll check out some of my other work to see that I'm not always so sugary sweet.  ;-)

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:35 Title: Four Years Later

This fic is killing me with cuteness! And I'm glad you added a bit of science in there; Star Trek is often a little neglectful in dealing with the logistics of these kinds of biological situations...

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:31 Title: They Do

Yay! I have to admit that I expected something to spoil the occasion (as usually happens with fictional weddings). *dances happily*

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:28 Title: The Groom Awaits His Bride

Wow, you've really made the most of the small word allowance. So much description that I feel like I'm in the room!

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:23 Title: The Bet

Haha! This is humour perfectly played. Spot on characterisations too.

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:18 Title: Unity and Perfection

Wow, I really loved the detail about Beethoven's 8th sonata. Another really sweet, touching scene.

Reviewer: Zilley Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2015 03:13 Title: The Peak

Love the descriptions of their surroundings - this is a really lovely opener. Gives you the warm and fuzzies.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2015 13:46 Title: There But By the Grace ...

[gulp] Just when I thought you couldn't make this heart-breaking... You went and pulled the old log buoy through a singularity trick on me! So nice to see this happy Maren and Icheb, but so sad to see them discover how things are going in the Prime universe. This one really hit me where it hurt! Great stuff all around throughout these, truly a bittersweet masterpiece! As usual! :)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2015 08:01 Title: There But By the Grace ...

Oh my! That was such a clever and conceited little twist to pull at the end. Giving the happy couple a glimpse of the canon couple's life and miseries. The fact they can spot and identify the similarities is telling and as depressing as it may be for the happyverse to glean this insight, it should also prove uplifting and spin an optimistic slant for the folks of canonverse because this is so close to what they could be, so, so, so very close.

Again, it was a very clever plan. I like that it brought a bump to proceedings and tied back some to the canonverse but I also like that we didn't get a ruination of the happyverse, that the twist was not some horrible fate for one, both or all in happyverse.

It may not be too late for canonverse I/M. Likewise, there's a strong foundation here for happyverse to keep going onwards and forwards in happyland. A joyous little detour through Tesseractverse and quite illuminating to the possibilities.

Likewise, it serves as very stark statement from Maren's mouth when she summarizes what has happened and gone on in canonverse. A reminder of the challenges to be surmounted. A reminder that there is much to work out, fix and try to salvage.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2015 05:55 Title: There But By the Grace ...

This is why Empress Hoshi ordered counterpart logs to be destroyed. It screws with your head too much. Well done.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2015 03:05 Title: There But By the Grace ...

Nicely tied back in with the prime universe. A glimpse for the happy couple of what could have been. Now I wonder if the prime characters are ever allowed a look at what they could have been if perhaps the circumstances would have allowed for it. Or ... who knows, maybe it's no too late for them.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 20:34 Title: There But By the Grace ...

And a peek into the life that is and a satisfying conclusion to a happy set of ficlets that has warmed my heart and given faith to Team I/M that all that has been seen here can come to pass in the primeverse version of things. Well done -- thanks for all the happy. :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 09:05 Title: Four Years Later

YAY. This is everything Team I/M has ever wanted and more. The happiness, the joy, the pure win of it all. I hope one day this will be canon.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 05:36 Title: Four Years Later

Awww. It worked. Oh this is so very happy and blissful. I am encouraged and hopeful, things like this could happen for canon guys too (if they can knock sense into their heads that is for long enough). 

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 05:35 Title: Four Years Later

[snif] You had to do it didn't you? Not only give us this happy result of Maren and Icheb's relationship, but also set it aboard Tesseract so we can really see the difference between the storyline we've been reading and this one! :) Great job as usual, Icheb's thoughts are spot on and the joy is obvious for all. Can't wait to see how you're going to wrap this up.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 05:33 Title: They Do

Phew! I still thought maybe you were going to have the Borg invade or a Kazon assassin ready to take a potshot at Icheb before this was through... :) Just kidding, great job, a touching, beautiful ceremony, worthy of the love story you've created.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2015 05:22 Title: The Groom Awaits His Bride

Yay, yay, yay. You're not going to have a Borg invasion here, right? Tell me it ends well!!!! :) I love the little nods to your characters - Icheb's awareness of the precise time, Maren's use of the stellar patterns on the dresses, JQ's little quip about Icheb not having been to many Earth weddings. And how great to see him stood at Icheb's side despite how he must feel. And all of this wrapped up in your usual wonderful prose! Great job.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2015 15:26 Title: Four Years Later

Awwww and on it goes.

Waiting to see tomorrow's installment!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2015 15:58 Title: They Do

Sorry pollen allergies or something...

Aww, so sweet. I love that we get the perspective now from Maren, which allows some thoughts of a more emotional nature and about the practiclities of the marriage vows and ceremony. All very fititng and all very perfect. Really well done job that makes it all a very real romance story. To think there's a galaxy out there somewhere with warring Borg! Huh, would've have thunk.

E.T.A. with jespah about what the groomsmen are wearing! LOL

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2015 15:54 Title: The Groom Awaits His Bride

I love this. First, all the details of the persons involved, the whole entire exended family and the entire involvement of others in the planning and details of the wedding. Well it makes sense, since those two probably wanted no such thing but wanted their extended families to be happy (esp given that there would be some unease at the potential unhappiness and troubles they'd endure as a married couple for lots of reasons never mind Icheb's drone past. I think it conveyed very much the big family wedding vibe. 

There's lots going on and in the midst of all that, Icheb and Maren, two soul mates who find and love one another do it anew on the aisle, and everything else falls away for them.

 Also, the humour is perefect in this but not over egged and it is not over sentimental or romantic. Just they way it is.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2015 08:39 Title: They Do

Oh, yay!

But why are the groomsmen all wearing leiderhosen??? 

HMMMM?????



Author's Response:

Because I only had 500 words to play with, and let's face it, no one cares what the guys are wearing. :)

The real answer is that all four Starfleet guys are in dress uniform while Seth is in a nice 24th century tux. 

Reviewer: trekfan Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2015 08:12 Title: They Do

*wet eyes* Allergies, I swear. Really. *wipes them*

Maren's description of her dress and herself painted a beautiful picture, which probably doesn't do it real justice but it was well-done nonetheless. The whole thing felt real, from beginning to end, and the two really do deserve such happiness.

Fantastically rendered scene.

Reviewer: jespah Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2015 05:06 Title: The Groom Awaits His Bride

I remember this moment from my own wedding (as I imagine you do, as well). It's a surreal moment. You're also looking at the world through veil netting, or at least I was. So everything is even more smoky and odd. It is right about that time that skeptics believe in magic.

I do believe Icheb and Maren do.

You must login (register) to review.