Reviews For The Story of Icheb
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:26 Title: Scared to Dream

Wow, I'm wondering about that, too. Is he destined to die young? Very well-written.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 May 2014 19:44 Title: Scared to Dream

I'm not that familiar with Icheb, as I just recently started watching some of the later series, but I am enjoying reading this because I feel like I am really getting to know who this character is. One thing that stuck out to me is the fact that Icheb, as First, couldn't establish order, and so, had to turn his position over to Second, who then became First. If he had been fully Borg, I'm pretty sure he would have been able to establish order, as he would have been more ruthless. The fact that he can't is part of his humanity, so even though he feels ashamed of it here, I think ultimately, it serves him well as he seeks to understand what it means to leave the Collective and become an individual.

Author's Response:

You've got it pretty right, except that Icheb isn't human, he's Brunali.  Other than that, spot on.  If you like Icheb, you'll likely be disappointed by VOY's handling of him, but my whole series is centered on him.  Awesome character concept, poor execution on Paramount's part.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 22:45 Title: Scared to Dream

Very effective look into the mind of one who has been part of a collective, has never had to think for himself, or been without the presence of others in his mind.  That moment of separation, and realization, must have been difficult and confusing indeed.  You captured that beautifully.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, LBD!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:00 Title: Scared to Dream

Putting more into Icheb than the series could ever hope to and nicely so. Good to see another world, another life, out there.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 22:09 Title: Scared to Dream

Voyager is my favorite series to indulge in, and I thought Icheb was a very interesting addition to the show. I really like the back story you're weaving here, it really breathes some extra life into the character. Honestly, it's spot on to how I would picture it happening and despite the intense sorry feeling I have for him I want to read more. I'm eager to see how this plays out.

Author's Response:

Thanks, RJ.  My whole fic universe grew out of this character because I thought he was a fantastic concept that got tragically wasted.  Some of the best episodes featured his character, but they could have done a lot more with him.  So I'm doing it now.  :)

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 21:41 Title: Scared to Dream

Oh Kes, how many children and teenagers through the years have wondered if they will grow up? With the things many teenagers face, it's a valid question. Love the foreshadowing in the last line. Looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response:

I never thought of it exactly that way, but you're right.  Icheb's thought process here can't be far off from say, a little kid in a war-torn African nation being afraid to dream of the future for fear there won't be one at all.  Sure, Icheb has it easier in his daily life, and the dynamics are pretty different because of who his parents are and why he was created, but you're right.  A culture that's constantly in survival mode can mess a child up all on its own.  It's like PTSD, only instead of post-trauma, it's pre-trauma ... always waiting for the other shoe to fall.  I even wonder what growing up in 21st century America is doing to my kids -- we have literally been "at war" with terrorism their entire lives.  They have known nothing but our surveillance society.  My nearly ten-year-old is starting to catch on, and he doesn't like it one little bit.  Interesting comment and food for thought.  Thanks. 

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 17:40 Title: Scared to Dream

Kes, this is a wonderful look into Icheb's early life before the Borg. I look forward to seeing what else you come up with for the ficlet flashdance.

Author's Response:

Thank you, ZF.

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:20 Title: Scared to Dream

I love stories that show how the characters got to where they are at.  You did a great job here with this glimpse into Icheb's childhood.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Mick!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 16:11 Title: Scared to Dream

Oh my God, Icheb. OW. Ow, that last few lines is such a gut punch! Lovely writing, as always, and yet again you manage to reach into the guts and grab and twist.

Author's Response:

Thanks, Steff.  It's hard not to do the gut punch thing with this character.  In many ways, his whole life has been one continuous gut punch.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 15:52 Title: Scared to Dream

Such a desperate lifestyle...and the pain on his parents' faces. One of the few Voyager episodes I have actually seen, so knowing what I do from that one, this was a very well written look at that desperation that drove his parents. This certainly doesn't excuse them, but you did a pretty darn good job showing a small amount of redeeming love for them, seeing the pained expressions on their faces.

Author's Response:

I can't imagine it was easy for them.  There's no excusing what they did; you're right, but I generally think of them as desperate, not evil.  What they did was evil, sure.  But lots of people do evil so that good may come of it.  It's not right, but it's real.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 15:24 Title: Scared to Dream

Much like your Maren entries from last year, for me this is delving deeper into a character I only know peripherally, and I have the feeling that, just like last year, these vignettes are going to leave me breathless, heartbroken and emotionally spent - truly the mark of a great writer.  Looking forward to what comes next, but with trepidation for what the character (and I as the reader) will have to endure.  Heart-wrenching, as always, where this character is concerned.



Author's Response:

Thank you, LBD.  It's an honor to have a compliment like that from a writer like you.  Not everything is going to be heartbreak.  There will be some happy moments, too.  Promise.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 12:40 Title: Scared to Dream

Knowing his story (which I won't give away in this review), the ominous foreboding is absolutely there, He almost feels like spare parts. He's just their tool, but of course he's a lot more than that.



Author's Response:

I always wondered what would have happened if they had raised him from birth to understand his purpose instead of leading him like a sheep to the slaughter.  But that's not what they did -- they never gave him a choice or even an inkling of what his future would hold.  I suppose it would have been too horrifying.  

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 12:22 Title: Scared to Dream

Oh boy this is going to be heart-wrenching isn't it Kes? Isn't it?!
:)
A great idea to give us seven scenes that resume the story of Icheb. I look forward to seeing which ones you're going to choose. This one was really well written, encapsulating a world, a civilization and a tragic future all in so few words.
Great stuff!

Author's Response:

Icheb?  Heart-wrenching?  Why ever would you think that?!

Choosing the scenes is the hardest part.  There's so much to tell and I only have seven scenes to do it.  It's going to be tough.

Thanks for the comments.  :)

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 12:21 Title: Scared to Dream

Oh, Icheb. You poor soul, you. The days are about to get much tougher in the nearby future and decisions are going to be made that'll make things better, and then even more difficult. Young Icheb seems so undamaged at this point, really different from what you would expect.

Well done and a very enjoyable set-up piece for what I'm sure is to be an exciting series.



Author's Response:

Well, he WAS undamaged.  He had no idea what lay in store for him ... only that whatever it was, it scared his parents and he didn't know why.

Thanks for the review.  I only hope I can say what needs to be said in seven short pieces.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 11:25 Title: Scared to Dream

My god, that's just a bit heartbreaking kes. I love that you continue Icheb's story because you mine it for all its worth. There's a rich tapestry to his canon history never minding all of the richness you've added in your own canon. It's a bitter sad snippet of his life as a child. He was raised bascially to be a weapon from the very outset but it's horrid just thinking about the fact his parents waiting for him to reach the potential to be this weapon they had conceived and not a child at all and hold him at an emotional arms' length because they know they are going to send him to his death. Truly tragic. Wonderfully evocatic in your writing though.



Author's Response:

Yeah, based on what we saw in Child's Play, I guessed Icheb had as normal/happy a childhood as they could give him under the circumstances, but there was probably very little pressure on him to succeed.  A bit like having a child with a terminal illness, only his parents were the ones who engineered his tragic end from the get-go.  Little did they know he'd survive the attempt ... it's difficult to feel sorry for them but in some ways I do.  It had to be excruciating for them.  Thanks for the review.  

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 11:20 Title: Scared to Dream

Another great Icheb story from you Kes7, Something about Icheb childhood I had never consider before and yet your story rings so true. Well Done.

Author's Response:

Thank you, Bill!  

You must login (register) to review.