You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 20:25 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Don't know much about DS9, but thoroughly enjoyed this well-written piece.



Author's Response: Thanks. Even so, this piece still makes for good foreshadowing for how the end of the series played out.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 12:52 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

My Deep Space Nine is very rusty, but this was nicely written and conveyed a definite sense of intrigue.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:30 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

most interesting. Tightly written piece and showcasing Bashir well. Good ol' JB.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 12:45 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Awesome little Bashir piece. True to character, you did a great job with it! The murky waters of off-the-record agencies came through well. I wonder who would win if Section 31, the Tal Shiar, and the Obsidian Order were pitted against each other?

Author's Response: Suffice to say, it would get really messy and there would plenty of hurt feelings at the end. :)

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 02:00 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Oh Julian. Wow, very nice look into his thoughts, especially after this crazy episode. Easy to see why he'd fault himself for playing into the game. Section 31 is just...crazy, to think that Starfleet WOULD have a division similar to the Tal Shiar. And sad, too. But, this also lays a good ground work for why he would take the helm at fully exposing and stopping Sloan later on in the series, especially when Odo's life was in danger.

Author's Response: The whole Section 31 arc, I thought, made for a good driving force of Bashir's character as something that's completely thrown his idealism for a loop. And it's made him even more determined to fight for his idealism even if he does hit a few bumps in the road from Romulan political intrigue to trying to cure Odo.

Reviewer: TPhoenix Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 18:09 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

I have to say, I've always liked the concept of Section 31 as villains. The idea of trying to fight a foe as deeply entrenched and manipulative- it's almost like fighting them *and* the Founders.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 17:05 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Do like that final paragraph and sentence it show the difficult of Bashir war with Section 31.
Well done.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:56 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

I like the last lines of this a lot -- adds a dimension that should have been there in the episode but wasn't.  Good job.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:36 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

I really can picture Bashir's sense of distrust with everything around him. He's not sure who's who. I do hope you continue this. I want to know what happens next.

Thanks for sharing. Cannot wait to see what you come up with for Day 4.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:36 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Paranoia creeping in. Another solid piece and a telling moment to take from canon and consider upon. And given Bashir's genetic mind make up he really didn't need to have to start computing and thinking about S31.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:25 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

A nice callback to Inter Arma Enim Silent Leges. I always loved Bashir and the whole Section 31 storyline, so it was nice to see a little coda to that episode. You did a good job with Bashir, you captured his voice and thoughts perfectly. Nicely done!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 15:43 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Hmm. Questioning one's decisions in light of their ultimate consequence: we've all done that. Good job on Bashir's voice here in the narration.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 15:36 Title: Playing Into Their Hands

Paranoia strikes deep, into your heart it will creep .... ♫♪

Bashir sounds like he's changed, and not for the better, after this experience.



Author's Response: I definitely got that vibe. When his genetic enhancements were revealed as public knowledge, he started to feel like he could single-handedly change the world. Yet, as the summary put it, Section 31 has helped serve to knock him down a few pegs. On the positive side, though, the idea that a black ops group exists within Starfleet makes Bashir more determined to fight for his own idealistic principles.

You must login (register) to review.