Reviews For The Story of Icheb
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:18 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

Hind sight is 20/20...how very true, to think how different a decision would be (especially one of this magnitude) if you were aware of EVERY consequence. I don't think anyone would blame him for thinking he'd have made a different decision.

And poor Maren. That would have to be hard, not just watching the one you love die, but for them to push you away in some strange attempt to "protect" you. A situation rooted in truth in our own world; I'm pleased to see you touch on it in your story world. Star Trek isn't just about looking at the future and saying "anything is possible," but also about looking at the world we are in now and shining a light on topics that many people don't like to discuss. I think you hit one of those here today.

Well done on the story as a whole

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:11 Title: Unexpected

AWW Maren...

That was really sweet. And heartbreaking, too.

After reading Sarine's "Federation Day," this kind of treatment for Icheb is completely un-Federation like...but understandable, given the amount of fear that has gripped them for so long. The Borg, the Dominion - the Federation saw itself nearly destroyed on too many occasions in too short a time for prejudices like these to just disappear quietly. Good on Starfleet for not giving up on Icheb or turning him away...but that sucks that he's been this alone.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:07 Title: Seven, Part II

Wow...that's incredible. Not just that Seven would have that much of an influence on someone else to express their own compassion (something she never seemed to really outwardly show), but that, with this expression, he's basically elevated her to a position of...almost family. I don't know that I'd say he loves Seven romantically (though there might be some conflicting emotions somewhere in there for him) but like a mother almost. She's done everything to protect him and the other children, to show them this life away from the collective, and now he has that chance (from the previous story) to "pay her back" for it in a more tangible way than just being more efficient. This was very touching.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 14:00 Title: Seven, Part I

This was sweet. A very Borg-like attitude, but sweet nevertheless, associating increased efficiency and hard work as a way to please Seven. I kind of wish I'd seen more of Voyager to appreciate Icheb more, but you do a wonderful job of introducing him to us and making him much more than the show allowed for.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 12:44 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

A Nice sum of Icheb and Maren relationship and a good insight into Icheb mindset regarding his actions towards Seven and Maren. Well Done.

Congratulations upon completing your TToT 2014 ficlet challenge.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 19:40 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! ICHEB CAN'T DIE! KES KES KES KES KES!! *bookmarks Tesseract*

Author's Response:

Well, I won't spoil anything for you, but I'm excited if you're planning to read it!  Please let me know what you think.  Thanks for reading and reviewing these!

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 19:07 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

Kes, what a gut-wrenching last ficlet you've put together. I got tears in my eyes reading it. But now I'm on to read your Tesseract series.


Thanks for sharing some wonderful ficlets with us. :D

Author's Response:

Oh, I hope you enjoy it, ZF!  I'm excited that you're going to read it.  Thank you!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:38 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

This was a very satisfying - albeit sad - way to tie up all the loose ends from this series, and tie it into last year's as well.  Again, just speechless at your deft handling of these characters and their relationships to one another.  Another stellar entry into the world of Maren and Icheb.



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you, LBD!  That's high praise, and coming from an author I look up to makes it even more meaningful.  You do amazing character work yourself.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:27 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

This was a great set of highlights of Icheb's life, giving perspective on him to people who hadn't read him before (and those of us who have a bit, too).

I got a feeling about those two.

Besides, how will Kevin O'Connor have his ancestor Maren otherwise, hmm?

Well-written, as always.



Author's Response:

Hehe.  I got a feeling, too.  Lots of them.  :)

Thanks so much for reading and commenting, Jes.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:00 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

a touching piece and rounding up astonishing work on Icheb. Nice work Kes.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Mac!

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 17:00 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

Love that last line. Such a great summary of Maren and Icheb. You have truly created a love story for the ages in your Tesseract series and here you give us another great look at it. So enjoyed all of this, great to get back to these characters once again. Well done, kes7, well done! :)

Author's Response:

Wow, that's such high praise!  I hope that by the time I actually finish Tesseract, you'll still feel the same!  Thanks so much, Joel.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 16:58 Title: Unexpected

Aw Maren and Icheb for the win! Love these guys so much, a ray of sunshine to see them together in these ficlets. Really good job giving us new insights into Icheb throughout this series. And on to the last one...

Author's Response:

Thanks, CS!

