Reviews For The Story of Icheb
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:07 Title: Seven, Part II

Wow...that's incredible. Not just that Seven would have that much of an influence on someone else to express their own compassion (something she never seemed to really outwardly show), but that, with this expression, he's basically elevated her to a position of...almost family. I don't know that I'd say he loves Seven romantically (though there might be some conflicting emotions somewhere in there for him) but like a mother almost. She's done everything to protect him and the other children, to show them this life away from the collective, and now he has that chance (from the previous story) to "pay her back" for it in a more tangible way than just being more efficient. This was very touching.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:22 Title: Seven, Part II

For me, this represents Icheb coming into his own.  Much like Gem in the TOS episode 'The Empath,' Icheb is coming to the realization that, unlike the Borg philosophy, some things are more important than self-preservation.  A defining moment for him that should make Seven, and the Voyager crew, stand up and take notice.



Author's Response:

Definitely.  Great insight, LBD.  Thank you so much for the comment.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:38 Title: Seven, Part II

Okay, now I remember there was an episode about this. It's been so long since I watched Voyager. Great story.



Author's Response:

Yep.  "Imperfection" was the episode.  And the one where his parents send him to the Borg is called "Child's Play."

Thanks!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 18:57 Title: Seven, Part II

And here we see Icheb achieving something Seven never has: being willing to sacrifice his life for something to believe in. You have to admire the way he steps up when others won't, even if it does result in a risk to himself.



Author's Response:

I said this to you offline, but I do think you underestimate Seven, or maybe we're talking about different concepts.  I think Seven has been willing to die for others.  But you're talking about belief, which is somewhat different.  All the same, yes, Icheb attains a degree of ... well, humanity would be the word, except he isn't human, so ... individuality?  Compassion?  That Seven has yet to grasp in this moment.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 02:56 Title: Seven, Part II

This is such a great piece because it is one more step on Icheb's road away from the Borg. After all, it would be illogical to risk the lives of two to save only one, and yet Icheb has learned to embrace the emotional side of himself thanks to Seven and here he puts all of that into practice. Student surpasses the teacher indeed. Great stuff, you really feel for Icheb as he struggles with this. Loved it!

Author's Response:

Yes, very much a HUGE step in the separation from the Borg.  Not only is it irrational (I always use "irrational" as opposed to "illogical" when I write my Borg characters, partly to distinguish them from the Vulcans and partly because it's a mathy term and seems to fit them better) and emotional, but it's a very individual choice.  He controls his own destiny -- it's his life and he'll risk it if he wants to.

Thanks for the great comment!

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 23:55 Title: Seven, Part II

I understand why Seven wouldn't want Icheb to risk himself here, but I also understand why he wants to do so. This should be his choice, since it could result in his death, and I like that he makes the choice, and when they disregard it, he locks them out and presents only the two options. This decision is indicative, in a way, of the coming of age we all face, and you've written it really well. Lovely.

Author's Response:

He is so young that it really maybe SHOULDN'T be his decision, but he takes it on anyway.  Yes, it's very much a coming-of-age moment -- he decides his destiny is his to own, his to control.  Which, considering his Borg past, is even more admirable.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 19:41 Title: Seven, Part II

Stunning, Kes. I've said it a ton of times now but you really do write these characters well. The frustration of youth is captured really well here, knowing you're right about something but being disregarded because of your age. Keep it up!

Author's Response:

Thanks so much, RJ!  Yeah, I think we can all relate to that moment when someone tells you, "No, you're too young" when you KNOW the adults are just going to screw it up.  It was Janeway's job to protect him here, but ultimately, he got around it.  Time will tell whether it was the right decision ...

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 19:04 Title: Seven, Part II

Very well written, I was very much along for the ride on this one.  Looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

I appreciate the feedback, Mick!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:57 Title: Seven, Part II

And there it is again. Icheb's strong sense of seeing Seven as a mother-figure. He would willingly lay down his life to save a friend.

Another great piece kes.

Awaiting Day 6's entry.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much, ZF!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:43 Title: Seven, Part II

there is a steely determination here that I like, or at least I read it that way in the willing to die line. Getting a new appreciation for Icheb. Nice work Kes.

Author's Response:

Icheb is nothing if not a walking bit of steely determination.  He showed that here, and at several other times during VOY's run.  If you like Icheb, check out my other stuff.  It's pretty much all-Icheb-all-the-time in Tesseract-land.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:50 Title: Seven, Part II

Another great take on a key moment in Icheb life.
You show his feelings for Seven and why her isk death to try and save her.
Again Well Done.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Bill!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:48 Title: Seven, Part II

To give of himself like this, to risk his own survival, is of course the greatest gift that anyone can give. Wonderfully written!



Author's Response:

Thank you, Jes!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:46 Title: Seven, Part II

It made me well up. Loved it.



Author's Response:

Awww.  Didn't mean to make you cry!  But not going to lie ... a little chuffed I did (to borrow one of your terms).  :)

You must login (register) to review.