You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Jan 2012 11:57 Title: Life is Choices

It really is mad, but as you say you have referred to this moment before in your stories that one almost imagined you actually had written and published it before. It reads almost exactly how I imagined it, but of course always with your excellent writing style Gibraltar. Like CeJay, it really almost feels like the readers are shouting at the computer screen saying, "NO, don't do it!"

However, it really illustrates how far Sandhurst has come. I think this is key to why your stories and series proves so popular. Your main character has such character growth from the very beginning but that growth has come at such great cost and through some very horrid lessons.

And as TLR said, despite the costs and the hard calls he has had to make, something about Donald's character, about his unfailing stick at it attitude and mettle to never give up, despite all the detractors, all the hard luck situations and all the tragedy and bad results, he stays the course, finishes the mission and sticks to what he believes is right. Yeah, this piece works to make a person very nostalgic about your stories. Good job.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm pleased you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Jan 2012 08:02 Title: Life is Choices

Terrific tale of that one fateful encounter that started it all. And yes, by all I mean a series of rather unfortunate events, mostly to do with death, destruction and general despair.

And a whole bunch of gripping adventures.

Author's Response:

Thanks, CeJay!  I'd like to think after all the crew (and Sandhurst) have been through, eventually they're going to catch a break.  Knowing their luck, though...  ;-)

Reviewer: TheLoneRedshirt Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2011 12:01 Title: The Penalties of Success

Wonderful glimpse into Sandhurst's L.B.C. (Life Before Command). He's obviously a gifted engineer but sometimes the service requires people to step up and assume responsibilities they never imagined or wanted. I also enjoyed Captain Ebnal's command style - blunt and to the point. Great story!

Author's Response:

Much obliged, TLR!  I thought this was a nice look into the first step on Donald's path to command, as well as a chance to use the ever effervescent Captain Ebnal again.  ;-)

Reviewer: kes7 Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 30 Nov 2009 20:50 Title: Salt the Wounds

Well, this answered a few questions I'd had, like what happened with Donald and Ojana after Treacherous Waters, and what happened with the Bajora-Tava.  I think you did a masterful job with the political aspects of this.  It really felt down-to-Earth (down-to-Bajor?) and realistic, from the hitman-turned-inspector, to the news reporting, to the feel of the city and the nice hotel and the smoke rising in the air from the unrest, the misnamed "Picard's War", the concern over whether a civil/religious war will prevent Bajor's entrance to the Federation ... very evocative, detailed imagery all the way around.  Thanks for pointing this one out to me, I very much enjoyed it.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the story.  I was a quick write for me, but it helped to tie up some loose ends as well as shed some light on the toll the Bajora-Tava were taking on Bajor.

Reviewer: PSGarak Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Aug 2009 11:30 Title: Salt the Wounds

Very intriguing. I know little of the overall background of this, and yet I was immediately drawn into the action. Your portrayal of Sandhurst as a pragmatist strikes a very real chord for a man in his position. I'm looking forward to making my way through more of the Gibraltar stories.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much.  :)  This is one of those stories that doesn't make a whole lot of sense without the backstories involved, so I'm pleased you enjoyed it regardless.  I appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: Kraylose Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jun 2009 11:28 Title: The Plebe

Very nice read. The bajoran hitman turned inspector was a nice touch.

Author's Response:

Thanks!  He's a character I hope to writing more about before too long.

Reviewer: Terilynn Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2009 10:57 Title: The Plebe

I know I read The Plebe on another site, but just had to re-read it and give my kudos! I'm looking forward to learning more about Liana's history...

Reviewer: Nerys Ghemor Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 May 2009 23:10 Title: The Plebe

I really liked this one--especially the chance to see what it might be like for someone raised in a non-planetary environment to be out in nature (even if it's just Boothby's garden) for the first time in her life.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Feb 2009 13:57 Title: The Plebe

Yes, I'd like to see a few more too. This was such a cool and off-beat read, I want more and I'm self-centered enough to demand it! LOL.

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Feb 2009 19:57 Title: The Plebe

I really liked this the first time I read it, and I still do; not only for the homage to Boothby, but also for the atmosphere you instill into the story, right from the beginning. Top rate stuff, Sam! Looking forward to seeing more of these little history pieces.

You must login (register) to review.