Reviews For Pawprints
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 18:25 Title: Touchstones

Again, like the dream sequence, you captured the disjointedness of his thoughts quite well.  The constant looping from the two incidents that brought him to this point, to the realization that he had left *her*, no matter the reason, and that in itself was something that needed to be survived; led to his panic and confusion every bit as much as the other two events did.  I always knew he'd be haunted by memories of Argelius, but hadn't considered that the Nomad incident, despite the fact that he had no recollection of what had happened, would be troubling as well. A very skillful tying together of these two traumas, showing the impact the two together would have on our intrepid engineer.



Author's Response: They happened frighteningly close together, those two things. I hated the fact that episode ended with laughter, I hated the reason he was down on that planet in the first place. I mean, whatever reset button, the man had his body used as a murder weapon. There's no shaking that off for a laugh. Thank you, dearly, for this comment. It means a lot.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 18:12 Title: For the Hundredth Time...

Loved this in the free write and love it now.  They aren't friends in the conventional sense, but Scotty does know just what strings to pull to take Spock's mind off a traumatic incident and get him fully engaged in thinking about something else for the moment.  Cagey, and wicked-smart, that one. ;-) Thanks for this - it was lovely, and oh-so-true to character for both of them.



Author's Response: It was my pleasure. I think that thoae two are one of the more underappreciated relationships, sometimes even by they themselves, but a genuine one nonetheless.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 18:03 Title: Case Closed

Again, this one brought a smile to my lips.  I can only imagine the personal gymnastics necessary to cause a sprained wrist on Scott's part, *and* a pulled muscle in the yeoman's back.  Good on Boyce for figuring it out, despite the attempted cover-up by the two. ;-)



Author's Response: Lord, and don't forget the rug burn. XD Yes, they were being a bit... uh. Enthusiastic. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 17:54 Title: Enduring

Wow!  That was torture to read (in the best possible way).  A very stark and gripping portrayal of the confusion present in that half-dream state, where terror is only a heartbeat away and reality lost somewhere at the end of a long, narrow tunnel.  A harrowing tale, which must only graze the surface of the events on which it is based.  I haven't read that story yet, but can only imagine that it's so much more terrifying than this one.



Author's Response: That story isn't done yet, but I've known it for years. And this is part of an answer as to why Scotty, in TOS, holds himself that bit apart from his crew. Not for lack of affection, even. But because he has to be able to face the fact they might die out there. Thanks so much. For being short, this one was work and risk to write.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 17:40 Title: Wicked

Hah!  Payback's a b!#@*, but that's what Andy gets for messing with the master.  Sort of reminds me of what a cagey engineer did with a whole kit-n-kaboodle of tribbles some twenty years in the future. ;-)



Author's Response: I know, right? Scotty doesn't usually strike first in such things, but boy is he good at getting the last laugh. Thank you! I'm chuffed you liked it.

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 17:33 Title: Regard

That was beautiful.  And so fitting.  What strikes me is that, like Scotty, the chair doesn't quite fit - it's worn, and ratty, and mismatched, but has found and will keep a place in this family.  Scotty isn't quite a part of this family - to his mind anyway, although I'm sure all of the members of the Corrigan clan would vehemently disagree - but he's loved and accepted despite that.  A mismatched, adopted son, but an important part of the family nevertheless.



Author's Response: They would definitely disagree. I think once the two powerhouses of Melinda and Andrew Corrigan decided, that was that. Even if it took the Scot years to quite believe in it. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 17:23 Title: Sty-n'-Fly

This made me grin. :-)  Tellarites will be Tellarites, after all.  Glad Scotty figured it out in the end, and the two go on - as well as can be expected, that is. ;-)  The insult Loak flung at Harris was just priceless.  I suspect Scotty will be chuckling to himself about that later, in the midst of his inevitable dressing-down.



Author's Response: No doubt he will. I know I would! Thank you. <3

Reviewer: Lil black dog Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jul 2013 17:06 Title: Flock of Seagulls

Hah!  Talk about turning the tables!  That's what he gets for trying to scare the bejesus out of Jas.  Loved that twist at the end; a place all of us surely entered at one time or another in childhood when trying to frighten friends or siblings.  It rings so true.



Author's Response: Thank you! Cor could be a little bit of a brat as a child, though in those normal ways kids can be. I am glad you liked it, and very much appreciate the comment.

You must login (register) to review.