Reviews For Beaches in Mind
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 16:42 Title: Beaches in Mind

Good to see the alternative Gary again and see the demons that haunt the coast-guard.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 11:21 Title: Beaches in Mind

Haunted by a past experience. We all have places that remind us of things we'd rather not remember. Well done capturing this feeling and how it impacts a person.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 06:42 Title: Beaches in Mind

This is why I love fanfic and this site in particular. The fact that we can go from epic, huge battle scenes in one person's ficlet to a story about a man on a beach, all in the same universe. Blows the mind! Well done for managing to make this just as gripping as the rest. You did a great job of describing Gary's feelings and thoughts, as well as leaving off on quite a chilling note! Well done.

Author's Response: thank you very much CS, most appreciated.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 03:25 Title: Beaches in Mind

That was really, really evocative. You nailed his adrenaline rush, and then you nailed the come down from it, too. Well done.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 00:19 Title: Beaches in Mind

Again, beautiful. The original shark story was incredible, and this is a good addition to it. I liked how you said he felt let down and relieved at the same time; that feeling of disappointment at not being able to do your job (or hunt the shark) but at the same time relief that someone else isn't in danger. Great job.

Author's Response: my thanks indeed Temp.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 23:57 Title: Beaches in Mind

A fine addition to the Mitchell:Lifeguard series, and again a glimpse into the ethos of the man.  Working as a lifeguard on the beach was not his first choice, and certainly not the future he imagined for himself as a young man in NY, but he is bound and determined to do the best job he can; to protect and come to the aid of those who need it, even if it's not 'his beach.'  The fact that he is still haunted by the shark, and the lives lost to it that he was unable to prevent, speaks volumes about the dedication of the man to give his all, no matter the profession, or perceived glory (or lack thereof) it entails.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 21:22 Title: Beaches in Mind

*pokes* LOOK AT THE WATER! What's in the water?! TURN AROUND GARY!!

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 20:24 Title: Beaches in Mind

I love this. Those who choose to live near the ocean, and those who grow up around it, learn quickly that the ocean doesn't suffer fools.

This almost feels like the shark has taken on the proportions of a mythological sea beast, in his mind, at least.

Nice installment in the Gary Mitchell series. I have to wonder, has the shark come into play somewhere else?

Author's Response: I can't think offhand if the shark has played elsewhere beyond the first story. He's been haunted by it on and off in other stories. But the series is still young :)

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 18:24 Title: Beaches in Mind

Another engaging piece Mac. I could see Gary's fear and then see it subside as it was just a bunch of kids joking.

I await your next piece for Day #3.

Thanks so much for sharing!

Author's Response: No worries ZF. I have a feeling you might like what ficlet 3 is shaping up to be.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 18:21 Title: Beaches in Mind

I like the mood of this piece.  I grew up on the beach, lifeguarding and all that and it took me right back.  We had shark issues sometimes, too.  And yeah, that moment when someone screams and you jolt into action only to realize that it's just some kids messing about ... there's a relief, of course, but also a let down because you're primed for fight-or-flight and all amped up and then ... nothing.  Time to calm down.  Nice work, Mac.



Author's Response: Thank you Kes. Good Vibrations was a hit and miss Jaws pastiche but this ficlet sort of concentrated it properly. Quite funny as I grew up with a phobia of water and still can't swim :) In other words, this is all speculation on my part. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 18:14 Title: Beaches in Mind

Always you can pull the magic trick of conveying atmosphere in your pieces Mac. This has a melanchonoly feel about it in addition to the spectre of the beast beneath the water. I'd definitely would be haunted by such memories. Good job.



Author's Response: Bless you MF. I just write. Sometimes it feels like I've missed the mark. Curse not turning these into proper 1960s episodes..

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 18:08 Title: Beaches in Mind

I do believe Mr. Mitchell's got a spot of PTSD.

You must login (register) to review.