Reviews For Birthday
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 May 2014 19:34 Title: Chapter 1

Gutwrenching to read, a very tough little piece Jawa.

Reviewer: trekfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Apr 2014 18:52 Title: Chapter 1

The loss of a mother to save a child. Tough to read. I suspected that they would choose the baby over the captain, but I didn't expect that choice to be so quick. I imagine the captain made her wishes clear before she went on any away missions that, if this situation were to develop, they would save the child.

Well done in capturing the loss.

Reviewer: kes7 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Apr 2014 10:03 Title: Chapter 1

Oh, wow.  Tremendously well-written and heartwrenching.  I love these characters and the whole scene was just really well-drawn.  Great job.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 16:25 Title: Chapter 1

A brutal story. The innocence of the fruit causing an allergic reaction and the innocence of a new born babe. Great parallel with the story telling. Rhys is again a marvellous read and you keep giving her some big moments to feature in. Really nicely rendered story here. Short but impacting.



Author's Response: I was going to go for something grand at first, but it seems like most people die in some grand fashion. I wanted to approach it differently. It seemed like there would be accidental death even in the future.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2014 08:23 Title: Chapter 1

Seems like such a waste, to die from being poisoned by a piece of fruit. Glad the baby survived. Like the character of the doctor, and want to read more about her.

This story had a good flow, and was equal parts sadness and tenderness. Well Done.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Apr 2014 20:32 Title: Chapter 1

Beautifully written but oh-so-hard to process.  With all the dangers that abound in space, what a horrible, useless way to go.  I feel for Nick, and the innocent little girl.



Author's Response: I agree. I couldn't decide at first how I wanted her to go, but after some serious thought I decided that I wanted it to be something simple. Something that reminds others that not everything is "disease and danger wrapped up in darkness and silence", to quote New McCoy, and sometimes it's still the little things (like allergic reactions) that can kill us even in the 25th Century.

Reviewer: M C Pehrson Signed [Report This]
Date: 18 Apr 2014 15:51 Title: Chapter 1

All that from a piece of fruit! Great drama. The story flowed beautifully.



Author's Response: She should've had the steak. *ba-dum-tish!*

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 09:35 Title: Chapter 1

Oh, that was heart-wrenching and hard to read. Well done.



Author's Response: Thanks. I don't think it really fits with the challenge. :-/ It was what popped into my head though.

You must login (register) to review.