Reviews For Maneater
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 May 2014 16:54 Title: Maneater

Oh, I loved this! It seems to be a rather realistic (albeit poetic) look at the time between the final regular season episode of Season 3 of TOS and the very beginning of Star Trek: The Motion Picture. 

Of course Kirk and Scott would love. Of course they would feel odd. Of course they would wonder, and even mention Decker very, very briefly.

One of the hallmarks, I feel, of a great fan fiction story is the ability to see that scene and interlink it with canon. Can it be placed between two of the pages of the great virtual book?

This story certainly can. Well done!

Reviewer: Strider Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Oct 2012 19:16 Title: Maneater

Beautifully written! The tension was palpable and so easy to understand. I especially loved Scotty's "does he remember" monologue...I know that Kirk remembers each one of those occasions...and so do I! Thank you!

Reviewer: Gul Rejal Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Nov 2011 06:43 Title: Maneater

She's a dangerous lady, isn't she? Chews up engineers and captains and then moves on to next in line, while her prey's only wish is to be chewed again.

For Scotty, being loved back by his ship is award enough and he doesn't need any medals or papers to be happy and fully satisfied. Who knows, maybe the other engineers never experienced--really experienced--the addiction to their ships and don't know yet how fulfilling it could be.

A good story with a touch of a melancholic sadness.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Aug 2010 13:03 Title: Maneater

Absolutely beautiful. Gorgeous. I love it Anna.

Not hard not to. You paint such wonderful characterisations of Kirk and Scott and do so at a really horrible time in Kirk's life. When the Enterprise is being offered to another Kirk is crestfallen, heartbroken and all alone. The line about it not being Pike's, April's or Kirk's but they belong to her, is so true that I'm amazed no one has used it before. Bloody awesome Anna. So hard has Kirk had it that he cannot even bear to come and view her in spacedock. Scott could almost resent him for it though perhaps understand the connection one can make with the ship more than most. Terrific characterisation and exploration of an unseen wondow in time.

Reviewer: IntrepidSovereign Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 May 2009 20:21 Title: Maneater

Great work!

I like to butress this piece with what we see in TMP. Kirk is practically a walking dead man here, and then you remember how he came back to life when he told Scotty "they gave her back to me." I wonder if she was happy to see him. ;)

Author's Response: I think she was. ::grins:: I would have been happier to see him than Decker anyway. LOL. Thanks for commenting. ;-)

Reviewer: RobertScorpio Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Feb 2009 16:28 Title: Maneater

You know, TOS tried to capture these two character themes; Kirk's lonely at the top motif and Scotty's dedication to the ship. They never went far enough, IMO, and you captured it here...its almost as if GR was telling you how he thought those two should be written....

I like your writing style and your ability flesh out these ICONIC characters even more than they have been...

Rob

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words! It was a hard story to write, in many respects. I'm glad if it reads true.

Reviewer: Mistral Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 06 Feb 2009 14:23 Title: Maneater

I loved this. Personification at its best. Characterization is right on, too. You got Kirk's isolation just right. And Scotty's tiredness. Excellent.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am honored. ::bows::

Reviewer: SLWatson Signed Liked [Report This]
Date: 02 Feb 2009 13:41 Title: Maneater

This was an amazing tale the first time I read it, and it's an amazing tale still. Rich with excellent characterization and subtleties; just an incredible look at that era. And now that I've read all of AH, that just makes it hit me in the gut even harder.

Author's Response: And here I was wishing to entertain people. ;-) Thank you, Steff.

You must login (register) to review.