You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2015 14:15 Title: Chapter 4

Damn! Cliffhanger!

I do have to say, the present tense kind of threw me, particularly as I think everything else was in past.

But it's a damned fine story and I'm curious as to how you'll tie it all up.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Aug 2015 14:10 Title: Chapter 3

Oh man, this keeps getting more complicated - but it all makes perfect sense as it starts to come together.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2015 18:27 Title: Chapter 2

I really liked how the action moved from the all too perfect holodeck creations to the all too imperfect life that Rhys and the others are really leading. And now our two scenes shall meet ....

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Aug 2015 08:50 Title: Chapter 1

Oh God, scary and utterly believable.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Aug 2015 19:10 Title: Prologue

Oh man, this is a tense and gripping beginning - I'm not so sure who I really want to root for.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 24 Aug 2015 14:19 Title: Chapter 4

The present-tense style is a bit jarring at first (it's been a while since I've last read this after all), but as you are keeping it consistent, you get used to it quickly.

The story is still compelling. It invoked TNG's Genesis which is similarly dark and ominous. Now Im thinking this might instead turn out more like the Walking Dead in Space.

Author's Response: Argh. I'm sorry. I default to that from years and years of forum roleplay where everyone does everything in present tense. I really need to learn to write in a different style for fanfiction. I try to use Free Writes to experiment with new ways. I'm not sure if I should start applying a new style to this or finish it as is and then start using a new style on future projects.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Apr 2014 02:27 Title: Chapter 3

An unexpected turn here with the revelation of the spy and an intense fight for survival. The complication is interesting. Is the spy responsible for this infection and if so what, one wonders, is the bigger plan? A new war strategy against the Klingons? If it is, it's a dirty tactic which no doubt will be complicated with the arrival of Pathfinder.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 16:43 Title: Prologue

Wow. That's a powerful and very exciting hook of an introduction. I loved it. I loved the perspective of the Klingon Doctor throughout it. He's an intriguing character and I love the fact we are getting to see a Klingon in a different light. Yet despite the different light, Logruk still views himself very much as a warrior - in traditional terms and in terms of warring against disease. Very fascianting and an intriguing character with lots of promise, lots of fight, lots of on the foot thinking and very wily. Hoping to see more of him and to see how he interacts with the Federation.

Then we come to the conumdrum of the myth made flesh from Klingon nightmares. Very intriguing. It's a great spin on zombies or mutants and regardless means trouble for all ahead. I'm most curious about the nature of the mutation, its origin and the sentinence of these transformed Klingons. Why are they charting a path to Federation territory? Or did they? Maybe someone else did as a biological attack of some kind on Starfleet? And why did the mutated creature halt at the sight of itself? Does that mean there is still some sort of personality remnant left behind? Many, many questions. And the beginnings of what I am sure is going to be a terrific story. Additionally, I live the tone, style and phrasing of so much of this piece.



Author's Response: I hope, very much, that the revelations coming in later chapters live up to this praise. I'm glad you're enjoying it. Logruk originally started out as a very minor character, but writing for him thus far was so enjoyable that I'm hoping to expand his role.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 13:19 Title: Chapter 2

Always enjoy the image of a Starfleet officer standing on her bridge in full period dress while her crew gawks in surprise. It's so beautifully anachronistic.

I liked the holodeck scene and it tells us quite a bit about Rhys. Fantasy and too tight dresses arent her thing, this is a gal who prefers the wild outdoors. Let's see how she handles possessed Klingons.

Author's Response: When I first wrote the outline for this story I almost considered approaching this differently. I know its been used a lot, but the holodeck/anachronistic dress trope is really one of my favorite Star Trek ones. She grew up with three brothers. I'm scared for those Klingons.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Apr 2014 13:02 Title: Chapter 1

Section 31, I'm guessing. And these are not people you question, especially if you work for them. Shiloh made a fatal mistake in showing his doubts to his superiors and I fear he'll get no chance at repeating it.

Big, dark plans underway here which I'm sure are going to play havoc with the status quo.

Author's Response: Dun-dun-duuuuuuuuun!

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Apr 2014 02:09 Title: Prologue

I have a soft spot for Zombified Klingons as one of my previous stories can attest. This felt a little bit like a Trek version of that recent SyFy show Helix. And just like in that show, there are a lot of questions, chief among them, why is the doctor immune to these creatures? And what do they want in Fed space? I'm sure those and others will be answered in time. In the meanwhile we've got the beginning to what seems like a rollicking tale.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the feedback. I'm glad you're enjoying my take on the zombie theme.

You must login (register) to review.