You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Sep 2013 00:50 Title: Interlude II

No doubt you have, Beth. I love the parallel to the first interlude. I love her awe and determination on seeing the Enterprise. Mostly, I love her. She us an amazing character even after years from when I first 'met' her. Such a treat to read this revamped version as it goes up.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 16 Sep 2013 15:27 Title: Interlude I

I love the extended family vibe, too. Just because. It's touching, and deep, and really does feel quite real. Awesome stuff, Terry.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Sep 2013 13:29 Title: Chapter Three

Poor Beth. Life would have been so vastly different had she and Cassidy had opposite afflictions. But then again, we wouldn't have Heritage, either, so. I wonder a bit why it took until now for her to come clean to Deanna; they seem like a very open, positive family. And then, of course, I remember that they're all living, feeling creatures. Nothing in the universe is perfect.

Author's Response: Exactly. Don't forget, Beth witnessed what Cassidy had experienced insofar as doctors visits and constant testing for her entire life. So when Beth was ten and began to not only develop Betazoid empathy but also realized that she suffered from an unusual condition - she would have done (and did) pretty much everything she could to avoid the kind of attention her sister had to endure.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 13 Sep 2013 01:54 Title: Chapter Two

I love, love, love how you depict the Rikers. They're such a Starfleet family, so clearly, and it's reminiscent of military families nowadays -- the pride and the traditions, the history, the future. I love Beth here, and her snubbing protocol to make it a surprise. I've read Heritage more'n once, but I find myself waiting with abated breath for the next chapter anyway.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Sep 2013 17:29 Title: Chapter One

There is so much win in this chapter. First, Paul. Who does exactly what a good first mate is supposed to do -- act as the cheerleader/disciplinarian of the crew. It's very nautical in tradition, and I love that. Then you have K'Reeg, who has a fascinating POV. Your inclusion of the disaster that happened (whether I think it should have scientifically or not!) is seamless and a good note, but obviously not the absolute center of the story. Nor should it be, because then you have the Shent. And a more scary group of not-lobsters I have ever seen. I absolutely love your villains -- they're terrifying. The description of their hunger, fascinating.

And then Beth. Who should be a Mary Sue... and yet, isn't. Who has her insecurities and her flaws, who had to earn her Captaincy even given just how talented and connected she is. Who had to overcome and triumph. Who still has misgivings, like all living, sentient beings do.

Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Aw - thank Steph! You and I both agree that the Hobus nova was relentlessly stupid. To be honest, I think I would have bought it if they had written it as a gamma ray burst. We KNOW what those are capable of - but whatever. They wrote is as a nova and the prime universe has to live with it. We're just lucky CBS put their foot down and said no to JJ when he and his team first presented the script that had ALL of it (Earth, Vulcan, Andoria - ALL of it) wiped out. You're right, I hate to admit this - but the destruction of the two planets actually plays better for my books. Where before I was writing myself into a stereotypical "bad admiral" situation for Cassidy, having such a wonderful foundation for the Thraiin helps immensely with her tale - which, at the end of all of this, is who this is really about.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Sep 2013 00:09 Title: Second Prologue

I love all the little details. And how clearly gleeful Bill is at his career, too. I love that he assumed the worst but found the best and I love how even though they're so far apart in body, they still seem so very close at heart.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2013 12:04 Title: Second Prologue

I’m please to see you’re updating your excellent Heritage series with the effects of the Horbus supernova and other minor improvements. This second prologue to introduce Bill and right at the end Beth is worthy of note and the worry caused by Beth using a Starfleet emergency signal to delivery good news almost seems like she was almost trying to prank her twin brother.

Anyway the scene description of the dig and running to the tent does seem to have improved over what I remember from the original version.

Looking forward to the rest of the book upgrade/update.

Reviewer: FalseBill Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Sep 2013 11:42 Title: FORWARD

Cheers for the forward helps explain Beth Riker verse and the various factions current state of play.

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2013 14:05 Title: Inspiration and First Prologue

This is still the best creepy delightful opener. I love the buildup; everything looks normal and then BAM. Excellent suspense in a small package.

Reviewer: jespah Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2013 15:48 Title: FORWARD

Squee!

How very interesting....



Author's Response: I hope you think so! Thanks jespah! <3

Reviewer: SLWalker Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Sep 2013 13:28 Title: FORWARD

OMG, Heritage! I can't wait to see more. ...and then Book 2, and then Book 3, and I'm so excited! This makes me ridiculously happy.

Author's Response: So glad you're happy! I am too! This book needed an upgrade and, as much as I hate to admit it, the destruction of R&R actually play better for my intended overall story arc. It'll take some time to remove all of the mentions of the Romulan Star Empire and replace them with the new entity. I'm also changing-up some character names in order to make me feel "less fangirly." Hopefully you will all enjoy the changes. And, I hope my writing has improved!

You must login (register) to review.