Reviews For Down Time
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: L A Moody Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Oct 2014 13:46 Title: Chapter 1

I've read this previously, but it just showed itself again on my FB feed. A little reminiscent of Charles and me playing, him "claiming" it was the rule that I must jump his man lol. Excellent character dialogue, as usual.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the read! Yes, that story definitely grew out of my near-daily competitions with the above-named Charles E. Checkermaster. According to my research, the must-jump rule is valid. Very different from chess. You can bet that Spock later researched that. 

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 20:48 Title: Chapter 1

LOL!  I would've expected Spock to consult the data base on the rules, since it seems Kirk was doing such a bad job explaining them.  But I sure hope Spock wins - otherwise he'll have to play McCoy next, and that's sure to be even more of a disaster. ;-)



Author's Response:

Thanks, I'm glad it gave you a laugh! Spock would certainly have consulted the data base, but Kirk sprang the game on him with no warning. I hope McCoy gets his own win out of Spock, cause by tomorrow the Vulcan will be beating them severely.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:49 Title: Chapter 1

Oh, poor Spock. Tasked with playing a game that isn't nearly as complicated as chess and gives the advantage to Kirk/McCoy. Fun scene.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the read! Yes, Spock is out of his element tonight, but I bet you that by tomorrow he'll have that game all worked out.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 19:21 Title: Chapter 1

Haha.  McCoy claiming the next game with Spock just for a chance to win is hilarious.



Author's Response:

Thanks! You hit the nail right on the head. I had a lot of fun writing it.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 00:33 Title: Chapter 1

This left me with a big smile. I love that the two are playing checkers, instead of chess and that McCoy is there to watch them. Love it!

Author's Response:

Glad it made you smile! I sure enjoyed writing this humorous piece. McCoy probably knew ahead of time that Kirk was springing an unfamilar game on Spock, and the good doctor is gleefully awaiting his own turn at the Vulcan.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:42 Title: Chapter 1

first class piece involving the Trinity. McCoy had the last laugh, so to speak, at the end, very nice.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the kind remarks! Yes, and McCoy will have his shot at whipping Spock before the Vulcan has an opportunity to research the game.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:20 Title: Chapter 1

I could see Spock and Kirk playing checkers. Nice to see them have a little time to rest and have some relaxation.

I await to see what you come up with next.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the read and the comments! Clearly Kirk just sprang the game on the unsuspecting Vulcan, otherwise Spock would have researched it beforehand. McCoy will take full advantage and cream the Vulcan while he still has a chance. By tomorrow, it will be too late.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:16 Title: Chapter 1

LOL! That's just bloody fantastic. A terrific chuckle and belly laugh. So wish I could see this onscreen. Fantastic.



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed it! This story had been kicking around in the back of my mind for some time--an offshoot of daily checker games with my husband. I preferred chess. I had thought the game of checkers was stupid until I started playing.  It WOULD be so much fun to see this and other Ad Astra stories onscreen. I love visual images--that's why I've learned how to add cover pictures to my stories. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 14:58 Title: Chapter 1

Big Smile here after reading that.
Yes it normally Kirk and McCoy for checkers so was interesting to see Kirk in a hurry to beat Spock and Spock logic response to Kirk over excited statement. Nice to have McCoy at the end having the sense to want play the loser not the winner.
Good tale.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! McCoy was hoping that he could whip the pants off Spock before the Vulcan catches onto the game. Meanwhile, he was showing a great deal of restraint by not laughing out loud at those two. Glad it gave you a Big Smile! I got a lot of chuckles writing it. 

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 13:32 Title: Chapter 1

Leave it to Spock to take the whole thing so damned literally.



Author's Response:

Right on. No wonder Jim felt like smacking him. Thanks for the comment!

You must login (register) to review.