You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 11 Sep 2014 16:02 Title: June 4, 2158

Yay another letter reply from Lili, Naurr tale will be waving as usual upon reading it.

I think you’ve done a good job of showing Lili good heart nature by her relationship with both Treve and with Yimar the sitter. Also a nice trick to highlight her tiredness with her unusually short reply.

Top marks as always.

Author's Response:

Aw, thanks - a short reply as I was kinda tired myself. :)

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:46 Title: May 4, 2158

I love the big brotherish interference there. But everything I said before about the prior letters continues here. Overall, this is such a great set of letters, and they really bring you into the universe these two characters inhabit. Very well done.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I've left most of the reviews for FalseBill's side of things for him to respond.

He's been great fun to work with. I'm hoping that we can wrap up these stories some time in the future. The give and take has really been a joy.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:40 Title: April 21, 2158

I really liked the glimpse into Naurr's family there. And how he researched bison. And the world building! You really have a knack for it, you and Jes both, so reading each of these letters is almost like being able to breathe in the depth and scope of the universe.

Author's Response: Well thank you for your kind comments. Yes it has indeed been very enjoyable world/universe building these two chief worlds with Jes in these letters. I must try to get the next reply sort soon.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:24 Title: April 1, 2158

Ah, just the world building alone makes this a big treat. The harried excitement about the baby. The aching references to Major Hayes. There's so much to savor (to be cliche) in the little details of this particular letter. And still warmth and frienship, which just seems to strengthen with each exchange.

Author's Response:

Hayes and the nickel are a part of two stories - The Three of Us and Everybody Knows This is Nowhere. I wanted there to be a small and cryptic connection there. And Hayes being last in the chow line is a reference to The Way to a Man's Heart. 

And then of course Lili is pregnant with a baby who is half-MU, so she's understandably pretty constantly hungry. It's an exciting, crazy time in their lives.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:18 Title: March 29, 2158

Naurr is so charming. He has this kind of innocence and his integration almost parallels and compliments Lili's. I love how this letter does a nice job cinveying the atmosphere; grief but also soldiering on, and hope too. All the little details thrown in, like Gorrim and cricket. And the continued buddy/sidekick presence of Phillipe makes me smile, of course.

Author's Response: Well thank you for creating Phillipe in the first place, Glad you're smiling, and enjoy the little details.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:09 Title: March 17, 2158

I don't tend to think much about birthdays myself, but Lili's contemplation here reaonates. She is adventurous, not only in how she ended up on the Enterprise in the first place, but alsoin how she jumped into integrating into a whole new culture. Yet somehow, I don't know if she would describe herself as such. Maybe bravery is the word. Any which way, she manages that AND being grounded. Very real and realistic.

Author's Response:

I wanted her, at this stage of her life, to almost be a future-era pioneer woman. I think a lot of people who are really sent out won't be going to unspoiled wilderness. I think it's a lot more likely that they would be integrating into a preexisting society. Food, money, culture - it would all be vastly different. 

And, thanks!

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 20:02 Title: March 06, 2158

I love the idea of Naurr and crew doing humanitarian aid; it seems like something you should see more of in Trek, yet oddly don't. Naurr keeps on being adorable and faithful in his letters, which just keeps this one of the better examples of a cross-species, cross-author, cross-series stories.

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad the idea struck a cord with you.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 19:56 Title: February 28, 2158

Man, I think I would kill for a corned beef sandwich right now. That being said, I love all the little insider tips that Lili provides, and how they all fit the crew. Perfect addition to the letters, and still all warm and sweet including the language lessons!

Author's Response:

A lot of these are little fanon bits - I write Reed with a secret case of lactose intolerance (he would never, ever admit to breaking wind, of course) and Phlox as loving turkey. :)

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 19:51 Title: February 25, 2158

Hey, I love corned beef! I also live Naurr. His understanding and misunderstanding of words is charming and completely adorable and understandable. Even with everything going on in the universe these two starship cooks manage to forge the beginnings of a delightful penpal experience. Really great reading for this time of the year, too.

Author's Response:

I adore the character and his malaprops.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Dec 2013 19:46 Title: February 17, 2158

Roasted parsnips are fabulous; Erin turned me onto those. I love how sweet and enthusiastic Lili comes across here; she has to be almost a sideways famous after everything, but you would never guess it and she would probably be baffled with the notion. Anyway, reading her letter gives me a major case of the warm fuzzies, AND cooking ideas!

Author's Response:

There are always cooking ideas ....

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 28 Oct 2013 16:16 Title: May 4, 2158

I so enjoy Lili letters, you give her just such wonderful character. Big smiles here as always after reading your latest letter.

Author's Response:

Aw. thanks! Well, I (we?) love hearing from Naurr, too!

You must login (register) to review.