Reviews For Great Expectations
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 22:14 Title: Chekov

This is a nice moment between acquaintances, but it also hints at some deeper elements. Christine's loneliness, and Chekhov's ambition, seem to underlie the short exchange.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 22:11 Title: Uhura

I love the explanation of why McCoy was in such a mood when Christine first arrived! And I love the rare look into friendship between women, which is just as legendary in its own way as the friendship between men.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 22:08 Title: Sulu

I love this look at Christine's indulgent, even playful, side! And you really nailed Sulu's voice, too.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 22:05 Title: Scotty

Yet another connection that we don't think of often! I like how Scotty makes it clear that he's not romantically interested in Christine, but he likes and respects her, and through doing that, we get to see some of her nurturing side.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 22:02 Title: McCoy

I always wondered if McCoy would have made a move if things had been different. I like this view of her through his eyes, because whatever his personality, McCoy is a thoroughgoing professional. He can tease and torment, but nothing gets in the way of his medical professionalism--and I like seeing how Christine fits into that.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 21:58 Title: Spock

*Sigh* That is how I would react if I ran into him too. Anyway, I love how he speaks to himself in purely scientific terms--objective observations of dilated pupils, quickened heartbeat, etc--but we get just the faintest hint of his loneliness.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2017 21:53 Title: Kirk

We don't really connect Jim and Christine, but you do a really good job of doing exactly that. Of COURSE he is wondering how she will affect his whole crew and mission--and the way you write it, it seems obvious and inevitable. Of COURSE this is what happened. I love that.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 01:08 Title: Chekov

This is a nice bonding scene--even if they don't talk again, they'll both remember having met each other in this place. I imagine a lot of crew relationships are like that. I also like that we see Christine's intuitive side when she notes that Chekhov isn't really destined for auxiliary control. Well done!



Author's Response:

That's what I thought, too--on board you'd have a few solid friends, and zillions of casual acquaintances.  And, of course, I was looking to explain Chekov's later appearance (he clearly knew Khan in TWOK although we didn't see them interact in TOS, so he must have been on the ship in some capacity at that time), and skills in areas other than navigation.  Cause--y'know--that's what I like to do. ;-)

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 01:05 Title: Uhura

This is very sweet and profound. I like the window onto Christine, and I like how you explored the relationship we see hinted at in the Changeling. Good job!

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 01:01 Title: Sulu

This is great! I love the humor in it, and I love how your stories are interlinking. I also like connections being drawn between characters who don't seem to have much direct interaction, but really had to have. Well done!



Author's Response:

Of all the chapters, this one is my favorite.  I could SO see this happening, especially with respect to Sulu, and Chapel wanting to do her best to keep McCoy from getting upset with him.  As I said in the story notes, we all knew Sulu's hobbies would come back to haunt him someday. ;-)

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 00:59 Title: Scotty

This is a connection that we don't often see, but I like what you've done with it. I also like that Scotty is protective without necessarily being attracted. Very nice!



Author's Response:

I think the best example of Scotty's protective side with regard to the fairer sex is in 'The Changeling.'  That's not to say he never had romantic feelings for some of the female crewmembers, but his first love is and will always be the Enterprise.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 00:57 Title: McCoy

I've always wondered...

I love seeing Christine as such a professional, since she's almost as qualified as McCoy is to do most of this work. I also like that with McCoy, the professionalism comes first, and then as an afterthought, he mentions that she's easy on the eyes. He may be a sensualist, but he's a doctor first.



Author's Response:

I think she would've had to pass his muster, just as she had to pass Jim Kirk's, but I don't think he was above noticing her beauty, once he got the professional thing out of the way. ;-)  And I agree--he's a sensualist, but one with a job to do first.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 00:53 Title: Spock

Ha! Not so oblivious, is he? I love how the next time he sees her, she's totally calm and cool--characteristics Spock would admire more than the physical reaction. And then he looks for reasons to work with her...love it.



Author's Response:

I really think he wasn't as clueless to her feelings for him in 'Naked Time' as he led her to believe.  Just delusional, as he was apt to be, when romantic feelings were directed at him.

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Aug 2014 00:48 Title: Kirk

I like this POV--Kirk sees her as part of a whole, as I believe he does most people, since Kirk is responsible for the whole. Also--good mannerisms, with Kirk rubbing his neck and stressing about the decision. Nice job!



Author's Response:

Strider!  So good to see you back! :D  I hope your virtual pen is in overdrive--anxiously awaiting some new stuff from you. ;-)

Thanks for the kind words.  Yes, Kirk would evaluate her through much different eyes than the average crewman--so glad that came through loud and clear.

Reviewer: Cowgirlcadet1701 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2014 15:21 Title: Kirk

Looks like Christine is pretty much irresistibly likable. And Spock is clueless. But if I have my way, he won't be forever. Got a series getting started that's a lot about them.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:18 Title: Chekov

Ah, ending with good ol' Pavel. That was a nice way to end things, and a nice laugh, too. And probably a good thing he doesn't wear red, with as desperate he is for a landing party, lol.

This was a very nice story about Chapel's first day. Very wonderfully written, and very easy to read it in their voices. Another job well done!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:14 Title: Uhura

That was really awesome, seeing Uhura and Chapel connect so personally so quickly. Having a close friend, stuck in deep space, would make the trip that much more enjoyable. And good on Uhura, too, helping to bring Chapel into the fold with the rest of the crew, making her feel even more welcome. That was a really nice look at this friendship.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:08 Title: Sulu

Aww, that was great. Chapel is certainly making the rounds, getting on everybody's good side pretty quickly.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:05 Title: Scotty

Aww Scotty. I dunno what you're talking about, though. I always thought he was soft and chivalrous myself. Still, very nice impression she had on him, taking care of his people.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:05 Title: Chekov

And a great conclusion to this series, giving us a glimpse of an early Chekov, and once again someone warns Christine about McCoy... I'm sensing a theme! :) You have done a great job throughout showing us this character through so many different eyes, really capturing not only Christine but also these other beloved characters. I tip my hat to you! Well done.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:02 Title: Uhura

Nice! I like the link you created (or uncovered) between these two women. Also funny how everyone seems to feel the need to reassure Christine about McCoy's 'little quirks'! :) As with the others, very well written.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:42 Title: Uhura

I like the take on their relationship. I always felt there was more going on in the Changeling than just a nurse/patient relationship as well, and this is a great way to introduce that friendship.

This was so much in character for both of them. I could so see Uhura wanting to make sure the new head nurse was all right, since they all knew McCoy and his personality and she didn't. Isn't it wonderful to have friends you feel you've known forever on the first meeting. Nice work!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:14 Title: Chekov

Good old Chekov and a sound piece wrapping it up nicely. A real flair for the characters. Touchingly so.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 12:16 Title: Chekov

Nice talk between Chekov and Chapel. I hope they become friends.

LBD you've done an awesome job with all your ficlets for the challenge. I'm glad I jumped in and participated in the TTOT 2014. I've found so many really great authors.

Thanks for sharing. :)

Author's Response:

I don't really see them as becoming friends per se, but Chapel is savvy.  She knows she's gonna have to deal with everyone in the crew in a medical capacity sooner or later - whether it's to treat injuries or for something as mundane as routine physicals.  She's trying to establish herself early on as someone inocuous and non-threatening, especially since she already realizes that a number of the crew find McCoy a little intimidating. ;)

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:23 Title: Uhura

I really liked your take on Uhura. I remember the way her eyes light up when she hears someone speak her native tongue. She seems like such a warm person. I'm glad she's befriended Christine--for both their sakes. Great little story!

You must login (register) to review.