You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 21:10 Title: Changing of the Guard

Great window into Kira's thoughts.  Despite the last line I get the feeling that she believes she is just marking time, keeping the seat warm if you will, until Sisko returns to assume command once again.



Author's Response: Yeah, something like that. But she feels more at home with this role than at the end of Season 6.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 15:23 Title: Changing of the Guard

Oh that baseball...one my favorite images in DS9, and a great big "screw you" to Dukat. I love the hope that it brings even now that Sisko will eventually return.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 15:13 Title: Changing of the Guard

Leaving the baseball behind to signal that he would be back, though when was an unknown, and in the meantime...she's in command.

Very interesting story. Nice work.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 02:11 Title: Changing of the Guard

Those are some big shoes to fill all around. That final episode of DS9 left me feeling fairly sad and you've captured those moments perfectly. I like how you drew comparisons to all of the times Sisko was absent from the station and how the baseball played into it.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 20:01 Title: Changing of the Guard

A natural progression.  Nice little character scene here.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:56 Title: Changing of the Guard

She's ready for this and she realizes it, I think. I like the way you let her reflect on things.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 18:55 Title: Changing of the Guard

Interesting Mini Scene with Kira. Nice look at Kira command and the symbol of the baseball.
Well done.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 16:50 Title: Changing of the Guard

A nice scene through Kira's eyes of the end of DS9. Nicely done.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 15:41 Title: Changing of the Guard

Ah, Kira is in command of DS9. I always wanted to see her get her own command.

Thanks for sharing this.

Can't wait to see what you come up with for Day 7.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 15:28 Title: Changing of the Guard

Big shoes to fill in but Sisko will return. And Nerys' realisation is nailed on. Big shoes indeed.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 14:46 Title: Changing of the Guard

Love the harking back to canon and Sisko's bold statement with the leaving behind of the baseball. It is also intrincially linked to his manner of trying to convince and reach the Prophets. By leaving it behind, he wasn't just saying 'I'll be back' Sisko was also declaring his loyalty to Bajor and it served as him shifting from being Earth bound to Bajor bound. So it's an important prop (I remember reading a fanfic once that posited that the baseball had been replaced by a Changeling -shudders- scary possibilities) and Kira understands that and now seems willing and able to grasp her own position on the Station. Very good.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 14:41 Title: Changing of the Guard

The baseball is a particularly deft touch. Characters are often defined by their behaviors, and this one works perfectly.

You must login (register) to review.