Reviews For Retrospectives
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:18 Title: Silaran Prin

capturing well Kira and the war, the occupation of Bajor. Liked it.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 17:13 Title: Silaran Prin

I love how in DS9 they don't make apologies for people and their feelings. It' why they made such a fascinating species and characters out of the Cardassians. But likewise, they do it with Kira. And you hone and mine that in your writing of her. She doesn't always hold the nobler line. Just the line that she finds more noble perhaps. The right path for her sense of justice and her conscience. Terrific well considered.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 23:05 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

Interesting take on how Kira views these men, and what she perceives as their redeeming qualities, or flaws.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 21:18 Title: Silaran Prin

Great job! Totally getting the DS9 vibe from this. I'm really enjoying your take on Major Kira.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 19:04 Title: Silaran Prin

Wow...and the pendulum swings back to a true innocent who went bad...this one reminds me of the saying "an eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind."

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 16:56 Title: Silaran Prin

You know, Kira is not my favorite character.  Not at all.  And yet you're making me -- well, if not LIKE her, exactly, at least understand her better.  Her analysis here is fascinating, and I'm enjoying the peek inside her head.  Well done.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 16:44 Title: Silaran Prin

It seems as if Kira is picking and choosing who to be compassionate towards. Of course we all do that, when we get right down to it. Still, it's a bit concerning - when we start to give justice or mercy only to the ones we favor, it's hardly justice or mercy at all, no matter what sorts of lies we tell ourselves.



Author's Response: I suppose that's one way of looking at it. In fairness, though, this man about to kill her and possibly the O'Briens' second-born child. In those circumstances, there isn't much margin for showing compassion, especially after he murdered five people without having the courage to show his face. As Worf would put it, such a man has no honor. What's done is done, so there was simply no way Kira was to give Silaran the satisfaction of apologizing for unfortunate casualties of war after what he had done and was about to do.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 15:44 Title: Silaran Prin

Now that an interesting Ch.2 scene, well done on your good use of Kira again.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:59 Title: Silaran Prin

Another fantastic piece, you really manage to get into Kira's head. I like what you are doing here, showing us the aftermath of these episodes and the way that they affect Kira. I also like the contrast you showed between her reaction in the first story and this one. The last sentence was especially well formulated. Nice job!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:51 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

A superb look into the conflictions within war. Having the face of the enemy is enough, innocence is something else...all combining well within Kira. Nice work

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:46 Title: Silaran Prin

Wow. Just gets heavier and heavier, doesn't it? Again, I really like your look into post-occupational sociology and psychology. And how hard it is for Kira to reconcile all of it.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:25 Title: Silaran Prin

I really felt Kira's raw emotion in this chapter. It keeps up with canon. Kira is one of my fav characters from DS9 besides Bashir.

Thanks for continuing this. Cannot wait to see what you come up with for Day 3!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:21 Title: Silaran Prin

And here we see Kira justifying her actions and her actions are quite justifiable, no doubt. The conflict she feels is clear here, in the way she thinks and feels, and her eventual decision to end his life is quite final.



Author's Response: I suppose in a perfect world, the resistance would exercise a little more care not to harm the innocent, but in the grand scheme, none of these alien interlopers were innocent. I'm sure some reparations were made on both sides for those innocent bystanders who were unfortunate casualties of war. If faced with that decision again, Kira probably wouldn't have changed a thing, and seeking revenge the way Silaran would not bring back the dead and would continue the vicious cycle. Killing him was the only way to end that cycle when he wouldn't waver in his intent to kill Kira and possibly the unborn baby.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 23:55 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

How strange it must be, to grow up hating someone with every fiber of your being...and suddenly seeing them through eyes of compassion. Really well done, showing the confusion and reality of this moment, especially for someone like Kira.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 22:45 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

I'm not all that familiar with Kira or her colleagues, but I can identify with the premise of this work. It is so much a part of human nature to assume that anyone with the face of the 'enemy' is the enemy. Wisdom and maturity come when we realize that's not necessarily true. In everything there are innocent bystanders, and we are less than what we can be if we choose not to protect them.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 22:20 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

This was such a good episode and I like this beautiful insight into what Kira was thinking at the time. I think you've written her very well, and if I may, better than some published authors. I've never been a fan of the Major, but I enjoyed this piece and how you portrayed her.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 21:45 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

I love the last line, and the idea that  Maritza is willing to  sacrifice himself in order to bring peace, and comfort, to the Bajoran people.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 21:00 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

Kira is effed up, and she's entitled to be.  But she's also in a position of responsibility and that's a tough thing.  She's sentient, and she's hurt, and she somehow has to remain objective ... I defy the rest of you to pull that off.



Author's Response: A rather concise appraisal of the character. And with that comes an added to seek justice in a rather unjust universe.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 18:08 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

Wonderful look at Kira's thoughts of what went on during the Occupation. Her and Bashir were the only favorite charactesr of mine from DS9.

I think you should expand on this. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:27 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

Fascinating look at the sociopolitical ramifications of a post-occupation society. Kira's mindset is probably all too familiar with people even of today here on earth. Nicely done!

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:25 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

That last sentence really resonates, I have to say. A great coda to Duet, you really captured Kira's conflicted feelings. She has always been one of my favourite characters and you did a great job of writing in her voice. Nicely done!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:18 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

An interesting choice of DS9 scene, Kira reflections on Aiman Maritza seemed spot on from what I recall of that episode.
Well done.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:04 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

It's hard to admit for Kira, I suspect, that someone who to her is the face of evil could be innocent. Interested to see where you take this.

Oh, and be sure to attach this story to the challenge!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:03 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

I don't know if you indeed to keep following Kira in these ficlets but if so after this beginner I certainly look forward to it. A very interesting window of time to look in on Kira and to explore her feelings and reactions. It's never better than when we see the fierce fire and spirit of Kira tempered by her compassion and deeper sense of justice.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 15:57 Title: The Marizta Epiphany

Moving piece. Kira's feelings on the guy are quite reflective of her character development in DS9 and how far she's come. Another innocent dies, but it's not an innocent that will not be mourned. She'll mourn him and that's a good start.



Author's Response: Yes, the ending of "Duet" certainly was a major point of Kira's character development and probably one of the most shocking and memorable moments of DS9.

You must login (register) to review.