Reviews For Mirror Masquerade
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2013 18:19 Title: Chapter 6 - Unstuck

I must admit, I'm sad that it's over.  Couldn't you guys at the TIC have waited a few more days to "fix" it? ;-)

I was really getting into the plot, with everyone in their new roles, and wanted to see how it all panned out.

The ending was so cute, though.  Way to come out of your shell a little, Levi.



Author's Response:

That ending just sort of appeared, and then it just compelled me.

Maybe I'll write more of the alternates some time. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2013 18:09 Title: Chapter 5 - Power

Now that's going to be an interesting pair.  And MU Sulu now a captain -- we get to see what we didn't see in "Mirror, Mirror."



Author's Response:

I always wanted him to be a captain!

Reviewer: Mackenzie Calhoun Signed [Report This]
Date: 04 Nov 2013 11:41 Title: Chapter 6 - Unstuck

An absolute kicker of a story. Certainly held until the very end, the dialogue was good and something else (the mention of Hoshi as "a sexpot" provoked a smile). An imaginative story overall and one that inspires to greater writing :)

Author's Response:

Aw, I thank you! I'm sure MU Hoshi sees herself that way.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2013 20:03 Title: Chapter 4 - Luck

This line killed me:  "And I suspect that Lieutenant Moreau here is tired of being under him as well.”  Talk about a double entendre. ;-)

And the plot thickens -- as in purple-plomeek-soup thick.  Nice juxtaposition of another canon character.  Can't wait to see what you do with her, and what happens when ISS Kirk and co return to the MU.

Things are really straying far from the original paths now, but hopefully not so far that the TIC won't be able to fix it.



Author's Response:

We can fix everything! With a little ... work. :)

Glad you noticed that line.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2013 19:40 Title: Chapter 3 - Delta Radiation

Yep.  Not going where I anticipated at all, but now I'm definitely intrigued to see how each man will function in the different timeline, but more importantly how those who belong in that timeline react to the newcomers.  In a society where mistrust, cruelty, ruthlessness and murder are the norms, it'll be interesting to see how they finagle it so they aren't immediately put to death.

Okay, I'm definitely hooked now. :-)



Author's Response:

Oh, yay!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2013 19:30 Title: Chapter 2 - Stuck

Otra is stuck but finally able to sort out the pieces of what she is seeing.  But more importantly, can she communicate that information so the timeline can be fixed?

Lots of wacky, weird stuff going on here.  Something tells me it will get more bizarre before long.  And now that the Terran Empire is in control of both sides of the pond, what is their plan?  Can the powers that be there see a way for their Empire to endure by using other timelines?  Only one way to find out...



Author's Response:

It's been irresistible for me to have the Empire continue on, and have control of both sides, a lot of the time when the timeline is messed up. Our side will always have Fifth Columnists, their side will always have (hidden) decent people, and so if there can be a widened breach, I figure there's bound to be mixing.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Nov 2013 19:12 Title: Chapter 1 - Chaos

Wow!  This starts off with a bang -- both figuratively and literally.  Let's see where it goes.  As with all of your works, I'm sure it'll keep me guessing, and take off in a totally different direction from the one I anticipated. ;-)



Author's Response:

That's my plan. Oh, you know me so well.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Oct 2013 12:55 Title: Chapter 6 - Unstuck

Oh Levi...

A nice, tidy, and cute little ending. Good job!

Author's Response:

I thank you - the ending just sort of ... happened.

Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Oct 2013 12:54 Title: Chapter 5 - Power

And I'm familiar with your take on Hoshi's rise to power, so to see it so much more chaotic and happen completely wrong is crazy to read. And interesting the idea of the Captain's Woman being a status symbol, no matter who the man is. I always assumed they were more just...toys, I suppose is a way to describe it, an idle pleasure for when the captain wasn't in the center chair. You paint the picture that, with how rare women are in your MU, they aren't just "things" to keep busy but no kidding symbols of the power a man has, whether of a starship or an empire. Neat idea. And of course he picks the one person who won't do anything with him, or try to do anything either. Smart man, this new captain Sulu.

Love how you wrote both men as quickly rising to power in their new "worlds," completely separated from their past lives and failures and anything that might have held them back. They reinvent themselves very quickly and capitalize quite successfully in both cases. Pretty awesome.

Author's Response:

And they change all that they touch, too!

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Oct 2013 12:48 Title: Chapter 4 - Luck

Loved the switches; Travis has a chance to very quickly prove himself and take on a new role in life, totally unrelated to his previous one. He could have reinvented himself as anything, and he immediately comes across much more confident and...almost entitled to everything. Sulu, I love how he immediately also capitalizes on his situation, taking the conn of a ship that he is MORE than familiar with than the crew that controls it.

