Reviews For The Story of Icheb
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:00 Title: Seven, Part I

This was sweet. A very Borg-like attitude, but sweet nevertheless, associating increased efficiency and hard work as a way to please Seven. I kind of wish I'd seen more of Voyager to appreciate Icheb more, but you do a wonderful job of introducing him to us and making him much more than the show allowed for.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:13 Title: Seven, Part I

I like this.  Icheb sees so many things in Seven:  A mother, one who actually loves him and looks out for him; a teacher, someone who will help him make sense of the new circumstances in which he finds himself; a savior, someone who has rescued him from a fate he didn't realize until now he wanted and needed to be rescued from; a role model, someone to emulate, a sense of self to aspire to.

Man oh, you packed all of this into such a small space, without foregoing one bit of the emotion behind it.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the words of praise, LBD.  They mean a lot.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:34 Title: Seven, Part I

Good, good, good. 



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 18:54 Title: Seven, Part I

I seem to remember when Seven debuted that there were a lot of misogynistic comments about "large tracts of land." I hated that, because those people couldn't realize Seven for what she was; an amazing character that really brought a new level of humanity to Voyager. Seven *was* humanity on that ship, seeing her grow, learn, and take responsibility. (So was the Doctor, to a lesser degree.) I think you captured that spirit here very well. I liked this entry, and thank you for writing it.

Author's Response:

Thank you, and I totally agree.  Seven wasn't just sex appeal.  Jeri Ryan is a talented actor and she brough a vulnerability and strength to Seven's character that was totally compelling.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 17:56 Title: Seven, Part I

A great take on Icheb and Seven first meeting and how there bond first formed.

Again top marks.

Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 16:25 Title: Seven, Part I

it's like seeing Seven anew. Brings a sense of compassion to her not easily picked up in the show, or at least hard to ascertain. He was what she was once and so I guess it helps no matter how hard the road to go.

Author's Response:

Seven is all small movements, small steps.  A tiny half smile from her is like a grin from other people.  I think she was tremendously emotional, but kept it mostly locked up.  She demonstrates her feelings largely though actions.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 11:50 Title: Seven, Part I

Aww. Icheb, you're a sweet guy who's acts of affection mostly go unnoticed here. But you do it anyway my friend and that's why you're awesome. Love the way you convey the two's closeness in such a few short words ... as most of us know by this point, Icheb will find a way to pay her back.

 



Author's Response:

I think Seven does notice; but she's not one to heap praise on people for doing what they should.  In fact, I think she assumes it would embarrass him, for lack of a better word.  She knows he's doing valuable work; he knows he's doing valuable work; it would be irrelevant and sentimental to say anything about it.

I do think she'll get better over time.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 04:09 Title: Seven, Part I

Aw, so nice to see Seven and Icheb together at last, through Icheb's eyes. I loved the line about the Collective considering her damaged and Icheb disagreeing. In that single line, you managed to summarise what could only have been a major struggle to break away. Another great ficlet. Well done!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Joel!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 02:42 Title: Seven, Part I

Damn you. What you fit into three hundred words sometimes astounds me. With his relationship to Seven it is hardly a wonder this is going to be the first instalment. I liked the rationale of the memory association of hair colour linking Seven to his mother. She's very much a mother like figure to him. As he thinks - she's the one who goes to bat for him, who actively sought to fight for him and protect him. No wonder he wants to make a home for Seven. A terribly fascinating relationship between them - part mother-child, part big sister, and both wish to play the part of protector to one another. Perhaps because they've the shared experience of being brutalised by their Borg assimilation (and even how their parents brought them both into the path of the Borg - one intentionally the other less so).


Seven also offers hope - hope of adapting. Hope of freedom from the Borg not actually being a cage. Hope of a new start. Hope for a new family that will protect him. So very glad for both characters that they found each other. And so very glad that they found you as an author to develop their story to its true potential.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Kev.  Your insight into their story is terrific.  Thank you (as always) for reading.  :)

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 May 2014 01:33 Title: Seven, Part I

I think you did just fine with this kes. I always thought Icheb saw Seven as kind of a mother figure. But that's just me.

These little snippets of fics are fascinating.

Cannot wait to see where you take us in Day 5.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much, ZF!  In my canon, over time, she transitions from a mother figure to more of a big sister-type relationship.  As he grows and develops, he becomes less dependent on her and actually surpasses her socially in many ways.

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 23:21 Title: Seven, Part I

I really liked this one.  Icheb is becoming a fascinating character to me, and the way you had him thinking about what Janeway would do was very touching.



Author's Response:

Thank you, Mick!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 May 2014 21:12 Title: Seven, Part I

I love how a vote for Seven is essentially a vote for life. And he first becomes interested in her because of the random fact of her hair color. :)



Author's Response:

Well, it wasn't JUST her hair color.  But he did notice and comment, so I thought it worth mentioning.  :)

You must login (register) to review.