You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CamSPD Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2014 17:50 Title: Chasing Life

Wonderful end! I knew she'd figure a way out -- she wouldn't be Tabatha if she didn't! Love it!



Author's Response:

Absolutely not! Of course, the real mystery in a way is what trouble did she actually get herself into and when will this play out in the future? And it will in a future story play out with all the details of the reasons, the why and the escape. LOL

Thanks again for reading Cam. So glad you enjoyed these little windows into Tabatha's life. All of which expand on her some and in some small measure all have links to the larger Watchtower/Eleventh Fleet universe.

Reviewer: CamSPD Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2014 17:45 Title: No Escaping

WHOA!! Admittedly I've not (yet) read any of your Kestrel stories, but I know a small bit about McGregor from conversations with you. BIG surprise that he's Tabatha's father (makes you wonder how she found out and what happened to her mother). 

More great stuff, Fave.



Author's Response:

I love that it works as a surprise for you Cam, since you knew Tabatha before knowing McGregor (and as you say, that's more through word of mouth than reading his stories). Yes, it does make you wonder a lot of things about the how, the what, the when, the why. It also helped me to kinda make a connection to Kestrel in a tentative fashion in my Watchtower universe. As you know, what's the point of having an expanded universe if you can't exploit the richness and story telling potentials.

Reviewer: CamSPD Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2014 17:27 Title: Don't call me Tabby

Ah ha! This tells me why she's so dedicated to the Hex who is her engineer -- she knew the previous host before Elios (I think that's his name, correct me if I'm wrong). 

Another gem, Fave.



Author's Response:

That's right, Ellioh is the second host she knows of Hex. It actually gets more complicated than that, but that's for down the line. Suffice to say, yes, Tabatha has good cause to be very dedicated and loyal to Hex (there had to be a reason right).

Reviewer: CamSPD Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jul 2014 17:23 Title: Born to Fly

Fave, you can't leave us hanging like this! You have to tell us if she avoided that noose!

 

Love this little glimpse into Tabatha's life, though.



Author's Response:

HA! Always leave the audience wanting more...

Reviewer: TheLoneRedshirt Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 08:10 Title: Chasing Life

Awesome! In such brief interludes you provided a wealth of background into Tabatha's history and what made her into such a complex, untameable force of nature. Great imagery with an economy of words - bravo! (I suppose the earrings are thermal detonators?!?)

Author's Response:

Untamebale force of nature! Ha! I love it. Tabatha loves it more. And what I love more is the fact you see how she is more complex than the persona she presents. Thank you loads TLR. As always, you're too kind and always an inspiration. As for the earrings ... I couldn't possibly comment ... (but of course they are)

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:57 Title: Chasing Life

Wow...an incredible end to an awesome story. Loved this, it was absolutely awesome. I definitely need to get reading more of the RRG tales, but this was a blast.

Author's Response:

Thank you TemplarSora. Glad you liked it as much as you did. And yes, you definitely do need to read more RRG tales. I also need to write and publish more. Would help if I did things chronologically yes(!?)

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:54 Title: No Escaping

Wait, what?! I mean, I suppose I could see the resemblance, but what?! Wow. That's awesome!

Author's Response:

ha, thanks. Means I did surprise. And yeah, there's enough similar about them to make it more than plausible. Although ... there's something whack about the timeline of things ...

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:50 Title: Queen of Mayhem

lol, I love your RRG gang. Tabatha is insane, but it's such a fun read, not being bound by the normal Starfleet codes and regulations.

And that was awesome. "Ass of the Year."

Author's Response:

In fairness, I must credit kes7 for the inspiration of that line. However, given the sheer number of times Tabatha comes out with the line someone had to pull that on her at some stage. And it most certainly is a lot of fun to be freed of those pesky Starfleet codes, lends for all sorts of adventures - make that misadventures. Thank you for the all too kind words.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 01:46 Title: At the End of a Rainbow

Is that...?

Wow...

Yeah, heck of a crash-landing, lol

And I'm with Kes...just say no to spiders.

Author's Response:

yeah spiders are just plain ... shivers ... 

And yes, that is.

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 19:26 Title: Chasing Life

I've greatly enjoyed this primer into the world of Tabatha Chase. I like how you left the ending open, and I'm going to take that and run with it; I say she escaped!

Author's Response:

Oh I think it is fair to say she escaped. It is Tabatha Chase after all. And those earrings ... ha! Thanks again for reading. So glad you enjoyed.

Reviewer: CaptainSarine Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 16:56 Title: Chasing Life

Nice ending, subtle and left hanging, though we have a good idea of what probably happens. The other stories are definitely going on my to read list. Well done!

Author's Response:

Like you say, we get a fairly good impression of what she probably does next in order to get away with things. Let's just say, Chase likes to accessorise... Thank you Sarine for reading. Hope you do get a chance to check out the tales involving Chase and I hope to add plenty more of them in short order.

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:57 Title: Chasing Life

You left us with a cliffhanger :(  You should consider keeping this going.  You've built a very fascinating character here.  Good job.



Author's Response:

Tabatha's adventures will/do most certainly continue. I prefer not to think of it as a cliffhanger as an open ended imagination exercise. Just try to imagine what trickery those 'earrings' could pull off. ;)  Thank you for the reviews. I'm glad you enjoyed the character of Chase I hope to keep adding to her stories.

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:53 Title: No Escaping

I did not see that twist coming.  Nice work.



Author's Response:

Ha! Glad it worked as a twist. Been a while in the works since the RR last year but we never got to a suitable stage to make any kind of reveal, so I used the opportunity to explore one such possibility. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:16 Title: Chasing Life

Nice work MF, held throughout and indeed at that, nicely written. Just something about it that held and entertained.

