Reviews For Innocence
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2014 19:17 Title: Innocence

Very definition of innocence lost. Nicely capturing the child Annika and the horror of the Borg.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2014 17:28 Title: Innocence

Damn. You and I are sorta on the same wave-length with this challenge and this was a rough read. The Borg do not play nice at all and this look through a young Seven's eyes is well-realized. I like the work you did here with her.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Apr 2014 08:42 Title: Innocence

My only quibble is that her name was Annika and I don't remember anyone calling her Anna. But aside from that, this was very well done. Seeing such a terrifying situation through the innocent eyes of a child makes it somehow far worse. Good entry. 



Author's Response: How do you know that wasn't the diminutive used? Just saying...

Reviewer: RogueJawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Apr 2014 00:31 Title: Innocence

Seven was one of my favorite characters from Voyager. Admittedly I'm a bit of a Voyager fanboy, I always have been. I was a teenager when the show began and the spirit of it's exploration has always held a special place for me.

I loved this entry. It's a beautiful take on the character that bridges the periods of her life we saw before she joined the crew of Voyager.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2014 19:21 Title: Innocence

I liked it!  Very nice origin story, for things that were often left unexplained in Trek.

I loved the child's dialogue - you obviously have small kids running around, for you captured not only the flavor but the spirit of her words well.

And I must admit, the mac n' cheese got me.  My kids tell me my homemade version is wicked delicious.

I agree with MF, though - this could definitely benefit from some fleshing out, as well as later installments that speak to 'Anna's' formative years.  Pretty please with sugar on top? ;-)

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 15:41 Title: Innocence

Eek. Terrifying ending. I was thrown for a loop with Turrel the Romulan for a moment there. He no doubt has some sort of fascinating backstory to his own survival so far out from home. Yet we learn none of that as Anna is tracked by the Borg. It is its own tragedy that his safety is threatened by her arrival. She really isn't quite so innocent in her presence as she'd hope. A brief but hitting account of young Seven's origins. The ending feels rushed to the detriment to the rest of the piece, where the other set pieces are rushed and quickly race through events, there's connection to the scenes that the ending of Anna alone being cornered by the drones lacks. Still carries a punch and is was an effective reveal of the main character.



Author's Response: Ah, honestly, I barely remember writing this. It was really late and I was-under the weather. Yeah, that's it-under the weather.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 12:56 Title: Innocence

Ouch. A traumatic time for a beloved character. 

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 10:49 Title: Innocence

Oh, man, nicely done.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 08:17 Title: Innocence

Well, that was horrifying, but then I've always found the Borg to be horrifying.

I find this place fascinating. I can imagine a hideout--a place where all who have survived a Borg attack might go to hide out.

I like Turrel's character. The Romulans have their own code of honor, and are not necessarily evil, though they are enemies to the Federation.

Nice story.

You must login (register) to review.