You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: that one chick Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Mar 2015 20:27 Title: Chapter Three

Ha! I like Govan. Sounds like Dominic's got a real headache on his hands... This part, though:

"My grandmother couldn't stay retired. I should tell her she's a quitter," Dominic groused.

Just about had me in stitches lol, imagining the dent in the floor from where his grandmother's jaw hit it if he said that to her!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 01:58 Title: Chapter Ten

All is well that ends well. Looks like everybody wins here, Betazed who get the resources they need from Starfleet for their continued defense and security as well as man-power via the Rhiannsu, the displaced Rhiannsu finally get their home world and the Federation has one less disgruntled member world.

With Krystine's condition the way it is, things were a bit touchy there for a while. But her newfound stability might be just a temporary solution, she may still have to deal with her loss in other ways.

Great story.

Reviewer: that one chick Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 20:16 Title: Chapter Two

Hmm... Seems like if she can't get her head in the right place, Leone is going to have a heck of a time getting this mission pulled off. She's facing emotional turmoil from within and a sense of hesitation from her "new" crew members. It's going to be interesting to see where all this ends up!

Also, I'm super jealous that Abbie could power through dinner like that. My first pregnancy was wretched (I had HG--Hyperemesis Gravidarum--lost 13 lbs); with my second, my son rode so high up I'd be ravenously hungry only to get full after four bites lol.

Reviewer: that one chick Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 19:54 Title: Chapter One

Oh holy cheese! I was all set to offer my review from my feelings on Leone's mom (... Um... Um... Yeahhhh...) and how glad I am that Charity was staying with her (Charity seems like good people), then you DROP this bomb on us at the end of the chapter??? And by a Vulcan, too, so it's all the more shocking for its starkness??? Oy! I'm floored! *hustles over to Chapter 2*

Reviewer: that one chick Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2015 05:02 Title: Prologue

After forgetting my penname, resetting my password, searching for the story url to read it in Safari instead of my gmail app from which my husband sent me the link, I am FINALLY getting around to reviewing this story! And while I am as disconnected to StarTrek as one can be when married to a man who writes fanfic about it, I am interested to see what happens next. Cheers to starting a new adventure!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 11:25 Title: Chapter Ten

Yay! When the moment came the character saw how to find a peaceable solution and reassure the Betazoids, while finding a way to tackle the Rihannsu new world question.

I do like how the Admiral Leone proposals seem a more, well thought-out and her emotional distress controlled, to give the Betazoids something meaningful to offer to aid with their defense.

The characters and their various reaction to the same problems give your trek verse meaningful depth.

That was an enjoyable story and I will need to go back and get up to speed with Full Speed ahead series.

Well Done.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 10:57 Title: Chapter Nine

Well double wins, Dominic has shown he not a pawn and found a level of peace with his senior family. While Andrus has being given the extra things to help Betazed feel more secure.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 10:46 Title: Chapter Eight

Well the key confrontations have now happened, it time to see the fall out.
Still I think both Captain Abbie and Admiral Owen were written well and their argument were well thought out as was the response.

Another fine chapter.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 10:33 Title: Chapter Seven

Tempers are getting hot and personnel and professionals needs are clearly starting to clash and coloring judgment.
Abbie and Andrus closing discussion shows the size of the problem.

Nice chapter.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 10:07 Title: Chapter Six

Good job with the combat scene, had a sense of realism and the frustration of the pirates getting away as they rescue the freighter crew. Good way to show the lawlessness that now affects the sector.

Teelis advice to Dominic shows he only dodge one bullet there are more coming from his grandmother.

Good Job.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 09:48 Title: Chapter Five

Excellent chapter good to see the family arguments come to the surface and the news channel showing the risk and debates going on in Federation circles about the new Athens issue.

A joy to read, especially the senior officer’s reaction to the delta quadrant assignment and the real reason Angelina was trying to reassign Dominic.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 09:31 Title: Chapter Four

An interesting meal scene and the interplay between the characters feel right.
Was interesting to see what Teelis advice was to Dominic and then his own decision about the way forward.

Going to be interesting to see happens when they reach Betazed and how Dominic future plays out.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 09:16 Title: Chapter Three

Poor Dominic the last thing he wants or needs is his grandmother meddling in his career. Nicely done with the way he options from his friends all lead back to Teelis.
Nice scene with Abbie realizing that Admiral Leone isn’t still over the death of her friend.

Still Govan laying out Dominic options was a poetic ending to this chapter.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 08:26 Title: Chapter Two

Again another fine chapter, with clear flowing prose and great world-building.
The scenes with Abbie and Greg over the evening meal help to show the gang historical relationship and the fact they need to face the changing world.

Then Andrus and Leone scene, shows the Admirals pain and Andrus hidden angry about Betazed lack of defense from Starfleet in the war and the afterwards, give us an idea of what sort of grief is waiting for them.