Author's Response:

Thank you Mac.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 12:09 Title: Chasing Life

Bravo MF to the ending of this series of ficlets. I've really enjoyed your stories. I look forward to more of your stories in the future.

Thanks again for sharing. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you zeusfluff. Glad you enjoyed the romp. I look forward to your reading and of course, any stories involving Tabatha is usually a joy for me to write too. Thanks for sharing in the sharing.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 10:18 Title: Chasing Life

Run, Tabatha, run!  Chase by name, chase by nature.  I hope they never, ever catch you.

Well done, MF.  Standing ovation from me.  *claps*



Author's Response:

Ha! Well now, have the fun is getting caught, getting out of there and then running away! Thank you for reading K. And the standing ovation. Glad you liked. Glad to have you along for the ride.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 10:06 Title: Chasing Life

Argh!  So good but you left us hanging (no pun intended) there, unless she has one more trick up her sleeve.  Of course she does - Chase by name, Chase by nature.  This was a really, really good, compelling series of ficlets.  I'm sorry that they're done. :(



Author's Response:

Well think of those earrings being like the rabbit foot that isn't a rabbit's foot and you can start to piece together her out in this situation. ;) Allowing her to live up to her name and nature. I'm actually sorry they're done too. They've been so much fun. A wicked ride and a fun blast. Thank you for reading LBD and for your wonderful reviews. 

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 10:05 Title: Chasing Life

I don't know if I have words to adequately describe how much I love this.

And the earrings...I'm guessing they're something like the lucky rabbit's foot. Nice job, and I hope you continue this, as I am dying to know what happens next.

Author's Response:

Yup, Gatekeeper, exactly like - well on the lines of - the rabbit's foot. So glad you liked these little tales. As you can imagine, they are but snippets of the adventures Chase gets into. There's plenty more Tabatha to come. And her facing the 'end' as presented here will get its moment 'onscreen'.  Thank you so much for reading and your great comments. Much, much appreciated.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:59 Title: Chasing Life

Oh, Tabatha, you've always got something up your ... earlobe?

Well done, as always.



Author's Response:

Hee, hee. Yup. Thank you jespah. She certainly does.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:57 Title: No Escaping

So, McGregor is her father, huh? Sounds like he's just as colorful as she is. Guess that's why he gets away with calling her Tabby. Again, another very enjoyable installment. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

Oh McGregor IS colourful. So very. But even he probably only barely gets away with calling her Tabby. Thank you for reading and commenting. So glad you're/you've enjoyed the stories. 

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:57 Title: No Escaping

OMG!  That brought tears to my eyes - and I'm not the cryin' type.  It was great to see the vulnerable, exposed side to these two characters who are usually full of such swagger and overconfidence - nay, an impenetrability, almost.

I loved the nods here to the Chilo and the multiverse.  McGregor is usually such an arrogant pain in the ass - way to make me feel sorry for and care about the man.

And the bit about 'this is my line' instantly brought a song to mind that might be fitting for either/both of these characters:  Where do We Draw the Line



Author's Response:

One reason for the swagger and brassy front of both characters is because they've learned to come with certain losses in their lifetime. There's usually a whole lot more going on with both of them than the front they present. It's just not always an aspect too openly revealled in their stories. However, I always hope it shows when it matters. Thank so much for reading Cuppy. Wonderful words. I made you cry. Yes. I mean. Ahem. No seriosuly, thank you very much for your kind words. Really appreciate your insights.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:43 Title: Queen of Mayhem

Sheer, sheer brilliance, MF - from the fluid flow of the dialogue, to Colt and Chase verbally sparring, to the twist ending.  I'm petrified for them now, given their predicament, though.  I second kes by saying, "Don't you DARE kill her off, Kev - I mean it!"



Author's Response:

Would I ever kill off a character? ...

Thank you for the kind review LBD. It helped having a fantastic partner to spar against in TLR's character of Colt. And it just helps that as a character Tabatha lends herself to these type of situations. And dialogue comes oh soooo easily to/for her.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:31 Title: At the End of a Rainbow

Great explanation of how she and the RRG found each other.  Now all she has to do is convince everyone else to help her salvage/rescue it.

I love the Firefly feel to this - both in the original series and in these ficlets.  My new mid-summer's resolution.  Read the new part of the Rhapsody Rabbit Gavilan series. :)



Author's Response:

I may hold you to that resolution! And yes, they kinda did find each other. And the Firefly feel you felt is great because certainly it was much of the origin and tone of the series.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:21 Title: Flying too Close to the Sun

Loved this chapter!  I'd like to know how old Tabatha was here - a teenage prodigy, maybe?  Nice work shaking off the Klingons, and scaring her crewmates to within an inch of their lives.  Something tells me they'll all appreciate it later, when the initial I-want-to-vomit phase wears off.

PS Loved the name of the horse. ;-)



Author's Response:

Well she's spent since the age of ten living on and working around ships. So she got an early start and some innate flying skills. So yes, she's a young prodigy at this juncture as she has many, many adventures to live in the years ahead.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:19 Title: Chasing Life

:)

That was a nice conclusion to these Chase tales, She is a wonderful character always with a great line (like her Father), yes Chase by name and Chase by nature.

I do wonder what her earrings really do.

Congratulations on completing your TToT 2014 entry.

Author's Response:

Thank you FalseBill. I love to write her so I'm glad you enjoyed the results and her character. And I rather imagine the earrings are somewhat on the lines of her lucky rabbit foot.

You must login (register) to review.