You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: mabb5 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 23 Apr 2011 09:37 Title: Introduction

Very well done, believable novel. Well plotted action. All of the well known characters are in character. Their voices ring "true". Original characters well written as well.

Author's Response: I am truly honored and thank you so much for the review! The highest compliment one can receive in fanfic is that the canon characters adhere to their creators' writing and performances. I also simply want to thank you for taking the time to read this and the follow-up scene. Welcome to Ad Astra!

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jul 2009 19:14 Title: Introduction

Very nice story. I always like reading about new ships and ones dedicated to war are always cool.

Not a big fan of Thomas Riker but the way you wrote him made me like up to a point.

Look forward to reading more of your stuff one day.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 18:15 Title: ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

I neglected to add a rating earlier...

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 18:13 Title: EPILOGUE

Not a happy ending, to be sure, but there's the glimmer of hope here. 

This has been a phenomenal book, with vivid characters, nail-biting cliffhangers, drama, interpersonal revelations, and our heroes trying desperately to hang on to their humanity amidst a tide of savagery.

A compelling story and a worthy addition to your stable of existing works. 

Kudos.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 17:39 Title: Chapter Ten - Part Four

Yeah... I've got to say, Will and Deanna's hand-wringing about the morality of what Tom and Toni inflicted upon Nekrit rings a bit hollow.  I understand they've got their developed 24th century morality, but given the scope and depravity of Nekrit's crimes, I'd as soon spit on her grave than spend a second pitying her for her fate.

But that's just me.

It's a testament to your story and the character of Nekrit that she's evoking such an emotional response from me.



Author's Response: Thanks Gibraltar! I totally understand about that ringing hollow feeling. I kind of hoped it would feel that way actually. I didn't see Riker and Troi as feeling pity for Nekrit as much as I figured they would both be feeling horror and worry over their counterparts (Riker for Toni and Troi for Tom.) One thing I couldn't do with their characters that I could with Picard - was have them cross that "UFP line." Picard HAD suffered torture and HAD felt the pain - it was within his character to allow himself to feel that hatred and anger and to wish his torturer the same pain. But since Troi and Riker hadn't actually been victimized by it - they'd never really "get it." They can empathize with their friends but they can't really sympathize. It's easier for them to grab onto the "ways of the UFP" when for Picard - it's not. He might actually feel some sort of jealousy that Tom and Toni got the dig in on their tormentor when he did not. I can't thank you enough for reading this. It's going through a really good edit phase now. A few tweaks, but nothing too big, have been made and it will be my offering for this year's 12 Trek Days. :) I know it's not a happy tale...and I'm not exactly sure why I felt the need to tell it, I just did. Glad it made some sort of impact. t

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 15:54 Title: Chapter Ten - Part Three

No victors to be found here, only victims.  A confused melee that results in dark justice for Nekrit, and soul rending pain for Tom and Toni. 

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 11:45 Title: Chapter Ten - Part Two

Ha!  The Cardassians managed to blow themselves up... heh.  Now, Riker and Admiral Noyes are in deep, maybe as deep as Tom. 

I have to admit, the ambush was well executed by the Cardies.  Here's hoping a little payback is in order.

The Jaguar is a hellacious fighting ship.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 15 Jun 2009 10:14 Title: Chapter Ten - Part One

The tension is ratcheting up nicely here, with Tom's abortive attempt to gain an advantage over Nektrit and her cronies, as well as the beginning of what is sure to be a ballet of starship violence before too long.

I really liked the physical tics and gestures used as coded communication to throw off the Cardassians.  Those Cat guys are da bomb!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jun 2009 22:22 Title: Chapter Nine

Things are quickly coming to a head.  One wonders if Jellico will pre-emptively open fire on the Cardassians, and whether Tom can overpower Kaest in time to get the upper hand over Nekrit.  The proverbial s**t has indeed hit the fan, and I'm eagerly anticipating the conclusion!

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Jun 2009 01:49 Title: Chapter Eight - Part One

The two of them made that escape look easy, but the fact that they had to overcome Data's speed and superhuman reflexes made it anything but.  I still can't tell which side of this equation Kaest is on, whether he's actually trying to help Tom kill Nekrit, or if this is simply an elaborate ruse to lure Tom to his death.

