Reviews For Federation Day
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Oct 2015 00:53 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

God, I love this tale. And the way its told.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:26 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

Civil War? Wait, you skipped something! I want to know more!

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:24 Title: Andromeda Bound

I don't know what to make of this one...

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:23 Title: Resistance is Futile

Oh, you do dream big...or is that "Borg"? ;)

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:21 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Indeed. What I said in "From The Inside."

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:20 Title: Infinite Diversity

It does seem logical. I like what you are doing with this.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:18 Title: Founding Fathers

Funny that the booze was rotgut...nice touch.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jun 2014 04:16 Title: Past Prologue

Sweet. Left me smiling...

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 18:50 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

You've outdone yourself Sarine, I'm definitely going to check out Star Trek: Federation. This has been a very well crafted series and this was the perfect ending for it. I think it's pretty darned cool that Lily Sloane survived this far into the future to see the fruits their labors.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:55 Title: Andromeda Bound

Interesting. A foldspace engine? Is that your own creation, or was it actually something in the later iterations of Star Trek, of which I am not as familiar? I always wanted to see someone on one of the series create a ship that could travel to other galaxies.

I like the way Marta handled the drunken young ensign. Nice series of ficlets, and looking forward to reading the last one.

Author's Response: Foldspace engines are actually a theft from the Dune universe rather than my own creation, but I'll take credit for bringing them to Star Trek! :) If you like the galaxy idea, I'll let you know when I start my Federation series which will be set aboard the Pioneer as it journey's to Andromeda. Thanks!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:50 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

And full circle. And a nice tease for meeting Lily again in the distant future. For all that Picard told her and showed her, to actually be part of that legacy first hand would have to be mind-blowing.

This was a really awesome look at the Federation, and well done keeping that recurring theme alive of tolerance and cooperation through all 7 ficlets. This was a really well done story.

Author's Response: Yeah, I knew I had to include a nod to Picard - Lily had to have had him in mind as everything changed following FC. I'm glad you liked what I did with this theme and hope you'll pop in on Federation when I start it! Cheers!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:48 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

Very, very satisfying conclusion.  Just as we were able to see Zef's fate in the TOS episode 'Metamorphosis,' I loved doing the flipside here, and looking in on what happened to Lily.  And I love her question: "How did you manage to do this from that one small ship we built?"  Much as I loved your answer, another one sprang to mind for me:  "All it takes to change the world is one man with a vision."  In this case, it was multiple people with the same vision, but that in no way diminishes what can be accomplished when people focus on the ultimate goal.



Author's Response: Yeah, Metamorphosis was one of the reasons I thought I could get away with bringing Lily back - after all if Zef can survive, so can she! I totally agree with your answer as well!

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:47 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

What a ride, I really enjoyed it.  You brought everything full circle, and it worked very well.  



Author's Response: That's great to know, I was worried how this would be received, so glad that you think it worked! :)

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:46 Title: Andromeda Bound

bwahahahaha...that poor Ensign. That's the kind of stunt that earns someone a callsign.

And a very true sentiment and warning for Marta from her father. Despite all the tolerance and growth of the Federation...there will still be those blind judgements that get in the way of progress.

Author's Response: That's why I wanted to have Marta in this position, an Orion is probably one of the few remaining races who would encounter this kind of prejudice in this expanded Federation. And don't feel too bad for the ensign, he kind of deserved it! :)

Reviewer: MIck Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:45 Title: Andromeda Bound

I like where this is going.  Looking foward to seeing how you wrap things up.



Author's Response: Thanks Mick. Hope you like the finale.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:22 Title: Resistance is Futile

O.O

The Borg...in the Federation. Wow. That would be...insane.

Author's Response: Obviously these are not the 'mindless' Borg we know by this point - this is a group of broken, desparate Borg. I may go back and develop this a little more later on. Thanks!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 13:19 Title: Glimmers of Future Hope

Wow! An awesome meeting, and almost a passing of the torch as well, from the first alien on the show to the second. And how true too; Worf's example helped clear the way for Nog. I wonder if he looked back on this conversation when Nog showed up in his cadet uniform on DS9. lol

Author's Response: I may have to write a little scene outside the contest where Worf has to eat his words after seeing Ensign Nog! lol indeed. Thanks for the comment.

Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:48 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

Claps. Great way to end this Sarine. I've enjoyed all the ficlets you've been adding to the challenge since it started. It gave me a look into all the different writing styles.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Means a lot.

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 11:17 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

And that was first class, tying it up rather neatly. From Bozeman to Andromeda in five hundred years. Not too bad.

Author's Response: Thanks Mac! Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 10:29 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

NICE OPENING to what I'm sure is going to be an epic story, Joel.  I absolutely loved this whole series of shorts.  Great work all the way around.



Author's Response: Thanks kes! This is actually the ending of the story, or at least an ending of sorts - Federation will be going back to the launch of the Phoenix so the ficlet just before. Glad you liked them, as usual means a lot coming from one of my favourite writers!

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 09:10 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

Oh, yay! I love the trope of a past person being whisked to the future and seeing it with fresh eyes. For Lily, of course, this is the culmination, and it's so much more than she and Zef ever saw or knew or dreamt of. Looking forward to seeing where you take them next!



Author's Response: Thanks jespah! I like the trope as well, though have never really used it til now. I couldn't resist bringing Lily back into this at the end. I'll let you know when I start Federation.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 07:54 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

Ah man, that's such a cool tie in, link back, and of course teaser for Star Trek: Federation. Very cool and epic in feel. It's also a fitting end and link back to the first ficlet and to the beginning of all that led to the Federation. I love Marta's summation of history how it all led to this moment from that moment. And the final summation of Hope and dumb luck. Lovely. Glorious. Inspiring. Super job on the entirety of this.



Author's Response: Wow. Speechless. Thanks so much for those kind words. I really worried about this last scene, especially about including Lily, so I'm real glad you liked it. Can't wait to see how you wrap up Tabatha's story as well!

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 07:42 Title: Whispers From Distant Stars

The return of Lily Stone is a surprise and yet by taking this all back to the start location you reminder us how from the humblest of beginnings the Federation came to be. Star Trek: Federation looks like something to enjoy.

Congratulations on completing your TTOT 2014 tale.

Author's Response: Aw thanks. Means so much that you guys have enjoyed this. Hopefully STF will live up to it. And congrats to you too!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 04:12 Title: Andromeda Bound

AHHHH! Oh my God, I love it. You tell them, Captain Soong, and while we're at it, what a bright future you're painting here.

Author's Response: So cool!! I really hoped people would react to Marta and people have, so yay! :) Glad you like this future, thought I would try something very different to my dark Restoration universe. Thanks for all the comments!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 May 2014 04:09 Title: Resistance is Futile

That is an absolutely charming look into the future, and the way you lead each one into the next is just inspired. Worf and Data here, discussing it, and then that ending!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you feel it worked.

You must login (register) to review.