I did enjoy Andrus views on her words and thoughts not being in unison for the majority of the conversation and that was a haunting final line.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 08:02 Title: Chapter One

Well that was a wonderful opening chapter that was easy to read and get into.
The way each member of the family has to accept the changes in their professional life. I did enjoy Dominic and Teelis conversation as in a few words you explain much about them to a newbie.
While Leone conversations with both Charity and Sitak help to bring out the character.

All in all I looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 01 Feb 2015 07:36 Title: Prologue

Interesting prologue, not being overly familiar with full speed ahead it took me a while to understand the characters relationships, but I think this Prologue show the changing situation and the inter-family and friend relationship are sometimes best shown at a wedding.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 11:05 Title: Chapter Four

Well, the Leone family circus continues. You have to feel for Dom, being caught up in this is tug-of-war between his grandmother and his own life (and now introducing his mother into the equation). Meanwhile, Admiral Leone out in space is barely keeping it together -- understandable, but definitely not good. Really liked the thoughts expressed by Abbie and Andrus here, the conversation was well-paced and frank (Andrus is quickly becoming a favorite character). Will Abbie intervene and will it have the desired effect?

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 03:35 Title: Chapter Nine

Things are on the up and up. Dom gets his way, mostly thanks to his tireless efforts to get friends and allies to his way of thinking, while his mother also seems to have cut an important corner, finally understanding the importance of the Betazed problem and able to do something about it.

Looks like this mission has turned from a potential disaster in the making to quite possibly a resounding success.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Jan 2015 03:31 Title: Chapter Eight

Here comes the straight-talk express, and Abbie won't hold back, won't even let rank stop her. You gotta admire that. No wonder they made her a starship captain.

But this is not a good chapter to be an admiral called Leone. Angelina gets some unsolicited advise dropped on her as well which seems to signal that her campaign to keep her only heir out of harm's way is doomed.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Jan 2015 12:37 Title: Chapter Three

Man, the Leone family is a mess and Dom's getting caught all up in it. If it isn't one admiral issuing poor orders, it's another who's grieving and doesn't seem ready for duty. The family dynamics continue to be a source of great drama here. Good stuff.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 16:57 Title: Chapter Seven

Dominic is gaining more allies in his fight against his own grandmother. And it looks like he's going to all the right places to get the intel he will need to win this battle.

Krystine in the meantime seems to be losing hers. Not to mention allies. Perhaps Abbie can turn the tide here before their mission to Betazed comes to an end before it has even truly begun.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 16:54 Title: Chapter Six

That was an awesome awkward moment for all involved when Krystine Leone, the former starship captain, came striding onto the bridge and giving orders as if it was her own ship. For a moment there I thought I could here the sound of crickets. Fortunately the true master of the ship showed up in time to avoid the situation becoming completely uncomfortable.

Looks as if Betazed has about 99 problems, no wonder they're not a happy bunch. Now we've got piracy as well? Deep within Federation territory no less. That's not going to go over well.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Jan 2015 16:48 Title: Chapter Five

Admiral Angelina Leone is on the war path and it seems nothing can stop her to get her way ... that is until she runs into her daughter. Good for Krystine to stand up to her overbearing mother. She needed that. Both of them. Let's hope its a sign that things are going to change, because as far as Krystine is concerned, something has to, and quickly.

Even though her continuous obsession with that ubiquitous chess piece is probably not a good sign.

And now the reason for Angelina's odd order is made clear and it would appear she only ever had her grandson's best intentions at heart. Still, not a good enough reason to meddle in his affairs, especially since she refused to give him a choice in the matter.

Also some interesting discussions on the fate of the Romulan expat movement within the Federation. One can hardly be surprised that some voices would be careful about a prospect of granting them their own planet. Romulans have a well deserved reputation of being deceitful.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jan 2015 17:54 Title: Chapter Four

Krystine Leone needs some serious counseling. It seems fittingly ironic then that she is on her way to Betazed. Too bad that she needs up work through her issues long before she gets there if she wants to avoid a disaster of a diplomatic mission.

Dominic in the meantime is not going down without a fight and is clearly determined to purse every avenue at his disposal to fight his grandmothers unwelcome meddling in his career. Good thing mommy dearest has her mother's boss on speed dial. Not sure if i mentioned that yet, but there sure are a lot of admirals in this story.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Jan 2015 17:45 Title: Chapter Three

I had an inkling that the newly reinstated elder Leone would cause some trouble for somebody in her family. If not for Krystine then for her son. I have a good guess as to the reason why she issued Dominic's transfer orders and it's not a good one at all. She has no business getting involved in her grandson's career in this manner but then of course she is a proud woman and one who seems fiercely protective of her family.

I like Dominic's defiance here. It takes courage to tell an admiral, in her face, that he has no intention of following her orders, doubly so if the admiral in question is your own grandmother.

Dominic seems to have one thing going for him. He has a lot of good friends and sometimes that's all you need.

You must login (register) to review.