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 16:46 Title: Delayed Consequences and Parallels

Fantastic. I love the drawn parallels and the call back to his sacrifice. His admitting that saving Seven is in some ways a mistake because he now has Maren to live for. He also now understands why Seven protested his assistance. Yet despite knowing that he doesn't want the persons he loves to hurt, he acts in a manner that leaves them alone in the universe, thinking this the better and more logical choice. Fantastic exploration of your character. Always a treat and always good to have a reminder of why he's a compelling character (sometimes we need to be reminded because he keeps breaking Maren's heart and ours!).



Author's Response:

MINE!  MY character!  ALL MINE!  Hehehe.  

Yeah, he can be a bit of a prick.  Assimilation will do that to you.  He has a good heart, he's just tremendously damaged.  

So glad you can still enjoy these characters after all these years.  :)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:36 Title: Unexpected

This paints a sad picture of the cost of hatred and bigotry.  It's understandable here, but so painful to see from the perspective of the person on the receiving end.  Glad Maren and her shy smile was able to ease that loneliness for him, even a little.  And I do know where this goes (if anywhere), but no spoilers here. ;)



Author's Response:

Yeah, it's lonely when you're the outcast.  Even if you understand why people are biased against you, it's painful.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:22 Title: Seven, Part II

For me, this represents Icheb coming into his own.  Much like Gem in the TOS episode 'The Empath,' Icheb is coming to the realization that, unlike the Borg philosophy, some things are more important than self-preservation.  A defining moment for him that should make Seven, and the Voyager crew, stand up and take notice.



Author's Response:

Definitely.  Great insight, LBD.  Thank you so much for the comment.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:13 Title: Seven, Part I

I like this.  Icheb sees so many things in Seven:  A mother, one who actually loves him and looks out for him; a teacher, someone who will help him make sense of the new circumstances in which he finds himself; a savior, someone who has rescued him from a fate he didn't realize until now he wanted and needed to be rescued from; a role model, someone to emulate, a sense of self to aspire to.

Man oh, you packed all of this into such a small space, without foregoing one bit of the emotion behind it.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the words of praise, LBD.  They mean a lot.

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:06 Title: Unexpected

This is turning into a great series of stories here.  Icheb is becoming a very fascinating character.



Author's Response:

He IS a fascinating character.  The whole Icheb arc was really well thought-out by the VOY writers but sort of poorly executed.  They didn't do enough with his potential and left him out of some episodes he definitely should have been a part of.  Tesseract is my attempt to fix all that.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 14:04 Title: Second

Not having seen the original episode I don't come to this with any preconceived notions, or biases, but as before, this blew me away.  To be privy to Icheb's first inklings of what it means to be human, from the drawbacks of digestive tracts to empathizing with those who are suffering, and dying.  Very nice look at the steps that cause him to develop into the Icheb of Tesseract.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:38 Title: Seven, Part II

Okay, now I remember there was an episode about this. It's been so long since I watched Voyager. Great story.



Author's Response:

Yep.  "Imperfection" was the episode.  And the one where his parents send him to the Borg is called "Child's Play."

Thanks!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:34 Title: Seven, Part I

Good, good, good. 



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:32 Title: Second

Poor Second. 

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:30 Title: Premature

This is great stuff! Wow, a newborn Borg suffering "system error". Is this what's become of the child? It's as if his parents knew what was coming. What do they do, hand over sacrificial children to the Borg?

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:26 Title: Scared to Dream

Wow, I'm wondering about that, too. Is he destined to die young? Very well-written.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 02:24 Title: Unexpected

Nicely done. You've definitely shown how difficult integration would be; not only is he an ex-Borg, but he's also from a whole other quadrant and that alone would probably be intimidating to some people. Maren seems sweet. It's good to see that his persistence has opened up the possibility of a friend, or maybe more.

Author's Response:

Or maybe more .... *smiles.*  Maren is sweet, and you'll have to check out my series to find out what happens between them.  Thank you for the comment!

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 May 2014 18:59 Title: Unexpected

And the beautiful story of Maren and Icheb begin here. Well done conveying how lonely he is and how amazing he feels when she offers him that first smile.



Author's Response:

Thanks, TF.  Yeah, that smile was everything.  He'll spend the rest of class distracted by her blond hair (mommy issues, anyone?) and she'll impress him with her brilliance soon enough.

You must login (register) to review.