And freaking Hoshi...*sigh* Of course the empress would start plotting her new power play.

And then Travis' power play...killing mirror Spock and OUR McCoy? Ouch...harsh...

Author's Response:

Travis had to do what the little lady told him to (of course, she has her own agenda ....).

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Oct 2013 12:17 Title: Chapter 6 - Unstuck

Otra get the key words out and then we get to see a bit of Carmen in the field, now didn’t the Admiral do a great job of suckering in Mirror Mayweather.

Rick tidying up the mirror security crew and playing I’m just the cleaner line was to perfection.

Levi big bouquet of flowers and Otra over excited Chavecol are just icing on the cake for this story. Does make me wonder what Andorian red bats are.

An excellent conclusion to a well though out and well execute masquerade story, which call on all your TIC characters and the cannon characters to good effect.

So I say it one last, this is a very excellent and enjoyable story.

Author's Response:

Oh, you are so kind. Thank you for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Oct 2013 12:06 Title: Chapter 5 - Power

Well that was an interesting to twist on events, seems Mirror Archer Ego still got him killed and then we have the dive up of the woman.

No surprise the Emperor took the Red hair bombshell, or that Hoshi went second. Typical of Mirror Hayes not to want the command, as he’s just a soldier, while the Emperor won’t give Reed the ship for being too eager.

So now Mirror Sulu has the defiant and T’pol as his show Captain’s woman.

Another well worked chapter and this Mirror masquerade story of yours just gets better and better, onwards to the new Mirror future.

Author's Response:

Ah you're too kind.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Oct 2013 11:56 Title: Chapter 4 - Luck

Weirder and weirder, why do I think T’Pring has something to do with the new order and more importantly how will Hoshi react to getting no-where with Sulu?

You keep the questions coming thick and fast and yet he all feels like it stayed true to the original source material. A very trick act but one you pull off well.

Mayweather with command of the ISS Enterprise and Hoshi now without a key ally no wonder Otra vision was such a big one.

Interesting diversion on the bridge by Uhura and Kirk.
Also T’Pring evil logic was fun to follow.

Another good chapter from your digital pen.

Author's Response:

I wanted to bring the MU Vulcan in as that character has never seen in canon. Duplicitous on both sides of the pond.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Oct 2013 11:45 Title: Chapter 3 - Delta Radiation

O so it is the Mirror Sulu for Mirror Mayweather exchange just as two key incidents in the Empire timeline are about to occur.

Well that explains you cover of choice art and why such a big change is occurring to history, but how will this exchange precisely effect Mirror universe history and what can be done to correct it?

Still your words paint the scene clearly and the interactions of both Mirror Enterprise staff. I do like Otra calling a person she doesn’t recognise by physical characteristics that still makes identifying them easy.

As always sterling work Jespah, looking forward to the next part.

Author's Response:

My thanks to you.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 26 Oct 2013 11:31 Title: Chapter 2 - Stuck

So Otra stuck in vision deadlock and you good doctors arguing about what the best thing to do. Poor Kevin his computer can’t help him find the fault and worse fix time.

Bet that was a bit of a shock to realise that the Terra Empire now control both sides of the pond. A not as big as a shock to find your wife is now the emperor consort and doesn’t care about starving people.

As always you draft a beautiful piece and bring back old characters and given them a moment to shine while fact the fire. Top work as always.

Author's Response:

Aw, thank you!

Boris's wife ends up as the Empress Consort in a few other stories. Heh, she's a not so sympathetic character.

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 22 Oct 2013 15:26 Title: Chapter 3 - Delta Radiation

AH! Now I see why the two are on your cover! This is getting more and more interesting by the minute; it would be crazy to think, not only do they have to deal with the prime universe switcheroo coming up, but then also this switch now too. Very crazy, it's going to be really interesting to see how this plays out.

Author's Response:

Oh! Thanks!

2 dudes with weapons, in the wrong places/wrong times. That's gonna end well. Yeah, right ....

Reviewer: TemplarSora Signed [Report This]
Date: 21 Oct 2013 14:13 Title: Chapter 1 - Chaos

Oh wow...this is gonna be goooooooood, I can already tell. :)

Author's Response:

Oooh thank you .... :)

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Oct 2013 16:36 Title: Chapter 1 - Chaos

O you tease Jespah, what is going on in the Mirror universe? Who altering it all and just what will the TIC do.

As a short opening this is excellent piece and I do want to read more as always, still as always your description of Otta vision are very easy to visualize, but who are the switches and who is responsible? I can’t wait to find out.

Author's Response:

Stay tuned! And, thank you for reading.

You must login (register) to review.