What a tangled, tangled web you've woven here.  :)

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jun 2009 04:18 Title: Chapter Seven - Part Four

So, Nekrit's plan is coming closer to fruition.  She's wickedly smart, chillingly cruel, and a savvy tactician.  Here's hoping our heroes will be on their toes when the time comes.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jun 2009 17:46 Title: Chapter Seven - Part Three

Data's on the case!  One wonders if Dr. Kaest is another of Nekrit's victims, or perhaps he's the traitor himself.  So many questions, so very few answers of yet... you're spinning quite the mystery here.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jun 2009 15:34 Title: Chapter Seven - Part Two

Geez.  Betrayal, from someone within Starfleet, no less.  One wonders at the motivations of such a person.

One thing is for certain, this mission just got more dangerous and complex be a factor of ten... yeah, they really needed that.

Terrific stuff, and highly addictive.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 04:34 Title: Chapter Seven - Part One

I can't imagine how much time and counseling it will take for Tom Riker to become whole again.  The scars on the outside of his body (prior to removal) pale in comparison to the ones he'll carry forever in his soul after Nekrit's depradations. 

Jellico's being is typical dickish self, despite repeated warnings and Tom's obvious infirmity.  It appears your take on his character is very similar to my own. ;)

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jun 2009 01:44 Title: Chapter Six - Part Three

Things are clearly coming to a boil.  If the Cardassians do attack the Enterprise, they'll not only be violating the Federation border, but they're likely to renew armed conflict with Starfleet.

I hope Tom Riker's worth it for them...

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 15:32 Title: Chapter Six - Part Two

They've obviously got something planned, but the three captains are playing it close to their vests.  And Jellico's still along for the ride... goody.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 15:23 Title: Chapter Six - Part One

At least Tom has been assigned competent representation.  Methinks this is the calm before the proverbial storm.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 15:14 Title: Chapter Five - Part Three

Wow, I'm thinking Tom got the better part of that exchange, all things being equal.  How horrific, now for the both of them.  Any chance this Nekrit person is still round, 'cause I've got someone who'd just *love* to meet her. 

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 14:55 Title: Chapter Five - Part Two

It appears there was some memory transference during Tom's brief connection with Captain Steele. 

And I know they want to make it look like he died, but is it really necessary to put someone in that kind of delicate psychological state in the ship's morgue?

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 14:39 Title: Chapter Five - Part One

I had to figure this would conjur up old, painful memories for Picard.  Riker's been through what Picard experienced, only a hundred-fold times worse... perhaps more.  What if any sanity remains must be so terribly tenuous.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 12:28 Title: Chapter Four - Part Three

Well, whenever Jellico speaks, I can only think, 'Set phasers to... dick.'  I would have got a thrill seeing Picard throttle the guy, but he and the other officers present did a good job of talking Jellico down.

The sickbay scene was nicely handled, and gives the reader great insights into how Steele handles her ship and crew.  As for Riker now that Steele and Troi have been talking... yeah... he's up a smelly creek with no means of manual locomotion.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 11:44 Title: Chapter Four- Part Two

That was gruesome.  It appears he's just arrived in their custody, and already the attempts on his life have begun.  First the wouldn't let him die, and now it seems more than one faction is determined that he shall not live.

It's good to be popular, right?  ;)  That was a nerve-wracking, nail-biting scene, and I was impressed by Captain Steele's heroics.

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 11:28 Title: Chapter Four - Part One

It appears I was correct.  Damn, this just got really, really ugly and complicated.

Just the way I like it. ;)

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 11:17 Title: Interlude III

Four lights, perhaps?  Sounds as if someone's had a lot of interrogating on the part of the Cardassians.  I'm still thinking this is Tom Riker, but who knows...?

Reviewer: Gibraltar Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2009 11:15 Title: Chapter Three - Part Two

The plot thickens, and we get some additional insights into Captain Steele's personality and outlook.  She and Picard continue bonding nicely, and the scene where Beverly gets her jealousy comments thrown right back in her face when she spies Picard and Steele together was priceless!

You must login (register) to review.