You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: zeusfluff Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Jul 2014 14:26 Title: Chapter 1

Interesting setup you’ve got here. Seems like Captain Carbo finds himself in his fair share of trouble, or the other way around, trouble finds him. Sounds like Reyla bails him out of more than one occasion when he gets into a scrap. You have a good set of characters in this first chapter. I actually find Captain Carbo interesting. His character is solid and he knows what he wants. I cannot wait to see where you go with the rest. Now on to chapter 2. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve enjoyed all the emotion and thought you’ve put into this.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 20:02 Title: Chapter 6

Ah, and now the crew has finally found the trouble they've been worried about all this time. How will they get away from the Syndicate goons? I can't wait to find out.
Nice touch on the nod to Tabatha Chase and the Rabbit. I enjoyed the backstory between her and John Colt.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 19:52 Title: Chapter 5

Marie's story is certainly a fascinating one. I wonder how she got out of the restraining field, to get past the security at the hospital, in order to leave.

I like Reyla's discretion when coming to check on the two of them.

And now we're about to see what these storage containers are and why they are wanted so badly by the Grullans. Here's hoping they can dodge the Syndicate.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 19:32 Title: Chapter 4

Interesting development in making Sing Yu an addict. No wonder he's running from the Syndicate. Brain Blast, huh? Sounds like pretty nasty stuff.

I love that Reyla gets mad at Carbo instead of Sing Yu when she finds out that her captain has hired someone wanted by the Syndicate. She's a great character.

And I like the old Tellarite, and the fact that Carbo didn't make him leave. That, coupled with the fact that, as angry as Carbo is, he's not willing to turn Yu over to the Syndicate says something about the kind of man he is, and in my mind, he deserves better. Maybe he'll be more careful with the background checks going forward.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 19:20 Title: Chapter 3

Okay, I love that the shuttle is called Little Bit, and I think it's funny that Carbo thinks it has a grudge against him.
A Syndicate ship is bad news. If that is who Sing owes money, then he's in real trouble, and it is very possible that the ship is also. I don't blame Carbo for wanting to knock his teeth down his throat, though it is probably too late. Your characters are colorful and well-drawn. Nice job. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 19:09 Title: Chapter 2

Have I said how much I like the relationship between Reyla and Carbo?

Marie is an enjoyable read, and I hate that Salierno is giving her trouble. Seems she doesn't want to talk about it, but the fact that she is quiet on the subject is troubling to Carbo, since they apparently talk about many other things. I hope Carbo is able to work out what the problem is and take care of it. I'll keep reading to find out.

I like the inteaction between Reyla and Carbo in this scene, and how he gets excited when he finds out how much money they are being paid for their work. I am curious about the empty storage containers, and looking forward to seeing what happens with them.

Reviewer: Gatekeeper Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2014 18:56 Title: Chapter 1

This was so much fun to read. I like the characters of Carbo and Reyla. I love that you chose to write this story in first person, so that we get a real look inside Carbo's head. You write humor well. I am interested in learning more about the Grullans. Looking forward to reading more of the story.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 10:37 Title: Chapter 4

Again top notch stuff. I often think that like TOS a Trek series is built on the XO/Captain dynamic. With Carbo and Reyla the dynamic is just electric and brilliant. He's got a thing for her and part of it bluster but I think part of it is genuine affection/attraction for the Orion. It seems too that Reyla is in the habit of saving his skin more often than not and counselling him on the best choices (even if he seems to ignore them). Again, the dialogue is snappy and hilarious and made of complete win. Yet it imparts loads about the characters, their situation and their connections. Brilliant really.


And now, we see that the Orions prove to be a serious threat but worse than that is what Sing Yu has done to himself. This Brain Blast is certainly horrid and its telling that Carbo has such a reaction to it. I admire the folly of his loyalty and desire to not sell Sing out, yet there's also the need to get answers from Sing too. Lots of competing aspects to his character that make him flawed and compelling. Again, his voice throughout is brilliantly judged and as narrator he is comedic and stylistic - if not exactly a classy sort of chap.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 05:54 Title: Chapter 3

Another fantastic instalment and things get messier now as we see that Orions are bound to come knocking at some juncture. Carbo could teach Chase a thing or two about getting into trouble. Hee, hee. Again, too many things to quote that are hilarious from the Little Shit and its hatred for Carbo to the general lack of hero worship that should come from commanding your own ship, including fart bombs for duty punishments! Poor Carbo. I love how you build up your crew and they are populated by wonderfully diverse colourful people all bringing something different to the table. Great characterisations all round, especially given the fact Carbo usually renders a slightly skewed perspective on them and then their actions or words tend to either add to or detract from the opinion he offers up. Really, truly well done. A joy to read and a masterclass in its style.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 05:46 Title: Chapter 2

Is it too much of a pun to say that this ROCKS? Maybe it is, but it is a very fitting one. Again, I just wanna quote back all the great lines - one liners, back-and-forths, but there are just too damned many of them. The other thing worth commenting on is the narrative choice. It ought to be difficult as hell to get into but you give Carbo such an interesting, fantastically perverse sense of perspective (not just seeing up crewmate's, who need to trim their nose hair, noses (class)) that makes this a truly novel and hilarious read. It pours out so naturally and zips along on the page as such a flowing read. Supremely well done TLR. Seriosuly.

Reviewer: Miranda Fave Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 May 2014 05:33 Title: Chapter 1

Hee, hee, hee. Oh TLR there are just too dmaned many winning lines in this to quote. Sparkling dialogue full of zip, back and forth and your usual characteristic flair expounded by spikey charimsatic characters. Carbo's inner monologues are also fantastically hilarious too. Sometimes he really is deluding himself and sometimes he's so on the money. I love all the world-building details - such as the tug outfitting, the cramped description of the 'flight deck' and the Grullans. I also completely adore and am insanely jealous of how you weave other details - such as welcoming extended fingers, to cranial bandages, to pocketed slips of gold-pressed latinum disappearing into the Constable's pockets, to Carbo spewing up on the transporter pad and never ever missing a beat with the flow of the story. Truly an awesome introduction to these rock jockeys. Love it.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 06 Oct 2013 05:32 Title: Chapter 7

I have a passing familiarity with Tabatha Chase only but she sounds just about right here. It makes a lot of sense that there is some sort of fraternity between these freighter captains. These guys don't have a fleet to look out for them and get their back when they are in trouble, so they look out for each other. At least when they can get a break from arguing amongst themselves.

Carbo is a very likable character because of his shortcomings. Nobody will confuse him with a captain of a ship of the line, he's brash and self-assured as one in his profession should be but more often than not he just wings it and is often terribly wrong. Let's just hope his friends will be close to bail him out when that happens. That it will again, I have no doubt.

Author's Response: Thanks, CeJay - you've figured out Carbo. He's basically a good guy but sometimes in over his head in spite of his Starfleet experience (never made it beyond Lieutenant.) And yes, there is a fraternity (sorority, counting Tabatha Chase?) of freighter pilots. They are very competitive but most try to help their colleagues when they can.

Reviewer: CeJay Signed [Report This]
Date: 25 Sep 2013 05:55 Title: Chapter 1

Another excellent story filled with colorful characters - in fact, even more colorful than usual - a solidly entertaining premise of a lonely, outgunned and overmatched civilian tug going up against all kinds of challenges it was probably never designed for.

The first person perspective is particularly entertaining, especially with such a rogue character such as Carbo.

Author's Response: CeJay - thank you for reading and commenting. This is a fun story to write, although first person perspective is limiting in some ways. A new chapter is nearly complete and will be posted very soon.

You must login (register) to review.