Reviews For One Last Ride
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 May 2014 14:57 Title: One Last Ride

Never nice to see an old girl of the fleet stood down and less so when it's the firstborn. Parting can be such sweet sorrow. Touching piece, Mick.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  I'm glad it was a touching piece, it turned out far better than I thought it would have.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 22:04 Title: One Last Ride

Very well written, Mick. You've perfectly captured the bane of being promoted to admiralty and having to leave crew mates, and your ship behind. I think if I served in the Corp of Engineers I'd probably try to be a packrat and keep all the ships I could. You've also captured the sadness of a ships pending decommission very well. Crews become attached to the ships they serve on and I think the Admiralty often forgets that.

Author's Response:

One of the things that concerned me with a limitation n the word count was depicting the promotion in such a short time and making it believable.  I'm glad it worked.  

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 21:08 Title: One Last Ride

Seems like it's human nature to want to get rid of the old and replace it with something new. I am not really familiar with your Constitution series, but I got the idea that Yu and the man set to replace the current Captain don't like one another. This vignette showed us a lot of character interaction in a short space. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  Yes, a lot of it is human nature whch is why things are what they are.  There is some tension going on.  I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 15:55 Title: One Last Ride

An intriguing start, Mick! I love pretty much anything involving the Constitution in any universe.

Author's Response:

I too, love the Constitution in any universe, especially the TOS era for me.  It just seemed like a good time period to explore.  

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 15:15 Title: One Last Ride

Very nice start.  It's always painful to think of a ship being decomissioned or destroyed in Trek, because for many of us, they are as real and as major a character as any of the traditional ones.  I'll admit I'm not familiar with your Constitution series, but I found this strangely upsetting anyway, as if I'd heard bad news about the health of a dear friend, which is how I perceive Yu took the news.  Hopefully between him and Marshall they can find a way to stop the inevitable from happening.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  It does pack quite a punch in a such a short time, and it could've easily been longer.  The series itself is in it's infancy, and I'm using this not only to introduce the characters, but to help me find their voices as well.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 14:36 Title: One Last Ride

This has the beginnings of a great story Mick, I must say. Thank-you for sharing this wonderful little piece with us. I really liked the characters and how Yu didn't want the ship Decomissioned.

I cannot wait to see what else you come up with the rest of your ficlets.

Author's Response:

You are quite welcome. :)  I'm glad you liked the brief glimpse into these two characters.  

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 13:16 Title: One Last Ride

Retirement of starships. Starfleet is always so eager to get rid of the things that work and do new things. It's not so much their dissatification with the old things but rather their infatuation with the new ones. I'm glad to see the engineer here stay loyal to the ship but I wonder what'll take to keep the core of engineers from scrapping her?



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  To answer your question, you'll have to keep reading the series as it progresses.  I figured the retirement of the ship would make a good plot point, which is why I used it.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 12:20 Title: One Last Ride

A nice little vignette, with some interesting character interactions. Should be fun seeing how this progresses.

Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  This turned out exactly the way I wanted it to, just a short little vingette to get the character's feet wet alittle.  I like having backstory for the characters, and this served a good purpose for Yu.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 11:33 Title: One Last Ride

Seems as if this one is going to be a story.  I sympathize with these guys fighting to hold onto the ship they love as progress marches on and renders her obsolete.  Good, believable dialogue.  Nice work.



Author's Response:

thank you for the review.  It's good to know the dialogue is believable because I just pictured their conversation in my head, and just started typing.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 11:05 Title: One Last Ride

A touching little scene that sets up all the characters well and delivers a emotional punch despite it short length well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your kind words.  That is the kind of impact I was hoping to deliver.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 10:58 Title: One Last Ride

Oh, that's bittersweet, that they're parting. And that the ship is headed for scrap, as the Connie class is, too. Unless Marshall can work some magic ....



Author's Response:

Thank you for the review.  It is very appreciated.  The Constitution-class is not quite headed for retirement yet, just the Constitution itself.  Unless to whether or not any magic will be worked to keep the ship in service, sit  back and enjoy the ride.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2014 10:55 Title: One Last Ride

Awww Mick. This is perfect. I love it. It sells your Constitution story and it gives a sense of Yu as this loyal and faithful guy, loyal to Ironsides, (love that as the nickname for the Constitution) and loyal to Harrington. His loyalty to Marshall seems less sure and one suspects something lies behind his reaction to transfer once he heard Alex Marshall had the promotion to command. Is it to do with Alex or something related to his father's death? Hmmm. You've got me introgued. Also, wonder where you are going with the Yu exploration and the future instalments of this tale. Very, very good. Looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the kind review.  All I can say as to where it will go at this point is wait and see,

You must login (register) to review.