You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2015 02:23 Title: Chapter 16

Herrera is experiencing the classic symptoms of self-doubt haunting many first time captains. It's not an easy job, especially when you are thrust into a show off with the Klingons and with hundreds of lives hanging in the balance. She'll get the hang of things soon enough, I'm sure.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2015 02:20 Title: Chapter 15

Meanwhile, back at Overwatch, some good news are finally trickling in and Gessi gets a weight taken off his shoulders. Even if it isn't the entire weight just yet and not enough for restful sleep.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2015 02:18 Title: Chapter 14

So the stranded crew is rescued but after a tough battle it appears that they are not quite out of the woods yet. Especially not that the Klingons, especially, Kroless, is more enraged then ever. He'll soon have to fight two battles it seems. One against Shaandra and the other over keeping his illicitly gained command.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Mar 2015 03:46 Title: Chapter 13

Saaris is finally out of her coma, mostly thanks to the unconventional support by the good doctor. And it turns out that the cold Vulcan might in fact harbor some feelings for Schaffer after all. When she isn't suppressing them, that is.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Feb 2015 02:07 Title: Chapter 12

So we finally learn the truth of what was eating Xern all along. That's a tough break for sure and should garner him at least a bit of slack for his mostly unacceptable behavior. And what about Cramer? Damn, that woman puts even old McCoy to shame with her stubborn and hard-headedness.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2015 07:25 Title: Chapter 11

Like this crew hasn't suffered enough, now the wild life is trying to finish off what the Klingons have started. With threats above and below, these guys really need to get out of there in the worst possible way.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Jan 2015 17:50 Title: Chapter 10

So far I've dismissed Xern as nothing more than a guy with a seriously bad attitude in serious need of adjustment. But now I wonder if there might be more to that after all.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Jan 2015 09:44 Title: Chapter 9

Nerves among the crew of the former starship Evergreen are understandably frayed, none more so than Doctor Schaffer's who seems to be unable to seperat his personal feelings for his patient with his professional detachment as a physican. Perhaps a morale boosting speech by the admiral is just what's needed here.

In the meantime T'kinta continues to play a dangerous game over dominance of her vessel. It will quite clearly end with either her or her commander killed in a bloody duel of some sort.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Nov 2014 14:17 Title: Chapter 8

Gessi's job doesn't not seem to be getting any easier, especially now that the Orions seemed to have moved into the neighborhood. As if the Klingons weren't enough. At least the news about SCE potentially showing up and finally finishing the starbase is welcome news.

In the meantime Cramer's got herself a spy on Gessi. Too bad the commander isn't smoother with the ladies.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Nov 2014 16:33 Title: Chapter 7

That beginning threw me for a moment she I started to wonder if something supernatural might be at work here. The. I realized it had to be in her head.

Now the survivors are without a captain or a first officer to lead them, with no hope of being rescued quickly, roaming sky whales (very cool) and possibly more dangerous predators around. Add to that no real source of food and we've got a real sticky situation.

Good thing N'reinn is stepping up in a big way here.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2014 08:09 Title: Chapter 6

I can't blame Herrera either for pushing the engines in such a crucial point. But it was a gamble and one she's lost. It's okay to feel bad about that. I will blame her however for not wearing a miniskirt!

Evergreen's destruction was only a matter of time and no help was going to arrive in time to prevent it, engine trouble or otherwise. Now the question is, how many of her crew survived? Did the admiral make it? Did the captain go down with the ship?

As for Klingons, it looks as if perhaps Herrera will have a chance to redeem herself if it comes to a battle. That's if T'kinta doesn't behead Kroless first.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Oct 2014 09:25 Title: Chapter 5

Cramer plays the role of the typically concerned Starfleet doctor perfectly even if she is just about as successful as doctors usually are when having to face off with command officers who are clearly exhausting themselves.

Not that Gessi and most of the crew have much of an option. Cramer is right, Starfleet dropped the ball on this one. Too bad they don't have a union, I'm sure they'd have a word or two about these working hours.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the reviews. I really wanted to show Starfleet, and (some) of the officers in a 'not so perfect' light. While the relationship between Cramer and Gessi is more of a Trek trope, I thought it worked in this instance.

The Starfleet Union? Heh, that would be interesting.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Oct 2014 09:22 Title: Chapter 4

Interesting look at the Klingons here. If there is any hope for the Evergreen it's unlikely to come from the cavalry which is simply too far away but perhaps by the internal conflict and power struggle on the Klingon vessel. The crew dynamic is clearly broken after a successful mutiny and perhaps a second one is inevitable.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Oct 2014 12:37 Title: Chapter 3

Doesn't look good for Evergreen. The Klingons are closing in and eventually they will run out of luck and/or tricks to avoid them. And I don't like their chances in hand-to-hand combat. What they need now is a miracle. And fast.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Oct 2014 11:23 Title: Chapter 2

Evergreen better have a few tricks up her sleeve as help is a long time away.

And Xern is a remarkable dense security officer. I suppose as long as he thinks his job is safe, he'll act however he wants to. If Evergreen comes out of this unscathed, he may find himself out of a job.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Oct 2014 15:34 Title: Chapter 1

Alot of people out of their element in this story but probably nobody more so than Captain Macadams who leans heavily on suggestions from his crew when faced with a possibly hostile,situation. It's not exactly confidence inspiring.

Author's Response: I wanted to mix things up a bit. Not everyone is Kirk and the crew of the Enterprise and not everyone is on a cruiser, or even a ship that's even capable of any real sort of combat.

You must login (register) to review.